Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 610 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Mower was easy to assemble and operate. I have a small lawn and bought this to cut up the weeds that grow during our rainy season in AZ. Did exactly that. Bonus is the rear grass catcher which can fill up every 15 minutes or so. You need to stop and empty it or the clippings build up. I like it because it allows me to compost the clippings and gives myself and the mower a break!. Only issue is if you need a long power cord, it can be difficult to pull around with you. Same issue if you had an electric weed trimmer. Mower is light weight and can be pushed easily with one hand, no matter what grade the yard is. Mower gets heavier when the clippings bag fills up. Still much lighter then a gas mower. Is not that loud and I did not need ear plugs. Hardly any grass clippings kicked out under the mower. I wore shorts and nothing hit my legs nor dirtied my shoes. The rear bag does a good job holding materials. If you have a big lawn and heavy growth, this is not your mower. If you have something you can mow in 20-30 minutes, this may be an alternative to a gas mower. Easy to clean up after mowing. Wheel adjustments take seconds to do and middle setting, from 3 available, gave my grass a nice even look. Hardly hit any stones. A problem in the desert where we try to have lawns. An elderly family member in his 80's used the mower with no problem. He said it was effortless and felt it was no more exercise then just walking around. He felt safer using it since it was not as loud and as large as his old gas mower. He also liked the maintenance free aspect of the mower. Blade looks easy to change and a tool is included for removing it for sharpening or replacing. Mower comes with a 2 year warranty. So far I am very satisfied with the mower. 08/01/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Little Bug I thought my lawn was small enough to cut with a weed wacker but I was wrong so I tried to find the cheapest and smallest lawn mower - Walmart was my first choice, found this little devil on the website and had it shipped site to store and it was delivered in about 3-4 days - this lawn mower works great!!! the only thing I had trouble with was adjusting the blade, the instruction do not include how to adjust the blade, the first push of the mower and you could see dirt - anyway - my neighbor helped me, you adjust the wheels - there are 3 notches, it was on the lowest notch so we moved it to what I call the number 2 notch and it's now at the perfect height for cutting - without diggin up dirt - and it only took me about 15 minutes to put this little sucker together - LOVE IT !!!!!! and it's Green twice, Green in color and Green for the environment - ooh one more thing, the bag fills up very fast, about 3 or 4 mows - so if you want to use the bag, have a trash bag handy to deposit the clippings, this mower is super for small yards - see pics of the lawn attached 08/25/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by An ergonomic mower The "Mow Joe" is a well designed, ergonomic mower, exactly what I was looking for. I learned about it from here: http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_07105999000P and took a chance to order one. Everything mentioned in the review at the aforementioned URL is right on, including the poorly written instructions in the manual, the only downfall of this otherwise excellent product. It took me hours to put the thing together because frankly the instructions are poor - in fact I have yet to figure out how to use the "cable relief." But in operation this thing is a joy; it is light-weight and easy to operate, and the "grassbox" (for catching the cut grass) is easy to put on and take off (once you figure out how, in spite of the misleading instructions), allowing me to dump the grass into my composter with minimum effort. I recommend it highly, but be prepared for some frustration in assembling the thing. And do check out the information in the review posted at the URL mentioned above. 07/22/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sun Joe Mow MJ401E height adjustment I've only used this mower once, but so far, I like it. It's perfect for very small lawns. However, it did need a minor adjustment of the cutting height to work properly. When I first tried it, it cut too short and kept shutting down. I think it was just cutting so short that the blade was getting bogged down in the roots of the grass. Anyway, I looked in the manual for how to adjust the cut height, but there was nothing. So I looked on the internet and found a more complete manual. The adjustment is really easy. (I'm not all that mechanically inclined, so if I can do it, it must be easy.) You just turn the mower on it's side (unplugging it and removing the catcher first, of course) and adjust the metal rod axel into a different slot for all four wheels. It's easiest to adjust the two top wheels, then turn the mower on it's other side and adjust the two top wheels again. The middle setting worked best for me. Hope this helps someone else. 08/08/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hot is not good! This product worked great the first time we pulled it out of the box! However after sitting in the garden shed for three days the heat must have warped the plastics and now when we mow the blade will hit the front plastics and it makes a very loud noise. The mower still works but I know that it is not going to last long. So if you live in an area that is hot spend a little more money and buy something that has a metal frame. 06/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE THE MOWER Last year, I planted 125 baby shrubs, two feet apart, and needed something capable of mowing/trimming between them, without breaking my back! After waiting way too long to decide what tool would best serve this purpose, I researched and purchased this item from Walmart.com. Once I finally figured out precisely how to attach the clipping bag, I used it for the first time today, and it is marvelous! It cut right through the tall weeds that I had neglected for too long. It is quiet, reasonably light, and and quickly produced a neat, trim appearance around every shrub. So far, I am highly pleased! 06/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by My first lawnmower! I just got this lawnmower today after a lot of comparisons and I absolutely love it! - It is lightweight, takes about 20 minutes to assemble and the manual is very explanatory. The settings are very easy to set at the bottom and it looks like a small smart car! It gets alot of attention and the only drawback is the cord so as long as you get at least a 100 ft. cord so you can manuever it around you'll have a lot of fun with it. The motor is not too noisy so it doesn't hurt your ears and you can drive it with one hand if you need to...Great for any age and a great workout! 06/20/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent mower... happy customer! We have a mid size lawn (400 Sq. ft) and didn't want a noisy mower. We also didn't want to spend a whole lot of money. This fit our need very well. PROS: It is very light in weight. Does an excellent job mowing (3 height settings), picking and mulching grass. Hardly makes any noise. Don't have to fill gas or maintain the mower. CONS: Need an extension cord that sometimes gets in the way... but that is true with any corded tool. Size of the bag requires periodic emptying. I wish this was slightly bigger. LOVE IT. COULDN'T HAVE BEEN BETTER FOR THIS PRICE. 07/11/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value It is a great lawn mower for small yards and light as a feather. I'm 4'10" and 97lbs and I can lift this mower with one hand to bypass my rock garden yard entrance. Try that with a gas mower or even the black and decker electric mower, just too heavy for me. This mower isn't self-propelled but it rolls like butter on my uneven lawn even on high grass. Also with the narrow wheels I barely have to use my edger as this gets right up to my metal landscape edging. True the bag fills fast and the wheels aren't very big and their plastic but you can replace them if you want with bigger more durable ones. I found by just adjusting the height the wheel size wasn't a prob. at all and regular mowing prevents changing the bag a lot. There's hardly any metal on this one so treat it like a vacuum and store carefully in the garage. Its very quiet as well, my two chihuahua sunbath while I mow now, they use to run inside with my gas mower. Its just a less scary mowing experience for my pups and I. 08/16/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by The bag fills up extremely fast because it is so small. The worst problem is that the rear axle collapses down to the lowest setting which is way to low. I tried to cut the grass at the highest setting but as soon as you push the mower the axle drops down to the lowest setting. I've taken it apart and added bolts and washers to keep the axle in place. 08/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 Great Little Mower I have a very small yard and needed a mower that I could carry through narrow spaces to get to where I mow. This little unit is just the right size! I mowed an area that was 6" high and it did great! I am a bit worried about the plastic blade cowling wearing out over time, but the unit did wonderfully. Very powerful for its size. As many reviews have showen, the catcher needs to be emptied frequently, but it is simple to do, so it is not a problem. i would recommend this to anyone that has a very small yard. 06/15/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Love it I just got this yesterday and it is a great little mower. It assembled quickly and works pretty darn good. The only bad thing is that I did have to empty the bag 5 times and my yard isn't that large. It had not been mowed in awhile though so I think, on average, I will only have to empty it 2 to 3 times at the most. Super light weight. The color makes it look like a toy. Cute mower and works great. I do wish the tires weren't plastic though. I am concerned about how long those will last! 12/15/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleased with this purchase This mower was not hard to put together. And didn't take too long to put together. It does the job of mowing the small yard just fine. The collection basket is small so had to empty it a couple of times - that didn't bother me. The only thing I don't like about this product is the collection basket keeps coming apart. The basket just tucks in on the sides but the grooves it snaps into are not deep enough so when the basket gets heavy with cuttings the basket pulls apart and grass starts to spill out. I am thinking of going all around the bottom seam of the collection basket with needle and thread - then when the collection basket fills and gets heavy the seams won't pull out and will just be permanantly together (which is the way the basket should be in the first place). When I finish with the needle and thread upgrade - this item will be just fine. I am a small person and the small size of this mower is just right for me. I can't push the bigger mowers - this one I can. Other than the little problem with the basket (which I can fix easily - this product is fine). 03/11/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Sun joe mow joe 14" electric mower I bought this mower about a year ago. I loved it until I had to replace the blades. I ordered the recommended blades and they did not fit at all. No resolution was found. Also no help could be obtained. Therefore the mower that I loved was useless. So after a considerable time I trashed it. 05/11/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product for small jobs. It is amazing that a product so small, does such a good job. Thumbs Up Sun Joe (:). 04/04/2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poorly put together. This mower was so cute and I have a tiny yard so I thought it would be perfect for me. It came assembled except for the handle and the grass bag. When I got my parts onto the mower I started mowing. I didn't even get one complete row done in my little yard and the wheel fell off. I found the pieces for the wheel assembly and looked in the booklet to see how to put it on and there were no instructions. Did the best I could and mowed some more of my yard. I must say when the wheel was on the mower worked pretty well. It started quickly and really chopped the grass up well. Unfortunately the same wheel fell off again, this time in taller grass and I couldn't find all the pieces to the wheel assembly. By then I had reached my limit! I packed the mower back into the box it came in and returned it to the store. 08/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great little mower...just don't blow a breaker Make sure and use a good 14 gauge cord with this 12 amp electric mower. Powerful little booger, mows and bags great. Be aware the grass catcher box has a hard top but the rest is mesh. Right after I bought this, I went to the manufacturer's website and could have gotten it for $30 cheaper for a refurbished one, plus I could have saved almost $10 on sales tax. Snowjoe.com will ship it right to your door for free. As of this date, this exact mower, refurbished on their website, is $89 total. Dummy me for not saving more $$$ for this Sun Joe. We did order a new long cord for it over on Amazon, which beat both Walmart and Home Depot on price. 02/10/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Don't expect much and you won't be disappointed. Grass catcher is too small. Had to empty every other pass. I have a very small area to mow and this mower was still not what I expected. Low quality, all plastic, flimsy. Aside from the height adjustments being more precise I could of just used a weedeater. 09/08/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love my Mow Joe!!!! It is so easy to use...lightweight and I like the lime green color and how easy it is to dump the grass catcher. Took about 45 minutes to mow the front yard and I dumped the grass catcher about 7 times. Looks like a well manicured lawn. When I finished mowing and put the mower away it started raining and I was so happy, laughing and dancing around in the rain. And it was a nice rain...no lightning. Your Mow Joe brought me so much joy!!! I bought a 100 ft. 12 gauge cord after learning about 16 gauge cords burning motor up. Works great in an outlet that can handle the draw. Cord holder must have 100 ft cord looped in it not the mower cord or it will unplug when mowing. Setting grass cutting height was a little difficult and tried changing pattern of mowing from what book said but it would have run over cord so went back to book way. So glad I found this with over 400 4 and 5 star reviews it had to be good and it was!!!! 06/10/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Maybe "nice" at first but will not last! We were pretty happy with it at first even though it is a little small and ALL plastic. We had to do quite a few more passes to get the job done but it is light enough that it didnt seem to bad. well now that we have had it for just over a year it is dieing. We get it started and it just keeps on cutting out. Very frustrating to have to re-start it 50 times to mow the lawn. Now we are looking for yet another lawn mower. Wish we would have just spent a little more and got a better made one in the first place... Works at first but wont last. Honestly I would say it is a piece of just toy, not a tool! Spend a little more and get a better one, seriously. 09/10/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I bought this product 8-2010 and it has ran great until now.It is seized up and now smoking.I aam gonna call customer service on their website to see if there is something I can do to get it to work.I will definately buy electric again if I cant get it to start up though,just a different brand or stronger motor. 04/24/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent for the price It's small but fairly powerful. Very maneuverable but since the body is totally plastic it can twist when you adjust the wheel height. Mine has 1 wheel off the ground when it's at the highest setting ... they are all on the ground on the middle setting. Doubtful you want to use the low wheel setting unless you're trying to totally remove your grass and have bare dirt. I don't like the fact you have to use the bagger unless you rig the back flap to stay open. If you do that you get pelted with anything and everything shooting out of the mower. Could be dangerous - definitely painful. The bagger is very small. When they say it's for small lawns they should really say it's for postage stamp sized lawns. But so far I can't complain - if you're looking for something a bit sturdier or with some bells and whistles you definitely do not want this mower - it's very basic. For home lots in most states in smaller metro areas it really isn't big enough. Major metro areas with small lawns would be best. 07/02/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by First impressions aren't always the best We have a small cabin which sits on a nice size lot. We don't have a lot of grass (more like weeds) and my husband has been using a gas powered weed wacker to mow the "lawn" a couple of times a year. He decided to do some research to find an inexpensive mower which he could use instead of the wacker. The order was placed on-line and a few weeks later, we received notice it was available for pick up at our local Wal-Mart. Easy. First impression when opening the box ... uh oh -- big mistake. This thing is all plastic and won't handle the job. Assembly was pretty easy for a do-it-yourselfer. The hardest part was raising the cutting height (moving the wheels). Second impression upon using the mower ... great deal and great value! It cut through the tall grass, grinding up pine needles and pine cones with ease. Our lot has plenty of small rocks and they weren't a problem at all. The bagger holds a lot! It's easy to use and handle. We really like the fact that it's an electric mower since we don't have a garage and it's stored in our basement. No need for more gas. Just make sure you have plenty of cord and avoid it when mowing. 10/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Sun Joe Mow PRO The Sun Joe Mow electric mower fits my needs perfectly. We have a townhouse with a small backyard. I didn't want a gas-powered mower with such a small lawn. I needed a bagger in order to fill our small composter with green matter. I like the fact that no gas, oil or tuneups are needed. I was going to get a manual lawnmower, but the sharpening on them outweighs the benefits. I can sharpen the blade on this one myself. Putting it together was simple and it performed wonderfully.... 06/28/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by A Useless Product Absolutely, positively disappointed in this product. Not what I expected at all. It is difficult to use...it gets stuck every 5 seconds for every and anything. I live on a grade and it is difficult to get up the hill. It does not allow you to change the height so the grass is just cut low and almost to the ground. 04/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by cuts to short That was my first time ever moving a lawn. I just bought a house...Everyone told me that I will never able to make it myself, I will break my nails, and so on :-) However, it is a very light machine and it is very easy to operate! I received my order in 5 days, Happy with customer service. It took me about 8 to 10 minutes to set it up, very easy. Yes- I had to purchase a 100 ft cord (well I had one by now). It looks exactly like it is on a picture. I Love the color! BUT it does have 2 inconveniences: I had to stop it and take the grass out of the box every 5 minutes AND it cuts grass too short (ever though I set up my wheels to the higher position). It is not 6 cm; it is no more than 4 cm.... It took me about 30 minutes to finish my backyard. 08/26/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT LIGHTWEIGHT EASY TO USE FOR SMALLER LAWNS I USED IT FOR THE FIRST TIME TODAY, AND I LIKE IT-i HAVE A SMALL YARD SO IT WOULD BE RATHER HARD IF YOU HAD A VERY LARGE YARD. IT TAKES PLACE OF A WEED EATER- AS IT GETS CLOSE UP TO THE FENCE- AND RIGHT UP NEXT TO THE METAL STORAGE BUILDING- AND IT PICKS UP THE GRASS, LEAVES AND NO NEED TO RAKE. IT IS LIGHTWEIGHT-WHICH IS NICE FOR AN OLDER LADY; AND VERY EASY TO WORK WITH. I LIKE EVERYTHING ABOUT IT. MY CONCERN IS THAT BEING SO LIGHTWEIGHT AND ALL PLASTIC-HOW LONG WILL IT LAST ? BUT-FOR NOW-i AM HAPPY WITH IT, AND FOR THE PRICE- I SUPPOSE IF IT HOLDS UP FOR THREE OR FOUR SEASONS-I WILL STILL BE AHEAD (FOR EASE-CONVENIENCE-NO NOISE, ETC.)- . i THINK PERHAPS THE NEXT LARGER SIZE UP CUTTING WIDTH- WOULD BE BETTER FOR SOMEONE WITH A LARGER LAWN - BUT FOR ME THIS ONE IS MORE THAN IS PERFECT. 05/04/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good electric lawn mower! I used this lawn mower for a little over a month now. I have a fairly average size yard in NJ with a little less than 1/4 acre lot. I used to use a Craftsman lawn mower with Honda gas engine, it was more powerful than this electric one but I couldn't stand the smell of gasoline and exhaust fumes. It does take a bit longer to get the job done due to the smaller blade size, only about 14" compare to the 21" I had with the Craftsman. But this little machine is extremely light with only about 30 lbs., mostly made out of plastic, not sure how long will it last but they seem durable for now. The cord can get in your way when you mow the lawn but if you plan out carefully with the pattern you are going the cord isn't a big concern. The bag is not very big so you need to empty out frequently but it is reasonable due to its size. Overall I'm very happy with it and will no longer use a single drop of gasoline. 07/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Not a TOY! Great Compact Mower! First of all, totally shocked by how fast this mower got to my house. Placed the order on Saturday and it got delivered to my house on Tuesday (one full week ahead of estimated delivery date). Anyways, back to the mower --> just like many reviews have stated before, it does look like a toy out of the box but it definitely don't work like one on the lawn. Assembly took less than 10 minutes, easy adjustments on the heights (3 different height adjustments). It's relatively quieter than the gas one I owned before. Only thing is I've yet to figure out how to use the cord clip/ holder. Make sure you use the 14 gauge extension cords with this mower. I have small yards, 600 sq ft back and 300 sq ft front and I only had to discharge the bag three times total. Overall, really satisfied with my purchase and this is the best deal out there for an electrical mower that doesn't take up much real estate in your garage. 11/05/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Really Weak Mower Made Cheap It has plastic wheels that don't work well. The handle feels like it will snap while pushing it. The blade stops if you push it any faster than the slowest pace. Also have fun emptying the bag 10 times per mow with it being so small. 12/27/2011
  • 2016-02-13 T04:39:09.000-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_610, tr_610
  • loc_en_US, sid_11538868, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 531 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  18 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew299
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp