See All Reviews
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 30 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Popcorn Popper Pro: Good popper... great popcorn Cons: Not dishwater safe...cord does not remove from base...Popcorn dome does not fit well (oil can spit onto you and your counter) 11/20/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by NOT Dishwasher safe! Westbend popcorn poppers make delicious popcorn, but the heated base is VERY hard to clean. After about a year, I ended up throwing my Stir Crazy away because I could not clean it without getting soapy water near electric parts. When I saw the Krazy Kettle advertised a removable plate that could be cleaned in the dishwasher, I decided to make another investment again. I was GREATLY disappointed when I took this out of the box only to learn that the heated plate is NOT removable; therefore it CANNOT go into the dishwasher. If I had known that, I probably would not have bought one again. $40 is a lot of money to spend knowing you're only going to get about 1 year's worth out of it. If you can live with the high price, at the very least the popcorn IS healthier for you and tastes better than the microwave kind. 02/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super! I love it. It makes the best popcorn I've had in years. 04/11/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Piece of junk I couldn't wait until this came to my house. Bought Orville Redennbacher popcorn and oil. The day I got it I read the manual and decided to make the small batch. I put a TBS of oil in the popper with 1/3 cup of popcorn like the book said and turned it on. The book said it would be popped in 9 to 11 minutes. I waited and waited and waited then yayyyy it started to pop. But then quit...only a few kernels popped so I waited and waited some more then a few more popped. I kept running it to get my popcorn popped and then the top of the bowel that covers it cracked. I cannot wait to give them a piece of my mind tomorrow when they are accepting phone calls. Not Walmart but the company that sold it to walmart. They send a card with the machine to contact them first before exchanging it at the store. I am so hot I will have to apologize to the person that answers the phone before I tell this company off. 40.00 for this junk. Don't buy it. If you do you will be sorry it is not at all what is says it is. 11/10/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bought it for the nut roasting. From raw it takes about 30 min. FANTASTIC for making cinnimin sugar coated nuts. Start with roasted nuts or roast for 30 min, then cool everything and follow the directions in the instruction book. Only makes one cup at a time. 02/17/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 Don't buy this popper I got this as a Christmas gift. The lid does not properly set on the popper and one side is up about 1/4 of an inch above the heating element and the other side is about 1/16th of an inch. Consequently when you are popping corn an average of about 20 red hot kernels come shooting out ! I called the company and they told me there is supposed to be 1/4 of an inch gap because it gets too hot under the nut setting so it needs to be a big gap. So she said that it is possible that corn could come shooting out when popping corn. I told her that I didn't think that was a good design and she said well that is the way it has to be and if I didn't like the possibility of getting hit with hot corn I should return it. Lovely customer service WestBend ! 01/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Popcorn Popper I've owned this product for well over a year and am very happy with the results I get with it. I had to replace the bolt that holds the stir rod down, but customer service was great! They sent me a free replacement, no questions asked... even after the warranty had expired. To address the complaint a previous person had with the popcorn not cooking completely... I found that if you just put the oil in first and let it get real hot (a few minutes) before adding the popcorn, it really makes a difference. The only negative with this unit is that at times, the lid pops up too easily & lets the popcorn overflow. I started using 2 clothes pins to clamp the plastic tabs in place until the popcorn is finished popping. Overall - Great Product! 12/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than average popcorn came out great and like being able to do nuts without standing at the stove stirring for an hour 05/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by All Pros, No Cons! After reading reviews and comparing many products online, I chose the Kettle Krazy and it did not disappoint. The negative reviews I read caught my attention in that I couldn't recall someone saying that they read and followed the manuals before using the product. I must have good popcorn and so I read the manuals and made sure to follow the instructions on cooking and cleaning. All Pros, No Cons! 04/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEST POPPER YET We bought this popper to replace the Stir Crazy popper we already had. This one is much easier to clean and built much better. The ability to roast nuts and make kettle corn and toffee popcorn is nice bonus! 03/06/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love it! I put a couple of tablespoons of oil in bottom, 1 cup of pop corn, plug it in and turn the knob to pop corn. Do not put the black lid on top of dome while it is popping. But when it stops popping, I unplug the unit, put the black lid on top of the dome and flip the unit upside down. The dome cover makes a great bowl. I find it easy to clean. The bar that goes around when popping is easy to remove and clean, as well as the dome top. I love the bar going around the bottom of the unit- The Pop corn cooks evenly and if you unplug it or turn off immediately when corn stops popping, you shouldn't have any burnt kernels. 01/23/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by the heating plate does not detach for cleaning or dishwasher as stated in the popper description. that is the main reason it was purchased. 03/27/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Popcorn EVER! The recipes included make the greatest carmel, chocolate and other types of popcorn you can imagine. Buy the best popcorn kernels and you'll be amazed at the quality and taste this machine makes. 02/25/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth $$ Tried using 3 times and got same results. Arm that is supposed to stir seeds actually traps and leaves more than 1/2 the seeds unpopped. Should have listened to my friend and buy the Presto Microwave popper...which I now have and love! 08/24/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by So far so good!!! The only thing we have noticed so far is that a little oil and an occasional hull get spit out around the lid. It does pop corn just like our old Stir Crazy popper. Haven't used it for nuts yet. I like that fact that the center where the stir arms are, is sealed, not like the old stir crazy where the oil could go down inside of the sealed part. That was all that was wrong with the old one. It kept getting slower as more oil clogged the stirring mechanism. Then it would stop stirring. I don't think that will happen with this new Kettle Krazy. Yeah. Good improvement. 09/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Safe and easy to use. Very easy to clean afterward. Gives great results... lots of nicely popped corn with very few unpopped kernels left over. It's well designed and I'm sure it will last a long time. 04/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by AFTER WEEKS, I FOUND THIS ONE Top of the line, Roasted nuts, FANTASTIC. BUY THE organic RAW NUTS. This popper popped my mind! OH, the popcorn is done to perfectiion. Experiment just a few times, and you will feel like a NASA scientist. !!!!!!! 10/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it a lot! My husband used to use a top of the stove popper and decided to try this one. We absolutely love it. Seems very sturdy and easy to use. 09/19/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pleasing popper but a little pricey Warning: Long, thorough review. If you want the bottom line only, then skip to the bottom line. :) My Westbend Kettle Krazy popper was purchased online and when it arrived I discovered one of the handles had been broken during assembly. I contacted Westbend and with no hassle, issue, or delay I was mailed a replacement. I believe the service center and Westbend's HQ is located in WI even though the popper itself was manufactured in China. I had the replacement in less than a week. The popper is a dual role popper capable of making popcorn snacks of different types and tastes along with a different mode and several recipes for roasting/cooking nuts. The recipes can be found online and in the user guide. I've only cooked several batches of popcorn so far and each has turned out almost perfect every time. Very few if any hulls were not popped and if timed correctly, none of the popcorn was overcooked or burned. BTW, the corn I've used so far is Amish Country Popcorn (see my separate review on that product - good stuff.) The popper has a few small concerns I would like to point out. They are not major and haven't kept the popper from working. As I mentioned above, one of the plastic handles was cracked in half because of a weak spot within and also a malformed condition (plastic flash) on the handle. The assembler should have caught this issue before it even moved on in the factory. The handles are light plastic, so you have to be gentle but the popper itself is also light so not really a problem as long as you are careful. The popper cover is light weight but seems durable for the purpose. However, it does not seal against the heated surface (to avoid melting?) and a gap is left all the way around - approximately 1/8". Just when the first few kernels are popping, any oil that you may have used in your recipe will also jump around and some tiny splattering thru the crack takes place. There is no way to close the gap and pushing on the top could result in breaking it. The very tiny oil splatters can land on you or on the surface the popper is sitting on, so be careful. This splatter lasts only for a few seconds and is a lot LESS than being next to a frying pan in comparison, but I mention it as a precaution. Once the kernels start filling up the bowl, this gap gets covered by the popped corn and the splatter no longer occurs. Also, the bowl has a butter cap for the place to melt butter or other seasonings that require melting during the popping process. I used it once for melting several small butter pieces over the popping corn and it worked fine. This cover is just a small plastic disc-like piece that fits in place before you turn the bowl over. It can easily be washed for cleaning. Wash everything BY HAND - no parts safe for dish washer. The stir rod rotates above the Teflon-like cooking surface to scoot the kernels along as they heat up. Occasionally a popped or unpopped kernel or two may try to get stuck under the rod and it will leave a track on the surface as it rides around. I don't know if this will become a severe problem down the line, but I mention it now as worth noting. The surface itself is very easy to swipe clean and can not be sink washed. You can NOT disassemble the heating element for submerging or putting in a dish washer. Just use a soapy wet cloth, if necessary, and wipe the heating surface clean. Hand clean the stir rod and securing knob once removed. This unit was priced higher than other popcorn-only models and I was a little concerned I might be over-paying for hype and marketing. It does have a dual mode, though, and I would like to try cooking a few different types of nuts. Walmart by far had the best price for the popper. I think the hardware itself will last as long as I'm not banging it around, but only time will tell if I am right or wrong. The guide indicates the unit is for household use only. For all these reasons, I would recommend the product to another purchaser and am satisfied with my selection. 10/07/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good alternative to microwaving I was looking for something to replace my microwave popper, as I do not want to use the microwave anymore. I have only used this once, but it seemed to work well. Almost all the kernels popped and as long as I listened carefully and stopped the popper immediately when it slowed down with only a few pops there was no burning. It tasted good. I have not used the butter dispenser or the nut function to I cannot say anything about those, but this seems to be a good replacement for my microwave popper. 01/11/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by This makes great popcorn and candy coated nuts. The only problem we had was that the top cracked on the first use. I called the 1-800 number and they sent us a new popper, for the lids were on back order. I read some reviews on other makes of poppers and this seems to be pretty common for this type of popper. 01/01/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good product. I used to have one of these but it had an extra metal band about 3" wide to add between the popper and the lid. It allowed for overflow for large batches and for the stirring and mixing when I made caramel corn. I do wish that I had paid better attention when I purchased this. I would like to have had one with that extra band. But for just popping corn, this popper is fine. 11/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best popcorn I've had in a long long time!!!!!!!! I wish the lid would fit tighter! 02/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Popcorn Kettle I am very pleased with this unit. Makes the best popcorn ever. I especially love the stirring feature. It leaves less old maids. 01/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by very goods popcorn poper 12/10/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Do NOT buy a West Bend product I received this item as a Christmas present and loved it for the first month I used it. My popcorn came out perfect and it made everything a whole lot easier. Then the Knob broke. This wasn't too big of a deal since parts break all the time, weak links etc. but I really wasn't very happy that this had happened so soon. However I went on their site and ordered the rod and knob kit. Unfortunately you cannot only buy the knob. According to their site they ask you to allow for 7 to 10 days for delivery. More than 2 weeks later I have to call them and ask where is my part. Apparently their system was down for two days and this had delayed all shipments. Two days later my package arrive, no knob just a rod. Which I did not need. So I call them again, they are so sorry for the inconvenience, they'll send out another package immediately, please allow for 7 - 10 days shipping. It's been more than 2 weeks again. I phone them again. According to their system I told the woman I spoke to that I was just going to throw my product away. Now why I would throw away a perfectly good machine for a $6 part, only they would know. Again, Oh we are so sorry, please allow for 7 to 10 days shipping. Yeah, I am still waiting. Save yourself the frustration and buy someone else's product 02/04/2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Best popcorn ever!!! great popcorn. You really can't leave this item once going. The plastic bowl/lid does not stay in place once running . We clamp both handles down to hold in place. Bowl needs to be heavier it does not seal properly and kernels and sugar escape oh ...and hot oil spits out!!! But besides that we love it!!!! 10/29/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by good popper It makes good kettle corn. I only bought to make kettle corn and it makes it very easy and quick. It is why I bought it. I use air popper for regular popcorn. 01/22/2012
  • 2016-03-24 T07:26:45.166-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_30, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_11151361, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-29 of 29 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew299
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp