See All Reviews
Rated 3.2 out of 5 by 21 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Good concept...bad execution. This is a good idea but it just flops around too much and there is no way to secure the bottom portion. Plus, it uses a zip tie to secure it to the handlebar post. No matter how tight everything is, it still has too much wobble and flop to be of much use. And, I ride almost exclusively on paved bike paths. I'd imagine it would break in about 10 minutes if used on any surface other than smooth pavement. Junk. Avoid it. 07/08/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Flimsy Bicycle Basket I didn't make it out of the store before this broke. The idea is a good one. However, the plastic bracket attaching this to the bike is too cheap and flimsy. I put 1/2 gallon milk and a three pound pack of meat into the basket and it broke. Walmart was great about the refund. Not their fault. This product would be fine if it had a metal bracket attaching it. 10/08/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by BEYONd MY EXPECtATIONS I was weary when I first looked at this item online here because it didn't give me too much information about the product and the price wasn't exactly what I was hoping for but...I am relieved to find that it is exactly what I wanted. It's sturdy, a perfect size-not too big not too small, very simple to attach, and just all around great. To anyone who is hesitant about buying this product-fear not! This product is great and easy to use. I love how I can bike down to my local grocery store and just detach the basket and carry it by its unique carrying handle into the store and when I am done I just click it right back into it's holster. So easy and convenient. 07/30/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Broke during first use. Only good fro VERY LIGHT duty 09/13/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Flimsy I bought this basket at Target, but it's the same one. I needed a basket to carry a bags worth of groceries home from the store. I used it to haul a small load of groceries consisting of a gallon of milk, 6 apples, and enough smaller, light items to fill up the remainder of the space. That load bent the basket badly and I kept expecting it to pop off the mounting hardware the whole time. After a very cautious ride home, I added a bungee cord around the entire basket attached to the handlebars. That helped. However, the force necessary for the bungee to hold the basket up with a load in it was enough to bend the basket back against the mount. I also dropped the bike a couple of times for various reasons and it bent significantly every time. You can bend the metal easily with your hand, though, so I got it back into a reasonable approximation of it's original shape. The clip is fairly flimsy plastic. It never broke on me, but it definitely flexed alarmingly. The screws also stripped the plastic acting as a nut on the other end. The metal basket bends easily and there isn't any particular support right under the mounting point to keep it from bending there. So, it bent there. And the handle kept popping off. The handle is also so narrow and with no padding that it hurts your hand if you're carrying it with a jug of milk in it. Of course, since it won't carry a jug of milk on the bike, perhaps that should have been a sign to me not to try to carry a jug of milk in it at all. I'm not sure what the weight rating is, but it's pitiful. Use this only if the loads you anticipate using it for are extremely light. Do not use it for your groceries. It won't work. 08/28/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Much cheaper in the store. Seriously, nearly $30 online? Oh, no, definitely not worth that much. The last three Wal-Marts I've been into had this same exact basket for $17.95. If you're needing a bike basket in a big hurry, it's probably worth it. (If your needs are a little less urgent than mine were, go to amazon and look at their Wald wire baskets instead and bypass this one entirely.) Just unsnap it from its handlebar fastener and take it right into the grocery store with you. It's flimsy and yet curiously sturdy at the same time. Twice a day, every day, I carry between .5 and 1.5 gallons of ice in a thermos. I've also carried home gallons of milk and bottled water, and various other groceries, including sodas that were rather on the heavy side. Every time I load the basket down like that, I keep wondering if this is the day it will fall apart. But so far it hasn't. (A rear basket would obviously be better for my needs, but my mountain bike can't use a rear rack.) On the other hand, every time my bike falls over the rim of the basket bends and has to be flexed back into an approximation of its original shape. It's a little bit of a struggle now to move the carrying handle into a different position. 08/19/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Half the Price if you buy it in the store I bought this in the store and it was $14. and for that price it definitly does what I want it to. I wouldn't put a case of coke in it, but for general storage it think it fulfills it's purpose. And I found that mine did not wobble as some other people claimed theirs did. You have to remember to tighten the lower support after you have it positioned on your handle bars. 06/04/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Good Idea But It Just Doesn't Work. We bought two of these. This basket is a great idea as it can be removed from the bike by pushing a red button and lifting the basket off of the mount. Unfortunately, it jumps, wobbles and makes racket that I couldn't put up with. Putting a full water bottle in the carrier quieted it down so I got the idea to attach two water bottle cages to the steel mesh of the basket. Even though they were reinforced, the mesh tore through. I removed this basket and replaced it with a wicker one from Walmart. All problems went away and I recommend the wicker basket which was $20 in the store. The wicker unit is simple, quiet and stays put on the bike. This basket is $14 in the store. I do not recommend this metal mesh basket. 07/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great!!! I have had this since September 24th, 2009. I got it with the cranbrook cruiser for my birthday. Bought it instore. installed it. it's great. I love how it snaps off. And it holds alot of weight. books, my purse, a sweatshirt and even my bike lock. I even carried a cake in it once...with out a problem.I live in an area with a lot of bumps too...now I just go slow on the bumps with my stuff in the basket..or else it starts to try and jump out...but thats to be expected. I love it...I dunno what everyone else does with theirs to have it break off with the first use...and I definately didn't use zip ties to attach..it attached with heacy duty plastic brackets and screws...very sturdy. I would suggest buying it in store...not online. 10/08/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by love my basket i've had this basket for six months now and i love it. i attach it to the front of my cruiser. to remove it, i just press a button and the basket releases. to put it back on is super simple. the basket has worked perfectly since i purchased it. it's gone out with me on paved, shell-rock, and even (intermediate) mountain bike trails, and i've had no problems with it. the basket is handy as i can i put my water bottle, sunscreen, and camera in there before i head out. i would definitely recommend it. 12/14/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by i love it...surprised to see so many bad reviews.. Wow, bought this in store (got the white one but will be buying the black one for my other bike) and love it. Its large...I dont but really heave things in it, but can hold a towel, bathing suit, kids toys and a few drinks and mine didnt even wiggle. Have found the release function useful already for taking things from my bike to the beach area. Will say i was confused putting it on until my husband walked over and immediately corrected the installation. Im thinking maybe those who had it fall off were putting it on wrong like I was at first....ps have had it on for 2 months and still love it! 09/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't Buy Online Got this AWESOME bike basket at my Local Wallyworld for just under 15 dollars US... DO NOT BUY ONLINE before checking local store.... Still would be worth the 29 bucks 08/29/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Bike Basket Ever! I have owned two of these and they are great. I carry groceries, my dog on her little pillow in it and tons of other things on my bike. It is sturdy. It has a quick release but I never use it. I love the design of the basket more than any others I have seen out there. 3 tips though. 1) also attach long / thick zip ties from your handle bars to the back of the basket ( closest to your bike ) this keeps it from drooping and gives it extra strength. You can buy black zipties to it looks better. Hold the basket so it it slightly tilted up and pull the zip ties tight. When their is a load in the basket it will then weigh it down and be level instead of drooping. ALL baskets droop and flop with a load in them. Zip ties are key. 2) if you have anything in the basket it can make your bike tip over or make the handle bars spin around so be aware of this 3) if you put a dog in it i wouldn't recommend it for a dog over 7 lbs. I also suggest having a small pillow for the dog to sit on that fits the basket ( I made mine out of a hand towel and pillow stuffing) and put some sort of a liner in the basket (I made one out of some black material and elastic) The liner will keep your dog from getting its nails stuck in the little holes in the basket and they can get their nails stuck in the bottom or the wall if they put their paw up. Last, make sure you attach some sort of mini leash to the basket and your dog's harness clip ( always use a harness not a dog collar, do collars can choke dogs) I had this little "makeshift" seat belt and it helped a lot when a man hit my dog and I on my bike. We were both fine luckily. Def a wonderful basket, get it and some black zip ties :) 08/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great! This is the second one of these I've bought. Last year, I bought one for my two wheeler and this year I bought one for my three wheeler. They are easy to install and fit perfectly on both vehicles. My only complaint is that last year, I paid $19.98 - this year the price had jumped to $29.98 - quite a jump in one year's time. 02/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful and Roomy Way cheaper in Store about half price, it holds more then I thought (usually have bike lock, two drinks, diaper bag and a stuff animal or two, or I go to the farm and get veggies) it would just be helpful if they ever had them in stock my daughters both want one ... Keep in Mind I am not dumb enough to put in a couple gallons of milk and I made sure all connects were tight so it didn't flop around. I also fully inspected to make sure there were no weak spots because some in the store where pretty beat up like some kid jumped on it and wouldn't hold a hair pin 09/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This basket is GREAT. It was fairly easy to install. It IS easy to remove and replace. My girls love these on their bikes. They can pack water, coats, etc. 07/13/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by not strong enough for 2nd grade backpack The basket is great; however, the clips that hold it on are not strong. They broke the first time we used them and only had a child's school pack in the basket. I returned this to Wal Mart and am back to square one on finding a suitable basket for my child's bike. 05/11/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by wire bike basket Not happy with this--It came boxed well--but when we attached to the bike--the plastic bracket broke as qwell as the plastic draw tab--two things broke and I never even got to use the basket 09/17/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Fell apart This basket is HORRIBLE! It took me forever to put it on my bike. It takes two different kind of tools and it didn't fit my bike right- even though I have a standard style bike. I finally got it on right, and even secured it with some rope, just because it didn't look very sturdy. I went to farm fresh and put a small load of groceries in the basket and it immediately fell apart. This basket is a completely total waste of money. 08/28/2009
1-20 of 20 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew363
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp