See All Reviews
Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: ME-709
Marcy Recumbent Exercise Bike: ME-709
$135.00
List Price: $199.00
You Save: $64.00 (32%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 711 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for Price and Quality I am morbidly obese and bought the bike because it said it held more weight. It was a little rough putting together, i couldnt get the wires to meetup, so i ended up using duct tape. It works perfect. I have been using everyday for 2 weeks now 15-30 minutes, and I have probably lost about 20 lbs. I was really nervous about my weight on it, but it has not been a problem at all. Not to mention the price is great!! I emailed the product info to a friend to hope she gets it! I highly recommend!! 11/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great product I bought this bike for my wife and she loves it. She is short and overweight, so the extra-wide seat is just right for her. The bike is very QUITE which is a plus for people living in apartment; in fact; she was using it at 2am and I never heard her. Some hints for those that do buy this bike(I see the price has already gone up): purchase lock-washers(they can be bought at Wal-mart) and use them with the washers that come with the bike. I found that it makes the seat bracket tighter. I put the bracket with the wheels on the back in order to move the bike easier to & from the wall. When you hook-up the tension cable, rotate the tension knob, which will lift up the cable. Also, I wasted time looking for the two mounting screws for the console: they are the 2 silver screws already on the console, just un-screw them to place the console on the frame. The shipping box was of poor quality & was damaged, so I almost rejected the bike. but I took the chance anyways & everything was fine inside: no missing or damaged parts. My only complaint is that the seat is too far back from the console. I don't know if this bike would be what the young & good-shaped people would like, but for us over-the-hill gang, I think it is great. Also, I had the bike sent to the local Wal-mart as I am to cheap to pay for shipping and it did fit in the back-seat of my wife's car(Ford Tarus). Enjoy. 04/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by POSTED BY CUSTOMER NOT MANUFACTURER ALL THE GREAT REVIEWS ARE TRUE. MY BIKE IS PERFECT AND EVERYTHING WORKS. IT'S QUIET, COMFORTABLE, AND EASY ON YOUR JOINTS. IT'S PERFECT IF YOU HAVE KNEE PROBLEMS LIKE I DO(I WAS A RUNNER FOR YEARS). IT'S PERFECT IF YOU'RE SHORT LIKE I AM, 4'11, SINCE YOU CAN ADJUST THE LENGTH. THE 1ST TIME I USED IT I DID 60 MINUTES AND I HADN'T EXERCISED IN 2YRS DUE TO SURGERIES (NOT MY KNEES). ALL I CAN DO IS ADVISE THE INDIVIDUALS WHO RECEIVE A DEFECTIVE BIKE, TO RETURN IT TO YOUR LOCAL WALMART AND ORDER ANOTHER BIKE. WALMART ALWAYS REPLACES OR REFUNDS ANYTHING I RETURN EVEN IF I ORDERED IT ONLINE. SOMETIMES PRODUCTS ARE DEFECTIVE. THIS DOES NOT MEAN THAT THE PRODUCT IS NOT A GOOD PRODUCT; IT JUST MEANS YOU RECEIVED A DEFECTIVE PART. COMMON SENSE DICTATES THAT SOME PRODUCTS WILL BE DEFECTIVE. NOTHING IN THIS WORLD IS PERFECT. I HOPE THIS HELPS SHOPPERS. IT'S WORTH THE PRICE. BY THE WAY, I HAVE HAD THE PRODUCT FOR OVER A YEAR AND EVERYTHING STILL WORKS; INCLUDING THE MONITOR. 11/25/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by GREAT Value This is really a great value. I read reviews for many of the inexpensive recumbent bikes and decided to take a chance with this one. It went together well (easy for me I'm mechanically inclined) in about 45 minutes, but the instructions aren't the greatest (I design training programs so I may be more critical). The unit itself is more than I expected. It works great, although there are no frills... I didn't want any. The computer is simple, but that isn't neccessarily a bad thing. One caveat; If you are 5'2" you will have to cheat the system by going past the last adjustment hole - If you are shorter than that, buy a unit with a more liberal adjustment system. I love this bike and use it every day for up to 3 hours without any discomfort. I highly recommend this bike for anyone looking for an inexpensive recumbent bike that does what it promises and I think will last a long time. AM 01/16/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pleasant Surprise I ordered this in the hopes that the reviews I read were right on...and they were...it arrived one week early which was great. My husband put it together himself in less than one hour...It is super quiet, which we all love...we can talk, read, watch t.v. while I'm cycling. It makes absolutely NO sound....it's comfortable, fits me like a glove...I'm 5'6"...finally found a piece of exercise equipment I actually use... 05/11/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love it! I got this bike for Christmas for me. I'm 44 years old with type 2 diabetes. today Is Feb.23 2010, And I have lost 50 lbs so far. I have racked up 527 miles on it since then and no problems with it. Easy to assemble, more comfortable than a upright bike. Its a low cost bike that does its job well. 02/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it!!!! Soooo I finally got my bike from site to store. It was a week late getting here but walmart took off 16 dollars and some change for it being late so it didnt really bother me. Thanks walmart!! Anyway, it was easy to put together. Took maybe 25 min overall. I didnt do it myself, my husband did it but he had no issues. I read alot of the reviews on here and I was worried about a few things such as one of the metal pieces not fitting together or the computer not working or the machine being wobbly...but everything was/is perfect. I love the bike. Its sooo smooth and quiet. Also I am 5'3" and I was worried about reaching the peddles but I have it on the closest setting and its almost too close. I could stand to move it back a notch or maybe 2. Whoo I feel tall..haha!! Also I was worried it would be too easy even on the hardest setting but for me it is not at all. Im just a normal person. I work out every once in a while, I am regularly active and weigh around 128lbs sooo just to give you an idea of what shape im in so you could compare. I have so far only went up to level 3 resistance and that makes me sweat and gives me a workout after about 30 minutes. I have mine on carpet and it doesnt move or wobble. So thats my review...hope it helps some of you!! 03/13/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 Comfy ride Sought an inexpensive way to exercise while watching TV and the Marcy 709 fits the bill. - simple to assemble in about 45 minutes for anyone who has used a handtool before. - impressive quality of materials and fit. - easy to use, I get a great workout at home. - very impressed with the value for this price 11/14/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by I lost weight! I love this bike! I have one in my living room and I noticed a difference in one week! I worked hard everyday, I do three to 6 miles a day at a brisk pace and changed the way I eat- fruits and veggies and little red meat. I have have lost wight all over my body and I love my body now. I love this bike! i lost 10 pounds in 2 weeks and have more energy and i get to watch tv and lose wight at the same time! 01/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value I read all the reviews online before purchasing this recumbent bicycle. I also researched all different price points reaching thousands of dollars. So, it was with a bit of hesitancy that I settled on this particular model and price point. I thought it was too inexpensive to be very good but I wanted a smaller machine without too many frills and the reviews were very encouraging...so I ordered. I was not disappointed at all. It is exactly all I hoped it would be. It is sturdy and strong yet moves easily. It is very quiet and smooth. I have arthritic knees so I was looking for something less stressful than an ordinary upright type of bicycle. I didn't put it together although it didn't look too difficult because there weren't many small parts. I am well pleased and glad I decided to buy. 02/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best bang for the buck! I have used this bike almost every day since I got it and I love it. It was a little time consuming (about 1.5 hours) to put together but easy. It's quiet, easy to ride, has adjustable tensions, and the best part is my butt doesn't go numb like when I use upright stationary bikes. :) I have already recommended it to several of my friends and family. 09/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this product. Just got it home and love the way it fits and rides. Had it sent to our Walmart, free shipping, and when we went to pickup, Walmart associates assembled for free. They were very friendly and helpful. Thank you for a great product at a reasonable price. 11/21/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ample & sturdy Very sturdy, high quality for something so affordable. I am 6 ft and use it on the second largest setting, so it can accommodate quite a tall exerciser. Note that the tension resistance is controlled manually via a knob -- not too tough to reach while riding but there is no electronic control / preprogrammed workouts. Still, it's quiet, not rickety, sits still and is quite comfortable for the derriere and the back. 02/14/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Everything is good but resistance I probably should have known that the bike wouldn't be a great fit for me, but the overwhelmingly positive reviews convinced me to pull the trigger on this bike. I'm an avid cyclist during the warmer months (~100 miles/week), but now that it's cold outside I wanted a bike that could keep my cardio up and get a workout while I'm playing video games or watching movies. I didn't care about bells and whistles, just a thing I could sit on and pedal, while getting my heart rate up. PROS: -Setup was fairly straightforward. The manual could have been a little clearer and with no typos, but setup took about an hour as others have noted. -The bike is pretty quiet, although there's a tick coming from the right pedal that isn't noticeable with the TV on. Might just be a loose pedal that I can tighten. -Seems like a good value for the price. The materials are adequate and it seems pretty structurally stable, although when my wife used it the bike was shaking a bit. That could be my fault though in setting it up. CONS: -The max resistance level is vastly inadequate for someone with moderate conditioning. I first jumped on the bike and saw I was at one extreme of resistance. Based on how easy it was to move the pedals, I thought I was at the lowest end, but it turned out I was maxed out! I thought "alright, maybe it will still give me a good workout." I used it for about an hour on max setting. For the cyclists out there reading this, I had a cadence of about 90 rpm with a heart rate of 110. Not good for this low cadence rider. For me, this is like walking briskly. I was at least hoping for a somewhat-labored breathing heart rate of about 140, which I easily get with my elliptical machine or with moderate effort on an actual bike. I was able to get it up that high, but only with spinning the pedals above 130 rpm. The only reason I go into all this detail is because I wish someone had posted this when I was reading the reviews. Later that night, I gamed some more and did some light spinning on the bike on level 5. I was happy with that, although my intention wasn't to get a good workout, just some extra calories burned before bed. In summary, for a lot of people, this bike is a great deal. I think this is perfect for people just starting to work out, those recovering from surgeries or in physical rehab, and those looking for some light exercise. But for people like me who ride a bike frequently or do some other form of cardio on a regular basis, the resistance is not nearly enough. As for me, I'm still trying to decide whether to return it. I might keep it for casual exercise (so I don't feel so lazy playing games), but I think I'm going to try out some other bikes at some fitness stores. 01/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The best exercise bike I've owned I've owned 3 or 4 exercise bikes in my lifetime. I am currently 55 yrs old, overweight with a slight heart problem. I'm 5'4" tall but my inseam is suited for someone 5' tall. I drilled an extra hole. I started with a smaller drill bit & increased the size gradually. It was a fairly slow process. I have a portable computer table that fits across the bike. So I am able to play on my laptop, read a book, or watch TV. On the first day, which was yesterday, I rode it for 5 hours. Yikes!!! The console is very inspiring...fun to see how fast I'm peddling. Hopefully, the weight will start to melt off. I LOVE it! 08/08/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just what I wanted! Like you, I read product reviews on many sites, not just Walmart before deciding on this bike. Delivery was to my home. The box was in good shape. I received all parts. The main frame was dented just a little bit, but I could move the cranks and decided it wasn't a big deal. The bike was very easy to put together and I did it by myself. The only difficulty I had was that the (pg 7 of instructions) upper tension cable was not long enough to fit into the connector holder. I finally untighted the bolt that is below the connector holder and pushed the holder as far up as I could, retightened the bolt. The cable snuggly fit. The bike doesn't have any fancy additions to it, so no bells or whistles to complicate things. The tension is not dependent upon electricity (another plus, in my opinion), but is controlled by a knob. The seat is roomy and so far has been comfortable for me (and I am not a small person). I ride for 30 mins at a time. The only two cons I have are: 1) I can't get the Computer to reset to zero, but I just remove the batteries and it solves that problem. I haven't tried programming a "set" time limit, so I can't give feedback on that. 2) My feet hurt a little bit after riding about 20 mins. I think perhaps the bike sits too close to the floor and so in order for my feet to not touch the ground or because I'm 5'9", I have to hold them in an unnatural position.. thus, causing the discomfort. Other than those two points, I am very happy with the bike. My budget would have allowed for a more expensive one, but the higher priced bikes had features I didn't care about. I only cared about mileage and time. I wanted a simple bike and that's what I got. 11/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Good This was easy to put together, and very easy to use. Lowest cost bike I was able to fine that could hold My weight. 06/30/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Look out for cracks in the plastic parts! Before you start to assemble the bike, make sure you check all parts. The part of the bike that the pedals go into is plastic. Mine was cracked and I didn't notice it until I had the whole bike together. Didn't feel like taking it all apart and packing it back, so....It does still work and it is very sturdy. Very easy on and off and I love the rollers on the front that allows you to move it around with ease. I do wish it had a feature to monitor blood pressure etc. Otherwise it is a good buy and will hold a 300 lbs person! 12/11/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by good deal its a great price and very easy product to use and watch tv. i didn't want a normal exercise bike because if you stay on it too long it can hurt your crotch. this one you can stay on for an extra long time and it is very quiet so i don't bother the people that live in the apt below me. the only thing that was kind of tricky for me is that you have to make sure attach the resistance cord up right other wise you will be using full resistance all the time. its hard to explain what needs to be done but its pretty simple make to do. once i fixed that i love it. :) 10/18/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for stroke patient I got this for my dad whose left side is partially paralyzed but he is still able to get in the seat and move the pedal to get some exercise. Much better than the old bicycle seat exercisers. Thanks 12/30/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bike This really is a great piece of equipment. Especially for a beginner. This is the first piece of exercise equipment we have ever purchased and we are very satisfied. I was quite nervous buy any piece of equipment without trying it first, but took a chance. I am a sole believer in reading reviews and there are great reviews about this bike. It lives up to the hype. Comes in a box that will fit in the backseat of any car and weighed about 65 pounds. It took me and my husband about 45 minutes to put together and we were on it that night. The worst part was screwing all of the bolts and screws, very tedious but worth it. I've had it for about two weeks and i am still very happy. It's comfortable to sit on, no fear of falling off and the angle is great. I'm a big girl and it was difficult finding a bike that had a maximum weight above 250. I'm very comfortabe using this bike. It's very quiet, I've used it next to my sleeping child's bedroom door and it doesn't disturb her at all. Overall a great bike at an even greater price. 03/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great buy I bought this back in january of 2011 and it was a great buy. Ive went down several pants sizes and it has helped me maintain my blood pressure and the edema in my legs and feet. It was easy to put together. I put it together by myself . It doesn't take up much space. It keeps track of how many miles you go and how long, how many calories you burn. If you have to stop to go do something it doesn't erase it. You can just pick up where you left off. This is great for when you have kids and have to constantly stop to take care of things. I would highly recommend this. 04/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This bike is super quiet- no need to worry about disturbing others while exercising. The machine says the maximum weight is 300 lbs. but based on other reviews I tried it anyway and I weigh about 345 lbs. The seat is pretty comfy but if it isn't to your liking you could sit on a pillow. Because of my size and my current lack of mobility I needed something that was not going to kill me right off the bat. :) This bike allows you to adjust the settings (resistance/difficulty level) by simply turning the dial. The lower you have it set the easier it is to pedal it. The motion as you ride is smooth and easy on the joints. I ordered this on walmart.com and had it sent directly to my local store. I then called the site to store department at my local wal-mart and they put it together (FOR FREE !) once it arrived. I have a long way to go but this bike is perfect for me and I think it would also work well for someone who has joint problems or recovering from a surgery as well. 06/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This was a great bike for the money. My husband is 290+ and this bike holds up very well to his weight. The seat is very comfortable, and we are well pleased with this product. 11/17/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by So smooth riding! I have owned exercycles before, ones that cost far more than this product, and they did not have the sturdiness or smoothness of ride of this product. I would recommend this recumbent bike to anyone who is looking for a quality piece of machinary to add to their home gym. It has an adjustable resistance, is extremely easy to put together and is just a comfortable and sturdy ride. It is so easy to get on there and read a book and before you know it 45 minutes have sped by. If you are looking for a way to get some daily exercise, this is the way to go. 02/11/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by stationary bike The bike is great except for one major problem. I cannot reach the pedals unless I put a pillow behind my back. I'm short, but not so short that I shouldn't be able to reach the pedals. (And I have it adjusted to be as close as possible.) The problem this presents is I find myself slouching even with the pillow. The bike was easy to assemble, and is nice to pedal. I'm certainly disappointed about not being to reach the pedals without a pillow. 01/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product I love this bike and bought it soley based on the reviews I read that others took the time to write, so I thought I would write one myself. It is incredibly quiet. My breathing is louder than the bike -- REALLY. The only disadvantage that I see in this bike is that the length of the seat adjustment is not easily moved to accomodate more than one rider at different lengths. You would have to unscrew something, lift the bike up (not heavy though) and then resize it, so I could really recommend this bike for people who would need to regularly adjust the distance from the seat to the petals. It just wouldn't be practical. Otherwise, it is a great bike for a great price. 09/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this bike I'm 67 year old grandmother and I got this home myself and put together myself. I am enjoying riding everyday I can. I can watch TV, talk on the phone, do stretching arm exercises whatever I want. It's quiet and I thought it would need to be tightened up again after some use, but so far it's just a tight as it was when I put it together. This is a great way to get back into exercising for anyone who has been a couch potatoe. 03/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this machine! This product is exceptional!! The quality of the machine exceeded my expectations ten fold. I would reccomend this product to anyone! 11/02/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by This product meets my needs. It wasn't too difficult to assemble, and it functions as it should. I am satisfied with it. 10/28/2009
1-30 of 631 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw509
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp