See All Reviews
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 208 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Windows since XP SP2 Let's face it, Vista introduced just as many flaws as it did features. Having beta tested both it and Windows 7, I can assure everyone that all the hype surrounding Windows 7 is NOT over exaggerated. I tested Vista from the first beta, about 18 months before its release. I encountered many incompatibilities with my hardware, software, and accessories (mice, keyboards, etc.). Many of these problems were gradually fixed, but these “fixes” also took their toll on Vista. Upon release, it severely suffered from performance issues and continues to do so today. The first thing I noticed when testing Windows 7 back in January 2009, was full compatibility with all my hardware, software, and accessories, as well as amazing speed compared to Vista. Compared to Windows XP (for those of you who skipped Vista), the speed is relatively the same. In most cases where XP lacks, Windows 7 triumphs. The biggest example is networking and internet. Windows 7 is substantially better at transferring files and content between computers or over the internet, and it is even easier than Vista. Memory and processor usage are much lower, yet all the features that Vista offered plus new ones, are running with no problem. Considering the amount of security and content that Windows 7 implements over XP, I award it with the best performance. The new taskbar is multitasking user-friendly, the upgrade process is fast and easy, and the new features are VERY helpful (I actually found myself uninstalling certain third-party programs since Windows 7 already had the functionality). Compared to the last decade of Windows operating systems, I honestly believe Microsoft is finally back on track. Is it the best operating system on the market? That is subjective. For gaming, software, compatibility, convenience, support, connectivity, and familiarity, Windows 7 has it hands down… in my opinion. And as a side note, I’m glad to see Microsoft isn’t offering a million versions this time around. Home Premium is the best choice for most users. All other versions are best for businesses or gaming/media enthusiasts. 08/17/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice improvement I upgraded from Windows Vista 32 bit, but did a clean install of the 64 bit version (both versions included). I had concerns about the compatibility of some of my software programs (my research led me to believe some might not be compatible), however I was pleasantly surprised to find that with a few adjustments every single program and piece of hardware worked fine. I did have to get a couple of driver upgrades for a scanner and a printer. Vista was taking up to 3 minutes to boot to the desktop whereas after the clean install Windows 7 64 bit does so in 1 minute or less. I am also now able to take advantage of all 4 GB of memory with the 64 bit version whereas only about 3 GB was available in the 32 bit version. All in all the upgrade and the Windows 7 experience is worth the upgrade price. My computer has a Core 2 Duo running at 2.4 Ghz with 4 GB of memory. 12/12/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing, fast, lightweight. Windows 7 is basically, windows vista stripped and remade, with user complaints about the issues with vista in mind. I have been beta testing with microsoft, and I have the Release Candidate. so far its amazing, I love that in Windows 7 the ram usage is way low. with my anti-virus (eset Nod 32 ESS) and nothing else running i am using 400 megs of ram. keep in mind i have all the security features running and Aero Glass. Its way faster and will satisfy all of your needs. I highly recommend!! 08/02/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Major Improvement Windows 7 is a major improvement on Vista. It is very user friendly. It is also less draining on the CPU and memory than Vista is at this time. I highly recommend the upgrade. This is a single user upgrade. If you have more than one computer to upgrade from Vista then the Family 3-user pack is a very cost effective way to accomplish that upgrade. 11/12/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow, this actually works! I was an XP user and wanted to reload Windows due to performance issues. I couldn't locate the disk that originally came with my PC so I decided to purchase Windows 7 based on recommendations from other users. The OS does not disappoint! The set up was easy! As an XP user, I had to backup my important files and programs (Photoshop, etc.) and reinstall them. I currently have minor issues with hardware compatability but I just think I haven't figured out how to tweek some of the settings since I've only had the new OS for less than 24 hours. I was pleasantly surprised to find Windows 7 kept all my network and internet settings so I did not have to set up my home network again. The graphics are crisp yet smooth and I like how easy it is to get to some of the programs. My computer is an older model and did not meet the RAM requirements but the OS still runs just fine. I will be upgrading my RAM this weekend but I was a little shy of the 1GB requirement. 10/24/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST OS SINCE XP! Before I purchased this upgrade, I bought a used desktop to replace my old, out-of-date one. It has 2GB of memory and a 2GHz single-core processor. I've got more than enough disk space, 500GB, very fast computer. After purchasing my upgrade along with antivirus software, I went ahead and popped it in the drive. It comes with two discs, a 32-bit and a 64-bit. I chose 64 because I might be adding more memory sooner or later. From XP, I'm required to custom (clean) install, since I can't instantly "upgrade", which is no biggie since I just bought the computer. The installation didn't take as long as I thought, although a few reboots may occur during installation. If "upgrade" would've been an option, installation would've been taken hours. The custom install took less than an hour on my PC. After installation, I adjusted the resolution since I only own a CRT monitor. I owned it for a while now and I still love it. It a big improvement over the last OS (Vista). I love the new taskbar, bigger icons, cleaner, text-free. The search bar also improved. Type a keyword, Windows finds it no matter what it is. It's got some other amazing features, like the snap, thumbnail views, aero peek, etc. I used blank DVDs to move all my old stuff from my old computer to my new one using Windows Easy Transfer, since I don't have a USB transfer cord. Just gotta work with what we have. I'm so glad I own Windows 7. It sure is much simplier. I'm soon going to double up on the memory since I'm running 64-bit. I am so up-to-date now. I'm a PC, and Windows 7 was MY idea. LOL 04/01/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy install. Nice upgrade over Vista. 12/30/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Windows 7 Upgrade Unable to install product after 4 attempts, went to microsoft site and it ran a program saying my computer was compatable to run and assured me it was ok to install. Now I am unable to get my money back, because I have opened the software. Am very disappointed with this online purchase. 07/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy for non-techies Currently own a computer with Vista on it and hated the software. Upgraded to Windows 7 and it was easy and my computer works like brand new again. Love it! 01/24/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by not as advertised windows 7 is ok but the e-mail is a convoluted piece of junk!!!!!! 12/02/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Windows 7 was MY idea I am so so happy that Microsoft got its act together. I got vista with my pc i purchased and was so dissapointed. My printer was not recognized, my wifi would not connect to internet and many more probs. I didnt jump to windows 7 right away but i read reviews, demoed the product instore, and after 6 months i purchased it. I cant even tell you how much i am satisfied. My laptop boots up in 45 sec. It used to boot in about 3 mins. I like the new taskbar. I am now convinced that it is the fastest selling operating system in the world. I read the other day it has sold over 90 million copies in just 6 months. Dont wait just get it you wont regret it. 05/27/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 A PAIN I'm running Vista Home Premium. I mistakenly thought upgrading to 7 would be a piece of cake,WRONG. After spending approx 7 hours on the "phone with Microsoft, I am still running Vista. I would suggest waiting "til 7 gets the "bugs" out. 05/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loving It My computer came with Vista. Personally I think Microsoft should give all Vista users a free upgrade, $50 and an apology. Windows 7 is what Vista should have been. 08/06/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Had trouble downloading Had windows vista went to download cd and it was ISO format. called microsoft to help download to my computor and they couldn,t get to download. they said to return it walmart and get my money back. 08/08/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by miserable to load Microsoft actually did it! They made a Windows that froze the screen during set up!!!!!! Next time I'm becoming a Mac girl. 01/09/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Waste of money Windows 7 is just the same as Windows Vista. They both have bugs. As of loading, I'd say they're about the same. Difference is you can't change settings like vista to windows classic. There are gadgets and a little more stuff you can do but it's worthless. It's just the same. Overall, Windows Vista and Windows 7 is just the same. Microsoft's just trying to make money that's all. If you have Vista, don't waste your money on 7. 01/07/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Windows 7 upgtade This product was a total waste of money. Not only could I not get it to load over my Vista, Miceosoft would not assist me because I bought it from WalMart. Exceedingly disappointed. The program was promoted as a simple upgrade but turned out to be an impossible upgrade. 01/02/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very GOOD ! This Product is Better than VISTA you should buy ! It runs SMOOTHELY starts up FAST and shutsdown FAST. Theres nouthing better WE can ask for ! Hope this helps your decission. 10/25/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than Vista! Love this! 01/09/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 Not compatable with all printers Before purchasing this product make sure you run Windows 7 Advisor and have your printer connected to your computer. My Dell A940 All In One printer will not work with Windows 7 and I had to call Microsoft three times to get my Dell 968w printer to work. 12/30/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Windows 7 At first I thought that Windows 7 will make my life at the computer easier. I am having trouble using it. It took almost 3 hours to set the upgrade. I am still looking for some of the features they talk about, like watching TV programs, etc. The Windows Media Center is nice and colorful. I have problems surfing the net, as I get a 404 Error Code most of the time, even if I use the "Refresh" button. I should have stayed with Windows Vista, which it did pretty good for me. Installing Windows 7 in my computer was a mistake, beacuse it took some programs from my Windows Vista, and do not allow me to use some other programs, because they are not compatible with Windows 7. Do I recommend Windows 7. Of course "NOT". Well, I hope this works better in the future. 12/30/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by MS Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade Best price in the internet, as far as I could tell. Upgrade worked flawlessly from Vista. 08/31/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by crashing My computer crashes several times a day since upgrading to Windows 7. I never had that problem before. 01/08/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Backup software is a critical choice... The backup program, you used to backup Windows XP, may well not be compatible the Windows 7 upgrade. It happened to me, took some 14 - 25 hours of work arounds to get most of the backups in. Lost a lot of sleep. My spouse, will not let me install Windows 7 on her Apple iMac ever again. She lost a lot of email and the ease of Outlook Express. Deleted Win 7 and reinstalled Windows XP. Recomend your backups of the current windows software be compatible, at 100% Windows 7, or you will go crazy with frustrations. While Windows 7 is pretty, XP seems to equal most functions. I run Windows 7 on an Apple MacBook Pro. My 2 Windows 7 packages, from Walmart cost less than other local outlets. However, it took some 7 to 10 days to arrive at my local Walmart. 03/30/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by windows 7 windows 7 not too much different from vista 01/25/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worthless After using the upgrade and spending two hours the computer was hung up and was very lucky to be able to get it back to Vista. Went onto the internet and found there is something wrong with the product as everyone is having trouble with trying to get to Windows 7 from Vista. Was a waste of money. 01/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by good add on for win xp The win7 upgrade is easy to install from win xp. Just be sure to use the window easy file transfer. I found you cannot open those files until you install win7. I found a lot of my programs that were listed as not compatable really did work, so just reinstall it to see if it will work. If you are running low on disc space after the install you need to move the "windows.old" file to your external drive. Mine was 52 gb and makes plenty room then. 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by After I figured out that the express download did not work on my old Vista Program I did the custom download and everything was done fast and easy.. Simple instructions to follow...Now my computer is running great ... 10/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by To mi was poor beacose I have to sit for a hour tolking with a man in India only to geet my product key activate. This product is no good till you activate that key. 09/03/2012
1-30 of 169 total reviews
2 3 4 5 6 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.