Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 265 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent value - top notch service After doing my due diligence shopping for triply on-line I decided this set would fill the bill at a great price compared to equal quality offerings. I am definitely not disappointed! The earlier review by Cook's Illustrated rated the 8 pc. Tramontina set a best buy ... except they commented on the small sizes in the set. In the same article they mentioned the 7 pcs. they feel every kitchen should have. Tramontina must have read this article and then put together the 10 pc. set. It contains all of the sizes recommended by Cook's Illustrated, however the article included a non-stick pan, an enameled dutch oven and a cast iron skillet which, of course, are not in this set. I have used every piece in this set daily since I received it a month ago and am elated with the quality and performance. I have made batches of chili and braised chuck roast in the dutch oven, used the 10" and 12" pans for hashed browns, ground beef and searing steaks before putting the pan in the oven. I have cooked down blueberries, scalded milk and made sauces in the saucepans. Everything comes out wonderfully! As to cleanup, it's a snap. After they have cooled I put them in a sink of hot water with dish washing liquid and sometime later return to wipe them out with a dishcloth. A few times the interior's have discolored/rainbowed slightly however a quick wipe with "Bar Keepers Friend" for "cookware" made them like new again. By the way, Bar Keeper's Friend Stainless Steel Cleaner is avail. in stores, however according to their website, their product made specifically for cookware (and labeled such) is only avail. on-line. Lastly, regarding Tramontina service. The day I received my set I opened and inspected ea. piece thoroughly. I was immediately impressed with the weight, construction and look of the set however the 12 qt. stockpot had a depression on the lid's edge and a major burr at the top of the pot. I called Tramontina, the representative cheerfully told me they would send a replacement lid and pot along with a return shipping label. All I did when I received the replacement was put the damaged pot in the box the replacement came in, slapped on the return label included and dropped it off at the closest shipping location. This set is everything I hoped for and would recommend it to anyone wanting superb performance at a value price. I rated 'durability' a 5 because, even though I've only used it for a month, the heft and quality of each piece is superb and it's obvious it will last a lifetime. I've always received excellent value and service from Walmart and the same is now true for Tramontina. 09/09/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Value, However.... This all started because I needed a 12" fry pan with flared sides. A quick check of my America's Test Kitchen Family Cookbook informed me that the All-Clad Stainless Steel is the brand to beat, and next thing I know, I'm holding the beautiful thing in my hands and about to shell out 120 clams for it! Eeep! Long story short, I ended up with the 10 piece Tramontina set instead, for a mere $80 more. "Enthusiastically Recommended" by ATK, and backed by dozens of 5 star reviews from happy customers, I just had to try it. I figured it would compliment my favorite cast iron pieces and summarily replace the disk-bottom Belgiques wasting space in my cabinets. My cookware arrived just a few days ago and overall I'm impressed. It's a beautiful set, a good weight, with comfortable handles. So far I've used the 4 quart sauce pan for making a pasta sauce and the 5 quart dutch oven for boiling pasta and making soup. Both performed nicely and as expected: even, distributed heating with no scorching or sticking....very similar to my porcelain-enameled dutch oven. Both pans cleaned up easily washing by hand. Quite pleased. However, I do have just a couple complaints/concerns. Initial inspection out of the box revealed small imperfections on each piece. Every pan has at least one small, shallow scratch, either on the outside or on the cooking surface. Having never purchased stainless steel cookware before, I don't know whether or not this is par for the course. I decided however, at less than $200, I wasn't going to worry about what is probably nothing more than a cosmetic issue, especially considering how they will eventually look after years of use. Secondly, the pans are not perfectly flat on the bottom. Tonight I noticed that the 5 quart dutch oven rocked a bit on the stove stop, so I whipped out a straight edge and checked each piece. Now, I have no idea if this is normal or considered a defect (or if it's even related to the wobble), but the bottom of each pan is arched very slightly, so the middle of the pan is slightly elevated from the edges. I then checked my old disk bottom Belgiques, and found that they are perfectly flat. As I use a gas range, I don't think I'll have an issue with the arch, but I wonder if users of glass top or induction ranges would? I've searched online and can't find anything on this topic, so if anybody out there reading this has a clue, please respond with a review and enlighten me! :) Anyway, even with the cosmetic issues and the unexpectedly arched bottoms, I'm still very happy with my purchase, and I think I'll love cooking with this set. The craftsmanship may not be up to All-Clad standards, but it's close enough; and for the price, an unbelievable deal. I would, without hesitation, recommend Tramontina Tri-Ply Clad to anyone looking for quality, affordable cookware. Happy cooking :) 06/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent alternative to expensive clad cookware Incredible value with near All-clad quality at Wal-mart prices. Pros • Heavy duty pans and lids • Big pan sizes for a set • Excellent quality and value • Tri-ply construction • Comfortable handles Cons (Admittedly nit-picking) • None of the lids fit the fry pans • No sauté pan in set (available open-stock) • Relatively expensive open stock pieces • Not as well finished as All-clad Notes: • The box this comes in is huge. Each piece is individually boxed inside the larger carton. • Another alternative to consider is the J.A. Henckels International Classic Clad. Its a bit more expensive then the Tramontina but seems to be even better made and well thought out. Quality is similar to, or slightly better than All-clad. Handles are incredibly comfortable and easy to use. All-clad handles are terribly uncomfortable. Care and Use Notes: • Learn to use these pans to best effect. They are excellent but do require the right techniques to avoid scorching and to develop a nice fond. • Do not use high heat until you gain some experience with stainless steel tri-ply cookware. • Start the cleaning process with a cup or two of warm water on the range while the pan is still hot. Just like deglazing this will help dissolve the sticky bits. • Never run a hot pan under water or it may warp. • Use Barkeepers Friend (a powdered cleanser for stainless steel) to clean the pans when necessary. • If you put them in the dishwasher they will discolor. Hand wash for best results. 11/30/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by It may last forever My previous cookware included stainless steel pots and skillets and non-stick coated aluminum skillets. I finally became fed up with the uneven heating of the skillets and griddle; and having read a very positive review of Wal Mart's 8-piece Tramontina in Cook's Magazine, I decided it was time to replace my old cookware. I purchased the 10-piece set rather than the 8-piece one. Although I have only been using this set for several weeks, the pieces are so heavy and well-made that I'm sure they are going to outlast me and my wife. The triple ply construction is used for the entire piece--all the way to the top. You must use low to medium heat for cooking. I believe the lower cooking temperature contributes to the ease of cleanup. I use dishwashing detergent and a sponge to clean both inside and outside of the pots and dry them at once. The set looks gorgeous, and I intend to keep it that way. I think this purchase was one of my better expenditures this year. 10/18/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Get on this ship before it sails out!!! Pun intended.... Let me first just say that I love this cookware!! I am not sure how they actually are making money off of this... From the looks, this should be closer to the price of the all-clad...That being said, I should go ahead and tell you that at the bottom of this pan it says "Made in China" . But what is not made there these days though... I feel like this could be a new beginning for products made in China. This is very high quality cookware and in no way should its country of origin sway you from purchasing this product. I purchased this set because it had some of the best reviews, the perfect sized pots, and the best material you could use as cookware. Tri Ply! It looks great and cleans up very nicely...Don't forget your Bar Keeper's Friend which works great and can be found at your local walmart. This cookware has opened my eyes to all sorts of new ways to cook. I made fried mushrooms for the first time last night, and I used to hate mushrooms. Not anymore! I feel like a mini chef in the kitchen, and every guest I have over compliments my cookware. I am only 23 years of age, and this is my first real cookware set. I strongly believe that either I or my robotic maid will be using this same set when I retire, probably around the year 2060. If you are having second thoughts or just can't decide what to do, as nike says...just do it! This will make any kitchen look better, smell better, taste better, feel better...you get the picture?! 12/10/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by High Quality, Major Bang for the Buck This is a great product, and well worth the relatively low price tag. I debated between registering for the Tramontina Triply, or going with the higher priced gold standard in All-Clad. Ultimately, I decided to trust the experts at Cooks Illustrated (America's Test Kitchen) and give Tramontina a try (CI states the two triply brands are comparable in quality). I love this set! Clean up has been easy, and it has been great cooking at a lower heat - less fat required.The polished finish fades, but that's to be expected. My biggest concern upon opening the set was the slimness of the handles on the larger pieces. However, I haven't had any difficulty. Tramontina smartly includes an alternative side handle for moving the bigger saucepan. I'm thrilled to have gotten the set of Tramontina for the cost of one All-Clad pan. Also, for city-dwellers with space issues: the set nests perfectly. I keep all of the pieces, except for the two saute pans, nesting at all times. It has dramatically increased my storage space previously occupied by my old pots and pans. 06/07/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great set with a very minor flaw Cooking is something I love to do, so I like to try different brands of cookware. Although I did not buy my TriPly Tramontina as a set, I liked it so much that I ended up buying all the individual pieces. The pans and pots all heat very evenly, with no hot spots. The entire side heats up, with much better results than cookware with the aluminum slug clad into the bottom only (as is true of some Tramontina pieces as well). As a result, recipes cook much faster, and at lower heat than I was used to...sort of like having a convection oven in a pot. They have proven easy to clean and they maintain their appearance well. The only complaint I have is that the handles, while very strong, have a design that is a bit narrow for my hands. The pots and pans are heavy, and when full, the handle does not distribute weight across my palm very well, so I have to be careful when picking them up. That's okay, because nothing else performs like this at 3-4 times the price. Well done, Wal-Mart! 10/11/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product....but So everything is wonderful about this product! Except you can order the $149 set and buy the 12" pot for $50 and the larger pan for $50. Which will include everything in this set for the same price but you will get an extra 8" sauce pan! 04/21/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Tramontina cookware I shopped feverishly for replacement cookware. I had a set of top-of-the-line Calphalon. The years had not be kind and the coating was in horrid condition despite using only non-metallic utensils. Anyway, I started looking at Allclad even though the costs are ridiculous. Between Dillard's, William-Sonoma and the web there were no deals to be found. I was convinced that these were the pots and pans I had to have but there was a huge problem. The Allclad handles are medieval torture devices. How any company could continue to use the same poor design for years is beyond me. Frustrated, I went back to the web searching for S/S cookware. The name Tramontina kept coming up. A trip to Wal-Mart yielded nothing on the shelves so I took a chance and ordered the 10 piece set for $249. It arrived several days later at the local Wal-Mart. I stopped in the cookware section on the way to customer pick-up. There was the 8 piece set of the shelf on sale for $69! It angered me but I remembered that the two sets have mostly different size pots and pans. I bought the 8 piece and it included 3 nice knives too. Back in the kitchen I noticed that the dutch oven had a very slight dent in the lower curved area. It wasn't worth troubling over. I've cooked with these now for about two weeks. While S/S should require only medium heat at most I've found I have to crank up the dial on my JennAir to get things really going. It doesn't appear to be hurting the finish in any way though. It is a learning curve for me but I think I'll be happy in the end. 18 pieces plus 3 knives for $300 beats the heck out of the $800 William-Sonoma wanted for half the pieces. Oh, the handles are a tad narrow but much more ergonomic than the Allclad 01/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love my new cookware! I was a little apprehensive at the price of this cookware, but I changed my mind when I received it. I wanted something to last me the rest of my life, and I believe I have found it! The all-clad stainless steel Tramontina set is beautiful, I can cook at lower temperatures, and the clean-up of these pans is effortless. The lids fit perfectly, the craftsmanship is superb. I couldn't be happier 08/18/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for the price, but far from perfect I bought the Tramontina 10-piece set based on the rave reviews here and unfortunately was disappointed with the actual product. The thickness of the pans is good for the price, you basically get 6 pots and pans, stainless steel*, tri-ply construction for a little over $200. This works out to about $40 per cooking item (I'm not including lids because I think it is misleading to include them in the item count). They cook evenly, but little things about them annoy me. One is the rivets inside the pan, a very obvious place for food and other gunk to build up over time. My old SS Cuisinart pans have no rivets and I wish more tri-ply manufacturers would weld the handles on versus using rivets. The other annoying thing was the thin, round handle which made it difficult to lift and maneuver the heavy pan. Hold a Demeyere or other well-designed pan and you'll see how it can be more comfortable and easier to grip. This could increase safety in the kitchen if Tramontina modified the handles just a little. This brings me to the reason I am replacing my old Cuisinart set - wooden handles. They feel just right in my hand, but I can't put them in the oven when I need to and they are close to getting split due to repeated wash cycles. The pans also are not clad up the sides which really does make a big difference in not burning your food around the edges of the pan. I returned the Tramontina items after the following: 1. Boiled water for hard boiled eggs in one of the small pots. I hand-washed the pot, towel dried it immediately and there was obvious staining as if I had heated it too high (there was bluish tint to the metal) but I had only heated it on level 3 of my gas stove, which never occurred in my 20 year old Cuisinart SS pans. Also, there was a stubborn ring around the water level that wouldn't come off unless I scrubbed (which I did not want to do). 2. One of the pans arrived with a dime-sized dent on the inside and other pots had scratches on the handles before I even took them out of the packaging. I did try one dish on the large 11" pan, salmon in olive oil with herbs and lemon. The pan looked fine after using it for this meal, so no problems there. Also, the salmon came out perfect, heating was even across the entire pan, we were very happy with the results. Based on my experience, these pans are useful for even heating due to the tri-ply construction, and will serve their purpose, but they will quickly show strong signs of wear and I am a bit skeptical about their ability to last more than 7 or so years without completely being pitted and stained. What concerns me is that my 20 year old pans do not have stains, so the quality of metal used in the Tramontina is questionable in my mind. I don't see the point of spending $230 for a set of cookware and then having to replace them again in 10 years with another set (at a higher price I imagine) and repeating this cycle. It is more wasteful than buying a top quality set that will last a lifetime. If you are in a position to spend a bit more on pots and pans, I would suggest one or two items from Demeyere which have a 30 year replacement warranty (that itself will pay for the extra cost of the pans). Slowly build up the collection if you have to and just buy the items you truly need as stainless steel tri-ply. 09/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Buy this set! We are avid cookers in our house and our Circulon non-stick set has worn out. We have one All-Clad stainless steel pan and we love it so we decided to switch to all stainless steel. We are deovotees of Americas Test Kitchen and though All-Clad was their highest rated set, it was simply out of our price range. Their second highest rated set was Tramontina and since it was in our price range, we thought we would give it a try. We couldn't be happier! We are still amazed at such a high quality set being sold for such a reasonable price. We also bought the Tramontina Jumbo Cooker separately from the set and have been just as happy and satisfied with it. We now recommend this set and brand to all our family and friends. 04/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Cookware, Need to Learn to Use it! I bought this set after hearing the reviews on Cooks Illustraited, and doing a ton of research. 1. Preheat the pan 2. Then put in and preheat the oil 3. Put in food - that is warmed up! I can fry an egg no problem, and cooking on med to med-low (4) on the dial on my glass top stove. Cooks white, slides out clean, no sticking. Still figuring out how to flip and not stick, and still working on what the right temperature is for what food I'm cooking, but so far I am thrilled with the set as a whole. Did homemade noodles in the stock part.. again, cooking med (4 1/2) on the dial, little or no sticking, and no burning. A little barkeepers friend and pans are shiny and new again. Highly recommend you do the research and see if a tri-ply set of stainless is right for you, and if it is, you can't go wrong with this set. You may want the smaller set if cooking for only 1 or two. 12/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by If Apple made cookware... ... they would look and perform like this set. Extremely durable, lightweight and great looking design. This is my first ever product review. Just wanted to share the wealth. Stop looking and pull the trigger. You won't find a better product at any price. Paid $229 - October 2011 11/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top quality cookware This cookware is highly rated by Cook's Illustrated. It is heavy, durable, and cleans easily. Comparable to more expensive All Clad. Very happy with this purchase. 06/05/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice set of cookware My wife and I bought this cookware set for each other for Christmas. We bought it based on the America's Test Kitchen review where they rated it as a best buy. We are not disappointed at all. One thing I wish was that the skillets had lids or that the stockpot lids were the same size for the skillets. Other than that, no complaints at all. Bring on the Steak Au Poivre. 01/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by get cook'n I already own a $600 set and this set is right there in quality. I saw in person at the local Walmart individual pcs and experienced the quality first hand which made it easy to decide and order the set on line. The set was delivered at Walmart 3 days after I purch. online. I brought the set home and every piece was perfect. I'm extremely satisfied with this set and would recommend it. 03/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ideal tri-ply cookware set I am an avid home cook and wanted to invest in cookware that I could could be confident would last a lifetime. I chose Tramontina tri-ply stainless steel cookware upon the recommendation of Cooks Illustrated magazine and have found it to meet my (high) expectations. I've been using it on a daily basis for the past several weeks and am extremely pleased with its function and feel. It seems well-built and performs exactly how I had hoped it would: it heats evenly, the handles are comfortable, the pans feel well-balanced, the lids fit well (although they are not designed to fit the frying pans), and cleans up pretty easily (dishwasher safe!). I think it was well worth purchasing this 10-piece set, with its bigger frying pans and the stock pot. The 12-qt stock pot was great for making a ginormous batch of soup, and the 2-qt was perfect for reheating it one or two servings at a time. This set has all the essentials and nothing superfluous. I read some reviews in which people commented that one or more items were not completely flat. Every item in my set is well-machined and flat on the bottom, so they work fine on my glass-top stove. If tri-ply stainless steel cookware is what you're looking for, I would highly recommend this set. Bon appétit! 01/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A friend recommended this set to me because she love them so much. Now I know why. They have great even heating, durable and look great. Any discolorations come out with Barkeeper Friend and some elbow grease. If you love to cook these are the ones for you. 01/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great cookware set for a great price! Like another reviewer, I put the pans on my stove and just admired them - beautiful! Cooking with them is a little different than what I'm used to. I follow the manufacture's recommendations: low to medium heat only - never high, let the pans cool before washing, I did use the dishwasher but was not happy with the spotting and I use Barkeepers Friend to clean. I made a real stuck-on mess cooking an egg so I still use my non-stick skillet for eggs. I heat the pan for about 2 min then add some oil before cooking and that does keep food from sticking. I don't try to move meat until it releases from the pan on it's own and this leaves a nice crust. I do wish the set had a smaller skillet so I will buy that to complete the set. I so highly recommend this cookware set that I got a set for my daughter. 12/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Terrific service, product The Tramontina cookware is exceptional. The largest piece, described as a stockpot, will probably see the least use; it's extremely large, both to use and to store. All pieces were perfect. Cooking at medium heat is plenty for browning chopped fresh onions in olive oil. I have an electric stove and onions used to have to be watched carefully to keep them from burning. In the Tramontina cookware, the onions just cook - they don't burn and barely brown. Cooking is very controlled, although it seems somewhat slower than in my old cookware. Cleanup is a snap with a stiff backed sponge. The pieces are heavy - probably on a par with cast iron. The bigger pieces have two handles, but even so they can be unwieldy for users who might not be physically strong. I wish the straight sided skillet with the lid were included in the set. I want it to cook pork chops and tomatoes with rice on he stovetop. The five quart covered dutch oven has seen the most use so far. This cookware cooks EXACTLY like All-Clad pieces my sister uses. I will be sending open stock pieces to her to fill out her set. 11/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best deal out there I can only echo what others have said, other than slightly less finished and no radius-ed edges for pouring assistance these work remarkably as well as a high end $,$$$.$$ set. Why there is no shelf space for these in the store, and the limited single piece selection is beyond me. Do we really need 6 versions of celebrity chef / homemaker mediocre pots and pans on the store shelf? I understand these can cost twice the mediocre sets cost, but they perform as well as sets at 4 times their cost. 05/03/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Somewhat disappointed I appreciate that these pots cook well on low heat. In my kitchen I cook often and I cook quantity and am thankful for the sizes offered in this set of pots which greatly influenced my selection. When the pots first arrived I scrubbed the insides really well and washed them in hot sudsy water, towelling dry after each piece was washed. From the rave reviews I expected excellent quality but these pots don't measure up to my eight year old stainless steel pots, Farberware Millenium, which I can no longer find on the Internet. For the record I have been an avid cook for nearly sixty years, starting in my early teens. Several factors have influenced my fair rating. First and most important to me, I can't click a large stainless cooking spoon on the top edge of the pot without getting nicks in the metal. IS THE METAL REALLY THAT SOFT? Secondly, these pots are not that easy to keep clean. I must use Barkeeper's Friend every time I use the pots if I want them to retain some of their initial nice looks. The third, and smallest fact that influenced my rating, is that the pots have no lips to facilitate pouring without getting drips down the sides of the pots and onto the counters or stove top. I had searched the Internet for several months before selecting this set to replace several non-stick pots that had found their home in my cabinets along with my old stainless steel #3 pcs.# Now I am glad that I still have the old stainless steel pots and no longer use non-stick. If you are looking for pots that cook well in this price range, give this set a try. Walmart does offer good value and they stand behind what they sell. Just keep your receipt! Good luck in making your selection. 09/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Impressed I recently purchased a Kenmore Induction Cooktop, and none of my old cookware worked. I'm a single male, and don't cook very often, but I wanted a nice set of cookware that would last and look great in my newly remodled kitchen. This cookware works perfectly on my induction cooktop, and I can boil water in under 60secs. I've only used about half of the cookware pieces, and I'm happy overall. My only complaint is that two of the lids had some slight warping. It's barely noticable, yet still a small defect. I wasn't bothered enough to return/replace the set. Final grade is A- or B+, and cheaper than the highend triply (multiclad) cookware products. 08/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best cookware for the price. I looked around for a cookware set for over a year. Most were very expensive with mixed reviews. I decided to try out this set, because of strong online reviews for Tramontina products. I was very impressed with the look and weight when they arrived. I was equally impressed when I cooked with them. Meats were browned nicely and evenly. Sauces did not burn on the bottom of the pan. One thing to look out for is that these pans cook hot, so do not use the high setting on the oven. Once I figured that out I could be happier. I've seen similar sets sale for over $500 in other magazines and sites. I would recommend this to all my friends and family. 08/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Flawless cookware just as fine as All-Clad - exactly the same. 06/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by This set is even better than I expected. I read countless reviews on all my options for triple ply SS and finally felt confident enough to make this purchase. I couldn't be happier. Besides being absolutely beautiful, they perform great! The stainless interior is more nonstick than any nonstick pan I have ever used. This was an unexpected bonus! I already put the 1 qt and covered casserole to my wish list to complete my set. I hope this helps anyone who's on the fence about buying high quality cookware from Wal-Mart. 04/01/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous for the money I bought these to replace my aluminum+teflon Analon set that I got for a wedding present. The non-stick coating was disintegrating and I don't want to think about the chemicals that might have made it into our food. Anyway, I saw a review of what I believe was an earlier version of these pans on Americas Test Kitchen. The reason I think that it was an earlier version is that the review stated that the Tramontina pans had an aluminum disk in the bottom but no aluminum on the sides. Otherwise, the review said that they liked them nearly as well as the much more expensive AllClad pans. Happily, the aluminum in this set goes throughout the bottom and sides. I have never cooked on AllClad or similar pans so I cannot compare. I will compare to the Analon pans below after going over the product features. First, this cookware is gorgeous. That doesn't cook the food any better but they do look nice if that is important to you. The packaging was efficient but well done and I didn't have a single dent or scratch on any of the pieces. The only drawback is that I worry more about the shiny finish than I did with my old aluminum pans so I cringe every time I whack them against something. Comparing these to my old Analon pans: These pans heat much quicker but also retain less heat than my old pans. My old pans were solid aluminum and about 3-4 times the thickness of the aluminum in this set and would retain more heat when food was added. So, when you put the food in the hot pan the pan cools much more than my old set. But, it also reheats quickly to the desired temp (I have an infrared thermometer to check the temp of the pan). Also, these pans have metal lids and metal handles to the lids which get hot. The pan handles stay cool enough to use but don't make the mistake of grabbing the lid without a pot holder or some other dry cloth or you might get a nasty hot handle surprise. It is common sense but you might not think about it coming from a set with resin lid handles. I imagined that clean up would be a big difference without the teflon and it is. So far it hasn't been too bad. I followed the manufacturers recommendation and let the pans cool to room temperature before washing. I usually let a combination of water and a bit of detergent soak for a while and then use a scrubbing sponge to gently remove whatever has stuck to the bottom of the pan. One thing that surprised me is the minor discoloration you get after cooking. It isn't that bad but these things are so nice looking that I don't want to mess them up. I've found that using Barkeepers Friend after the regular clean up really gets the look back to very near new (also in the Manufacturers recommendations). I use and enjoy these nearly every day. I would recommend these to anyone as long as they understand the trade offs of the design. 09/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I Agree with Cook's My wife and I were reading an older issue of Cook's Illustrated and happened upon the cookware review everyone references. In the review they mention that the Tramontina (8-pc.) set is on par with the All-Clad in terms of performance, but the sizes are lacking, and not ideal. Well, in the time since the review was published and now, Tramontina must have read the article, and created this 10-pc. set. The sizes and types are EXACTLY what Cook's said would be the ideal. I would recommend reading their review, because I can't top their analysis. Or you could just trust them like we did, because they are kitchen geniuses. Beyond that, my wife has already cooked many masterpieces with our new set, and says they perform amazingly. 04/23/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by A pleasant surprise! When each of my children married,my present to them were wonderful pots and pans, each set over $1000.00. Always thought that one day I too would get a set. 15 years later my day came to treat myself to "my dream" set of the same cookware. however, after much research, I held my breath and chose the much less expensive Tramontina 10-piece 18/10 Stainless Steel Tri-Clad. I figured that I could always return the set. I could have sprung the dollars for All-Clad, but I am so excited to say my choice was a delight! I've since order some additional pieces and convinced two other families to purchase the set. They too are happy campers, or should I say cookers! BE SURE TO GET TRI-PLY all the way up the sides! Best of wishes to you! 04/14/2011
1-30 of 234 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew302
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp