See All Reviews
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 72 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Vast Improvement AC2 is 10x better than the first. I can't even begin to go into detail there's not enough room to say it all. It gets much deeper into the life and story to the main character and makes you feel like your accomplishing something. New things to do. weapon, armor, maps and medicine shops. Trust me....MUST BUY! 11/22/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing game This is an excellent game. I got it and couldn't put it down. It took about 40 hours of game time to get 100% completion and all of the achievements, and there's sure to be downloadable content. It's beautiful in 1080p, and it has a massive open world to explore, including Florence, Tuscany, Venice, a small part of Rome, and your own family's villa. Leonardo da Vinci creates new weapons for you as you progress, like the flying machine featured on the back cover. The main quest is a blend of 1480s corruption and an underground battle with the Knights Templar that branches into modern day conspiracy theories and even the birth of mankind. If you haven't played the first, however, you'll be a tad confused by the storyline, so make sure you pick that up and play through the main quest first. I can't wait for number 3. 11/30/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pros: - Sandbox style gameplay, in the style of Grand Theft Auto. - Beautiful graphics and sound - Intricate storyline with decent voice acting. - Freestyle climbing/running. Think of the French sport of "parkour" or Mirror's Edge gameplay. Cons: - Although you can play and get into the plotline, I hadn't played the first Assassin's Creed and felt like a fish out of water for the first hour or two. - Controls can be tricky at times, no tutorial for many of the tricks and abilities until later in the game. I realize you can just pick up the manual and read it, but I prefer games that gradually get your feet wet, especially with the variety of button combos you'll be doing. Either/or: - Mature plotline, definitely a game you would want to check out first if your giving it to a younger child. Graphic death scenes, bloody fights, swearing, etc. Follow the game parental ratings for guidance and you'll be fine. - Some of the missions are forced to be repeated until you complete them. I don't like having my hand forced and it was annoying getting stuck in a racing mission and failing repeatedly, with no option but to restart as you re-synchronize in the game. Again, maybe I was missing something in regards to skipping it so I didn't list it as a "con". All in all a really enjoyable game, would highly recommend. 01/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by An Amazingly awesome product! Assassins Creed 2 is the BEST new game of 2009! It has so many new features that its predecessor failed to have, and what it did have, they either got rid of it, or fixed it. This game is a MUST buy! 11/28/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT Game Awsome game, loved it. Can't wait for number 3. They really leave ya hanging. 12/12/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceptional Stunning visuals and an extrondinary story. Games of this caliber only come around so often. Fluid controls allow you to immerse yourself in the gameplay. The plot is mastefully told. A must have. 12/08/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 Historically accurate and great fun besides I'm normally a hardcore fan of shooters, but Assassin's Creed 2 intrigued me. I picked it up curious and came away thrilled. First off the story relies too much on the "carrot on the stick" ploy, but the voice acting and complete backstory helps pick up the slack. The gameplay is the real meat of the game; the free running is smooth, incredibly lifelike, and incredibly satisfying as you jump across the sloping rooftops of Venice. The combat is, unfortunately, a little on the soft side. The enemies are moronic but agressive enough for you to actually pay attention, and gives you plenty of oppurtunity to experiment with the plethora of moves, weapons, and gear that you unlock throughout the course of the game. The economic system in the form of the villa is a nice touch as well, and the side missions, while lacking variety, are nonetheless entertaining. The presentation is phenomenal; while texture popping is a problem, being able to scale Renaissance era cathedrals, weave through lifelike Venice and Florence, and meet historical figures like Niccolo Machiavelli and Rodrigo Borgia (i.e. Pope Alexander VI) never gets old. Anyone who's looking for something original in gaming should definitely look into Assassins Creed 2. It has its problems, but at the end of the day, its attention to detail and unique brand of gameplay are what will keep you engrossed in the game. Nothing is true, everything is permitted. :) 06/11/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by good gaming product I bought this game for my son and he loves it. 12/13/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by My son loves it! This game is the second in the series. And my teenagers love it. 12/05/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Assassins Creed 2 > Assassins Creed 1 If you LOVED Assassins Creed 1 then you'll also probably LIKE Assassins Creed 2. Assassins Creed 1 blew me away. I feel it set the standard for how all future 3rd person "sandbox" rpgs should be formatted on several levels. Unfortunately, In my opinion this game came out 1 year later than it should have. Alot can happen in the world of entertainment in 1 year let alone 2. The gaming community evolves slightly faster than the speed of bandwidth. There were many 3rd person rpgs that entered the next generation console gaming community after the first Assassins Creed that left this game's arrival with a somewhat bland taste in my gaming pallet. Plenty of variations to the initial game play format were satisfying and enthralling and also kept this game current with today's rpg community's next generation console tastes, but the symmetrical, pungent, and thought provoking impact caused during the first game's story plot's unraveling to climax was not quite as present in this game. The story was dull and ordinary in the beginning and then got more interesting as it progressed, but never really seemed to captivate and excite me outside of a "completionist" level throughout its duration, although it did succeed in ending in a manner that built anticipation towards the 3rd Assassins Creed video-game, but having arrived 1 year later than it probably should have caused its overall plot impact to be somewhat shallow, almost predictable, and slightly exhausted (past its prime). All in all this game was plenty of fun and still possessed a vast gameplay improvement from the first game, but maybe its just asking/looking for too much from this and future games in this franchise to have as great an impact as the 1st part of this saga did in 2007. 07/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Delivery I cannot comment on the product but I can comment on the service. I would much rather pay a couple dollars for delivery and know that my merchandise is going to arrive at my hassle, no crowds, no travel..within a reasonable time. I appreciate that so much! I work 14 hours a day and do not have time to shop. is wonderful. Thanks so much! 12/21/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by What is the fuss about I cannot figure out what all the excitement and excellent reviews were about with this game. The story was about something you would expect from Dave Brown (e.g., Templars, Catholics, bad linear puzzles), the graphics were just so-so, and most importantly the game play was abysmal. Many, many controls to learn…but not really. Just chose a couple, stick with them and Ta Da, game over – where is the vaulted combat variety? The control implementation also results in feeling like you are watching the game not playing. Non responsive – yep that’s the word. The AI and gaming ruleset is baffling. Don’t knife someone as that’ll get you a bad rep, but it is okay to pick guards up and drop them off the roof onto other guards. No one cares if you kill folks as long as you do it in a public fashion. Yech… This was disappointing. Exceptionally disappointing. 01/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lots of enzio fun 12/05/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome GAME!! This game has a mix of historical events, Italian culture, conspiracies, action, blood, guts and gore. If you like games where your in control and there is always a mission to complete, then you will never get bored of this game. The special effects are great and the story line is well constructed. You can even learn different methods of becoming the ultimate assassin. Anyone playing this game would be pleased. 02/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by christmas presents I bougt this game for my husband for christmas he seems to like it constanly playen it everyday haha..its pretty good for the price 01/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by It was a Christmas gift for my son. He seems to enjoy playing it. I was given a list of games he would like to chose from by him, so it would be unfair for me to say it was a fantastic game go out and buy it immediately. He usually only chooses games that are in the upper tier of games so I think it would be safe to say most guys would like it. 12/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by overall this is a great game. it is much better then the first one. unlike the first this does not repeat like the first did. there is not much that takes place in the present time but what there is is awesome. 11/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by This game is awsome buy it and love it better than the first one total greatness. 07/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fun and Addictive Game This game is very fun and addictive. I didn't think I would enjoy the game as much as I did but it is very fun. I enjoy the climbing and running on roof tops in the game. The game is long. The only thing with the game that may disappoint some is that there is no online play but even so the game is a must buy. 07/11/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cheap and amazing A game thats very fun and addictive. Fixes most of the flaws that the first game had. Not sure why it was so much cheaper online and new than in the store, but you cant beat this game for under $25. 07/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Game Bought this for my boyfriend, he loved the game. He has completed the game. There are many different aspects to this game, it really is quite involved. 06/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love this game This game is a blast to play, it has a great story, great weapons and silently taking out opponents always brings a smile to my face. 06/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome So good it hurts, Assassin's Creed II improves on the original's great formula with improved combat, storytelling, and graphics. If you liked the original game or games like Prince of Persia, ACII is a must. 06/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Loved it This is really a good game series, and if you didn't finish or even try AC1, you can still enjoy AC2 without worry. AC2 is a very image intensive and beautiful environment, and quests and weapons have improved. There are more enemies, more tasks and side quests, and much more to see. I awaited this game release with joy and when it came out I was very impressed. I can't believe the price has already fallen to less then $30.00, because I would still pay 49.99 for it today. Give it a try, If you love wide open spaces and scavenger hunt type games, you will love this. 05/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 Great GAme I was anxious to play this game, I beat the first one and enjoyed it very much. Then waited for the second one to come out so i could continue the story. I am happy with the game, but sometimes your character just randomly does what he wants, like climbing things or jumping off when you dont want. But overall a Great game. 05/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent game! The first Assassin's Creed game was simply AWESOME, with the cliffhanger ending it left us fans dying for more. Well, thank God we god more. Assassin's Creed 2 is amazing, story is great, graphics are stunning, game-play is phenomenal. The ending is yet another cliffhanger, and leaves us wanting yet another sequel! CAN'T WAIT FOR ASSASSIN'S CREED 3!!! 04/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great It was a good game its more action packed then the first one but still I would recommend this game to anyone 04/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by game very entertainingi 04/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by assassins creed 2 This game is EPIC!!! It is way better than the first game. Everything is awesome and I would buy it now. 03/21/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome game This game was very well made. It was even better than the first Assassin's Creed. There were so many improvements to the game and the story line was advanced while still providing new mysteries. I'm so excited for Assassin's Creed III. 03/05/2010
1-30 of 47 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.