See All Reviews
Stack-On 8-Gun Security Cabinet
Stack-On 8-Gun Security Cabinet
$89.00
List Price: $129.00
You Save: $40.00 (31%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 107 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Much better than expected I don't know what some other reviewers expected but this gun cabinet is an excellent product, very solidly constructed and well designed for easy assembly and secure closure. Sure, its not a fire-proof gun safe but nothing in the description suggests it is; it is a well-made secure deterrent to curious individuals and those who have limited time to do mischief in your home. Only negative -- be careful when you assemble the lock mechanism in the door. It can (and did) spill its guts if the key is removed before the lock is loosely secured in the door! The lock seems quite strong once mounted in its intended housing but it will come apart easily if not handled carefully during assembly. 07/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect This gun cabinet is great. I have a 5 year old boy who is very curious and likes to get into things. We bought the cabinet and he cannot get in it. Its not like those other cabinets where you can see through the glass and see the guns. This is protectant all the way around. The price was great comparing to other websites for the same cabinet and them wanting alot more money. The quality is great also. I love the hunter green color also. Very rustic. I would def. recommend this to anyone! 08/06/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth the money By no means will it keep out much of a fire or a determined thief but it is good for deterring children and honest people. It is worth what you pay for it. 12/06/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not bad, but small! I looked at this cabinet in person, but until guns are in it, it is very difficult to see how small this cabinet really is. I can get 8 guns in it if (a) none of the guns have optics and (b) none have pistol grips. Once you take up the room for optics and/or pistol grips, you can get 4 (or maybe 5) long guns in it. The shelf is only good for a couple boxes of ammo or magazines. Don't plan on storing handguns on the shelf (it isn't deep enough). Cheap enough to do the job I needed (only needed for 4 guns), but I certainly expected it to be bigger. 07/13/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for it's intended purpose I bought (2) of these for auxiliary storage. My primary gun safe was too crowded. These are ok for that. assembly is easy - although you may have to straighten a few bent edges with pliers. Absolutely bolt these to something. I bought some hard plastic barrel rests from Stack-on to replace the flimsy foam ones. The main advantage of these cabinets is the light weight and ease of transport. The shipping box could lay across the back seat of most cars. A great product if you realize it's limitations. 07/08/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by just what I needed for travel! After reading the negative comments I was a little bit sceptical of the product. However, I did order one, it was delivered promptly and package was in very good shope. In the unpacking I did notice a couple of bent edges, however they were straightened with no difficulty or mar to the finish. Easy to assemble. Noting the others stating cuts and scratches I took time and care in assembly. Went together as directed, written directions no problem. Had fun putting it together and mounting it to the floor and wall in my enclosed trailer. I visit local ranges for my shooting, works well for what I bought it for. Can't give it an outstanding because of lack of product care in packing, but give it high marks after assembly. 09/14/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't buy this one when you can buy... I'm sure this is a fine product, but the day after I ordered it I found that WalMart also has a Stack-On 10 gun cabinet for about 50 cents LESS. Yes, bigger cabinet, less money, still 97 shipping (or free if you shop to store like I did). http://www.walmart.com/ip/Stack-On-10-Gun-Security-Cabinet/14710765 I returned the 8 and ordered the 10. And, the 10 is pre-assembled. All you need to do is screw-in the shelf and stick-in the muzzle pads. Why get the smaller cabinet AND spend the time assembling it yourself? 04/11/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Gun Cabinet It came all beat up in the box. The box was not damaged so it had to be damaged before it was packed. I returned it. 10/05/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Does it's job. For $100 to my door it's a good value. It went together very easily. The locking mechanism works smoothly. It is a little cramped on the inside. You're not getting 8 rifles or shotguns in there comfortably. More like 4 or 5 unless you really want to jam them in there or they're all 22LRs. 05/10/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by not worth it it will not hold the amount of guns it says it was all beat up when it arrived i hab to beat it with a hammer to make it work 03/25/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Damaged Goods This item was exactly what I needed but it appeared that it had already been returned to Wal Mart and then sent out to me as the box had been re-taped up. All the parts were in the box including the hardware but three of the four sheet metal parts were severely damaged; it appeared that they had been dropped on a pipe. The damage was severe enough that it could not be repaired so I was obliged to return the item to the nearest Wal Mart store. 05/04/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Dissapointed Very dissapointed in product, maybe it was not the products fault but the handling, product was deliverd to home damaged, scratched and vital pieces missing(lock assembly). 12/03/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by gun safe is as pictured, but a bit thin which compromises its security. 01/05/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Junky The corners that had holes to assemble this product were bent when I received it. I returned it because the quality was unacceptable. I purchased a Plano lockable gun case instead, and it is a lot better. 08/02/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by cheesy! i dont know what i expected from something this cheap but i think a military foot locker is possibly equally secure for much less .... only advantage the stack on cabinet has is not having to break down rifle 07/29/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what I expected shelf is only half width. Not to mention showed up to my house all jacked up and bent. Glad I used to work in a sheet metal shop and knew how to fix it. Make sure u double check it afternot ships to you. Not one edge of mine was straight didn't have a ding or scratch and was all bent Everywhere Very unhappy customer. Won't buy from here again. 07/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by My guns are secure I purchased the cabinet to get the weapons out of the closet. We have grandkids aged 5 to 13 over about twice a week. I've taken the 13 yr olds to the range to learn gun safety and how to shoot. They're curious and this cabinet is very secure. Carriage bolts all through the cabinet. It was very easy to assemble and I'm in a wheelchair with polio. Build took about 2 hours; for a normal person that would be one hour. Attached to the wall it will be as strong and unmovable as any safe. 07/16/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Functional cabinet at a low price. I bought this cabinet knowing that it probably was not going to be the greatest gun security cabinet due to it's low price. I was right. It does exactly what I needed it to do and that is locking up some of my firearms without a child being able to access it. I was unhappy with the build quality of the metal case itself. The package arrived with no damage to the box, so you would think the contents would have been fine. For the most part everything looked fine until I unpacked the pieces and found the metal bent in several places. It was especially bent around the edges of the pieces and not in the places that might have come in contact with the packing box. These appeared to have come damaged from the factory. It comes in six pieces that have to be assembled. It takes a socket and screwdriver to put it together. Assembly took me less than an hour and that was with distractions. There is a shelf that bolts into the upper part of the cabinet for small storage. On the inside of the cabinet, there are foam pieces that have been cut out to rest the barrel of the gun. They stick onto the cabinet with some really thin and not so good sticky tape. There is also a foam mat to go in the bottom of the cabinet. Once it is assembled, it can not be taken apart from the outside with the door closed and locked. All bolts on the outside are carriage bolts and the hinges of the door screw on from the inside. There are also holes in the bottom and back so you could secure this to the studs in your walls or floor with the enclosed bolts. With some creative loading, you could probably get more than 8 guns in the cabinet. I did not send the unit back to dot com because I was able to get the pieces straightened out and this cabinet is just meant to be functional for me and not a show piece. Since it does assemble in pieces, remember that it does have areas that water, moisture, dust and insects could enter. Overall, I would buy this cabinet again to serve it's purpose of locking away firearms and nothing else. 07/13/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product for the price. Beware of shipping damage. Had to bend back some of the panels. Pretty sturdy. It'd take some effort to break into. Very good for just keeping safe from the kids. 06/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the price I ordered mine Site-to-Store and it arrived in pristine condition. Assembly was straight forward and the cabinet is rock solid once assembled. The top shelf is really an ammo shelf and is only about 4" deep so I did not install it. I instead made a full size shelf from plywood and store my pistols there. My long guns are all short barrels so a full size shelf works for me, it may not if you have long barreled rifles. There is no holes to feed a power cord through if you are going to use a Goldenrod or light bulb for moisture control so I had to drill one myself. I would buy it again as well as use site-to-store again. 06/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great - just needs lubricant on the lock bars The two best features of this cabinet are price and quality. It is the cheapest option I've found for secure storage, yet the good quality components made it easy to put together. My only complaint (and it's fixable) is that the lock bars are too stiff as is. I searched all over for a lubricant that would work but wouldn't smell of chemicals. The winner: Fellowes paper shredder lubricant ($7 at Lowes). It is pretty much odorless but puts a nice slick oil wherever you need it. With the addition of the lubed bars, this is a fantastic cabinet. 05/25/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Hey for under 100 bucks you cant beet it. Meets my needs of keeping my kids safe. Plan on a couple of hours for assembly. If you need a safe then get one! 04/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good bang for the buck For the money this is a great product. I more less needed a minimum security gun cabinet and this more than fit the bill. I will buy more products from Stack-On and I will buy them from Walmart Online due to price and shipping cost. 04/04/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lock on cabinet sticks! I just want a locked case to be sure the kids don't get into the guns without permission. I'm not sure I myself will ever get the guns back out of the case! The lock sticks. 04/03/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by good value for the money This cabinet is a good value for the money. I bought it for $89 and saw the same one on Amazon for $170. PROS: The cabinet comes assembled. Just bolt it to the wall and attached the shelf and gun rest. Much larger that I thought. Good lock. CONS: not well packed. Need thicker styro-foam to protect it. Mine had 2 small dings about the size of a quarter and 2 BIG dents about the size of a fist. I read both on the Walmart site and the Amazon site that this was a common problem. Still mine will be put in a closet, so know one will really see the dents. A professional thief could probably break into it, but it will prevent some one who is in a hurry from quickly walking off with your stuff. OVERALL: Despite the dents, for the price I paid, I am satisfied 03/15/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by waste of money I had this product shipped to my local walmart. I was able to pick it up with no problems. Both cabinets where in perfect shape. I got the product home and put everything together without any issues. Then I closed and locked the cabinets. To my dissmay one of the cabinets would not reopen. The lock had frozen in places sealing the cabinet shut. I contacted the company via email and they stated they would send me a new lock. Although I expressed to the company that the cabinet would not reopen, therefore I could not replace the lock. The company did not responed to my second email. So I had to drill out the lock and install my own lock set. So I spent extra money and time to fix their defective product. I will not buy anything else from this company and hope you save your money and spend it on something else, with a company who cares about their product. 03/14/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 Exactly what I expected The product shipped promptly and arrived as expected. Mine wasn't bent up like some others have posted. The only comment I would have is that I wish the lags screws for the wall were longer as I had to pick up larger ones. Otherwise it is a good product. 03/11/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Gun Storage Cabinet Solid cabinet with easy to follow instructions 12/30/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by not bad Not bad for the price. Descent quality. But a few of the pieces of the metal were bent, and had to be straightened out. Nothing major though 12/27/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 Nice for the Money I bought this for my husband's guns. He is very happy with it. Just take note that if your rifles have a scope on them, they take up two slots. 12/27/2010
1-30 of 96 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew372
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp