See All Reviews
Stack-On PWS-1522 Wall Safe with Electronic Lock
Stack-On PWS-1522 Wall Safe with Electronic Lock
$123.07
List Price: $199.00
You Save: $75.93 (38%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 32 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by What it should be! The packaging wasn't fantastic, as previous raters had said. However, everything was intact and working fine upon receipt. No dents, scratches, or damage of any kind. There are little plastic clips that hold the shelves in place, 6 total. 5 were broken upon arrival, but they are technically unnecessary to the functionality of the safe, and the shelves rest in place without the clips (although they would have been nice). Included a goodie bag of labels, gun straps, and a folder for documents. Personally, I found these accessories unimpressive and trivial and tossed them all out. Middle shelf storage space is restricted due to locking mechanism. And I felt that the safe box itself could have been made from a thicker gauge of steel. However, the front of the safe (the visible and accessible portion) is well made, good construction, quality welds, good finish, and aesthetically pleasing. Installation in standard 16" spaced studs is probably simple. I live in an apartment with irregularly spaced metal studs, so I build a framed structure inside the wall specifically for this safe. Also, I wasn't convinced the 4 provided holes were secure enough, so I drilled 4 additional holes (2 on top, 2 on bottom). Now I am fully convinced that the safe is extremely secure and accessing the contents without a code would require demolition of my entire wall. I'm very pleased. :) 02/18/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy to install security The wall safe is easy to install and the lock is simple to program and use. The emergency key is peace of mind. Be sure you have a full depth wall and enough width, height, and there aren't any wires before cutting the opening. The only negative I found was that on the center shelf, usable space is drastically reduced by the lock mechanism. The supplied handy folder for papers is about all that will easily fit on that shelf. 01/24/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by The safe was damaged in shipping, all four corners were bent back, the shelves and accessories were shipped loose in the safe and were also damaged. Walmart replaced it and paid for the shipping. The replacement was in good condition, except the shelf pins were broken, I just replaced them with some bolts, easy fix. The safe isn't really meant for 16" centers, it measures 13.5", not 14.5", I had to shim the wall 1". After getting it in the wall, I am happy with the safe itself. It looks alright, and other than the plastic handle, it seems pretty solid. If someone wanted to get into it, they would probably have to cut it out of the wall and spend some time on cutting into it. It would take some work, but very possible. Still good for the money. 07/12/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great safe It is perfect for what I need it for. We put my blood pressure and other meds in the safe to make sure the 2.5 year old doesn't get ahold of it. Its fast to get into, and I know the kids are safe. 10/23/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by As expected It's exactly what we were looking for to hold 2 handguns. Installed quickly (with basic handyman skills). Arrived quickly and in good condition. 05/09/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by good quality for price Seen it for alot more money at other retailers....Easy to instal...Very sturdy....Don't like plastic knob but can live with it... 04/15/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does the Trick! Best value around for the price... does the trick-- just mount between studs and you have a wall safe. Will hold most valuables. 11/29/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very decent for the money It arrived without any damage as described in another review; corners were not bent. The safe box is well made and welded solidly. The shelves are nice to have to help organize the few items you can fit into it. The box is tapered, from wide at the door to narrow at the back, so if you are measuring anything (dimensions are posted on the box) make sure you're aware of this. It is not that hard to install; just be aware of electrical installations (wire). Cut a hole large enough to put flashlight into to inspect the area. Also, make sure to change batteries and/or place keys (2 provided) somewhere that you will remember but won't be easy to find by the burglar. If you don't have much $$ this safe is a nice surprise. Again it's a well made product for the money and the company has strict instructions for obtaining replacement keys well into the future. 09/06/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Interior is sparcely decorated. Perhaps a few pleated rolls to hold rings might be helpful. 09/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works for me! My husband and I installed this safe successfully into a wall in a closet. We are not "handy" people. The electronic lock is easy to use. I bought this safe to store my jewelry, passports, and cash in. There are lots of little "hooks" on the top of the inside of the door that I use to hang all of my earrings on. I am very happy with this purchase. 09/17/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by meh... The first column of buttons didn't work out of the box. I had to reach out to them for a replacement panel. Took 2 attempts to get a hold of someone, but after I got them they were more than helpful and I had the part to me in just a few days. The corners were also slight bent inward at the bottom of the safe so it didn't sit flush on the wall. I had to bang them flat with a rubber mallet. Also, I could probably get into this thing if i beat it with a heavy hammer long enough. Doubt I could pry it though. 07/22/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product. Quick shipping. The product was shipped quickly and the box was heavy duty for the weight of the product. The lock is an attractive touch pad and easy to open. The inside is adequate except for the plastic clips that hold the shelves in place. You don't have to have them, but if they could have invested 10 cents in plastic parts that worked rather than one cent of plastic that doesn't work it would have been appreciated. 06/08/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good product. Poor packing and instructions The packaging for this safe is insufficient for the weight. All of the shelves had broken the mounting clips during transit and sheared off the keypad programming button. Buyer beware and open the box at the store and inspect the inside of the safe. 05/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great safe for locking up your valuables This safe is everything that I thought it would be. First of all it is heavy and seems to be very well constructed. The electronic combination is very easy to program. One thing about this safe is that if you are looking to open it for the first time then the way to get to the key is to use a small flat head screwdriver as a wedge to pop out the piece of plastic in the center of the electronic unit that says STACK. It is just a small plastic cover that has a flat slot at the bottom where you can use a screwdriver to lift it off of the face. It comes right out exposing the keyhole. I would highly recommend this wall safe. 02/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wall safe This is an excellent product for the price, another large online site was 25 more! Ship to store is free and less damage than shipping it. Easy to install and very strong for the $ 02/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well made Very Surdy, and with the proper placement, a great addition to security for valued items. 02/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like this safe so much that I ordered another one after I returned the first one. It arrived with a corner bent from someone dropping it during transit. The packaging is a normal cardboad box which is insufficient to handle a 30 pound package being thrown around during shipping.I shall continue to order until they get it shipped damage-free. 12/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product for the price!! Great product! Door is made from thinner metal than more expense safes, but will still keep kids or burglar out. Worked great for behind a picture. 09/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy to install. Lots of space. easy to open. 07/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for Mom Mom just moved into a retirement home and needed some place to keep cash, jewelry, etc. She can easily use the combination. She prefers to not have the key in the room for security reasons. I keep the key in case she forgets the combination or an emergency. Worth the price and perfect for our needs. 05/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Great product, well built for price 01/11/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good product I was looking for an inexpensive wall safe. This product was just what I was looking for. It was easy to install and came with good instructions. 11/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exactly what I needed I am very impressed with this safe. It is exactly as advertised. I am an ironworker and I was surprised on how thick the steel was. Great product. Easy to install with a stud finder, drywall saw, level and drill. Walmart definately had the best price! I recommend it!!! 08/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Nice Surprise! The safe was stronger and heavier than I expected. Not so heavy as I had trouble installing it, but it gave me a greater feeling of security. Installation was reasonable, no surprises. It took me about 1 & half hours with most of the time getting the tools or putting them away! I am very happy with the end result and have recommended it to my friends. 08/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by keep your handgun safe For the price this is a high quality product. It is heavy and solidly made. It installs in less than an hour (including a quick trip to the hardware store for a drywall saw.) And, it opens quickly and easily with the electronic combination. Keeps guns and ammo hidden and safe but handy for around a hundred bucks plus a little labor. What's not to like? 04/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by "Safe" & "Sound" I recently purchased a hand gun, and wanted a safe place to keep it in the house. I was pleasantly suppressed to find just what the doctor ordered at Wal Mart. This safe fits the bill perfectly. very secure, (heavy gage steel construction), with ample room for the hand gun & ammunition with room left over for other "Valuables". I installed it myself, (in less the an hour), with nothing but a utility knife, small hammer, power drill & a screwdriver. I give it 5 stars 02/07/2010
1-27 of 27 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew302
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp