See All Reviews
CAP Barbell 2" Olympic Rubber Encased Commerical Grip Plate, Single
CAP Barbell 2" Olympic Rubber Encased Commerical Grip Plate, Single
List Price: $17.99
You Save: $3.66 (20%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 36 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great value This purchase is a great value, especially with the free shipping. I would recommend lubricating (rubber friendly) the inside part of the weight before sliding it onto a barbell. The rubber will peel off if you don't. I would also recommend that you take some time to "air out" the weight(s) before you put them in an enclosed room. The rubber smell if pretty strong, but I think that is the case with most rubberized weights. Using this kind of weights greatly reduces the noise: banging and clanging. 12/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good, Solid, Rubber-Coated Plate I've been lifting for the last 25 years or so (47 yr old), which means that I've worked out in a lot of different gym. Some had very old rusty plates, some had shinny new ones; some had good quality plates and some with very poor quality plates. So I have some history to judge this 25 lb CAP plate by. Simply stated, it's solid and coated perfectly. There simply is no noticeable difference between this plate and the rubber-coated plates at my top-notch gym. Its quality plus its price makes this plate a very good value. 08/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good quality! After having a gym membership for years & years, I decided to get a home gym system with everything I needed. It didn't come with weights so after doing a lot of online research I went with these. I bought the 5, 10, 25, & 35 lb ones & they are all great quality. Just like the ones at the gym & the easy grips are nice. Walmart had the best prices for rubber encased weights & the free shipping to my local store made it an even better deal. Highly recommended. 01/24/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice Look Look very nice and have a solid feel to them. 12/27/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty nice for the price I like these, they don't smell as bad as some say. There is an odor, but leave them out and it is gone in a day or two. The only problem is how tight the barbell hole is, it is kind of hard to get on and off. 10/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product! I bought 2 25-lbs weight plates. The rubber encasing the plates is of good quality and minimize the clanking noise. The grips are very convenient. This is definitely a bargain compared to high priced rubber encased plates from Troy or other companies that can run in excess of $180 for a pair. I will be buying a few extra plates soon. 11/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product and Exceptional Service Weights look great. They are easy to handle, quiet, and I won't have to worry about rust from the salt air here in the Florida Keys. I have been shopping for new weights for 6 months in stores and on the web. You will not find a better price for this high quality. The shipping was really fast, and the weights were well packed to avoid damage. I love Wally World! 09/14/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Heavier Each 25lb weight is slightly heavier than 25lbs by about 2lbs. All in all- decent set of plates. 12/05/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by stinks up all rooms in the house The rubber used in this product is of very poor quality, possibly cured with sulphur and petroleum derivates. The plates smelled terrible an emitted this over powering odor to all rooms in my home, despite being washed several times. I returned these plates and the employee who took them back turned his head and stated they smelled terrible. 10/11/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like It has this rubber smell, but I believe it will eventually go away due to it being new, just wash it with pine sole and you good. Great product. 07/14/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Quality I bought these for my fiancé and he loved them. He said that they're the same quality of the grip plates that he uses at the gym. He just ordered another set. 07/10/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by great weight plates Very nice weight plates. Keep my home gym looking neat and organized. The handles make the plates easiet to handle as well. Very much recommended. 11/22/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good quality plate Great plates for the $$. I could not find them at a better price anywhere else. Quality is great for a home gym. 04/08/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Stinky I had to return these because they were so so stinky. The chemical/rubber smell completely engulfed whatever space they were placed into. Even outdoors, the smell was hard to take from a distance of closer than 20 feet. 09/29/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Very Smelly Plate This plate is a good tool to use with my weight bar however I had to return it because the rubber odor was so bad that I couldn't stand it. 09/17/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid but smelly! They fit the bar very snugly and are very stable for the deadlift. But they made my basement smell crazy bad. Kept the door open for a weekend and burnt some scented candles in my manly gym dungeon for a few hours. Still has that odor. But they do the job they were made for quite well. 09/02/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by fits perfect and does not slide can not really say too much about this product because it is a weight and you lift it 01/12/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by The 5 pound weight weighs 5 pounds! Lol. Aside from it having a weird oily film and smell, it weighed 5 pounds, so what more can I say? I washed it in my sink with dishwashing soap and it cleaned up nice. I really don't know how close to 5 pounds it is, but I bought it to balance my Jeep Wrangler top removal hoist frame for when the frame is empty, and it works awesome! I like the rubber coating. 08/08/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Smell is terrible - packaging was not sufficient.. I bought these rubber plates not realizing they would put off a terrible smell. I washed them with Simple Green and Dishwashing soap to try and rid the smokey smell. I have had them two weeks and they are starting to get better, but I would not buy this brand again. 06/22/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Bad Product This review is for CAP Barbell 2" Olympic Rubber Encased Commercial Grip Plates , 2.5lbs plates. They look as though they came from a yard sale, or thrift store, if not a junk yard.The rubber coatings were pitted and scratched, and smelled strongly of petroleum or some chemical. I'm returning these, giving a second shot at seeing if this vendor will send me a decent product. I hope anyone else who encounters this kind of shoddy business practice will let vendors know it's unacceptable. 07/19/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Cap Rubber coated plates Exactly what it says. 06/16/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product and great price.i loved walmart. Excellent product, not bad smell, great price. I really love it. 06/07/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Exactly what I was wanting. Rubberized weights and a good price. 04/25/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heavy End This productworks great and saves me lots on gym expences. 02/24/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by 2.5 encased plates They were everything I expected. I recommend this product. 01/16/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product for the money For the price, these plates are great. I am putting together a small home gym, and they are exactly what I wanted. An inexpensive rubber encased weight set. Like some of the other reviews have said, they smell like rubber, but I didn't think it was an overpowering smell. Rubber smell dissipates after a week or two anyway, so it really wasn't a big concern for me. They were coated in a kind of oily gunk, so I will wash them in Lysol, and that should also help with the rubber smell a bit. 12/25/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Smell is terrible. These weights are of good quality except for the smell. I have aired them outside for over 2 weeks. I have scrubbed them with Pine-Sol repeatedly. They are less greasy, but the odor still fills a room. I know the odor will eventually dissipate, but for now, my entire set is stored on the patio. Really, do not buy these weights. 11/09/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by The barbells smell a lot They smell a lot but the quality of the build is great plus the shipping was very fast. 10/13/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by AS expected These are weights there are no moving parts. They were as expected. Not much else one can say. They arrived right on time. 08/16/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by As described As described and not a lot else to say about it. Be aware that it will have a very strong smell from the coating when you first open it. The smell has mostly gone away after a week or so outside, but it does stay on your hands a little after using it. 07/04/2014
  • 2015-10-13T10:04:51.718-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_36, tr_36
  • loc_en_US, sid_11099754, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 35 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.