Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 18 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product! This kit is fantastic! In less than an hour we prepared 5 fresh foods for our 4 mo-old son who is just starting solids. The kit comes with 2 fresh food storage trays, we purchased 2 additional trays to be able to make more food, less often. The book is extremely helpful, we haven't watched the DVD because the book was great. All you need is a regular blender or a food processor, a microwave or a regular pot with a steamer basket, and your fruits or veggies. We followed the recipes, but cut them in half to make just one tray of each food, and steamed fresh veggies in the microwave. You pour the cooked, pureed food into the trays, chill for a few hours, and then pop them out like ice cubes and store in freezer bags for up to 2 months. It's so unbelievably easy! Our son has tried 3 veggies so far and loves them, even peas, which usually don't go over well! It's safer, healthier, and so inexpensive to prepare your own food. We already buy many veggies and fruits for our home. For $1 we prepared one week's worth of sweet potatoes. I highly recommend this product! 03/05/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by I love the ice cube trays! I love the cube trays. I freeze the food overnight, then put it in a labeled freezer bag. It makes getting meals ready a snap. The book is a very nice book with lots of helpful information but not right for me. All the recipes are for microwaving baby food and I chose to use a steamer instead. I bought a steamer at walmart for a good price and it retains all the vitamins and nutrients. I still use the book as a reference to which foods I should introduce next. The video looks outdated but it is still helpful. If you don't plan on microwaving the baby food I would recommend just buying the cube trays and getting some baby food books from the library or online. 06/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fresh Baby Food in a Flash! When my son was born, I hesitated to even think about making my own baby food when the time came to start him on solids. I work a full time job, my kitchen is small, I want to spend my free time with him, I'm not sure how to do this: my excuses varied depending on the day, but I was not convinced this was something I wanted to do or had time to do. Then, I found the So Easy Baby Food Kit, I made my first batch of sweet potatoes and I've never looked back. This kit truly makes the process simple with its cookbook and freezer trays. I really only do spend 30 minutes a week making and freezing his food. I know my child is eating nutritious meals without artificial ingredients. And, best of all, I'm saving money! To all those moms out there that think they are too busy to make their baby's food, give the So Easy kit a try. It really is as easy as it claims. 06/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Truly, So Easy The Fresh Baby - So Easy Baby Food Kit makes it so simple to make your own baby food at home. The cookbook tells you everything you need to know from what kinds of fruits and veggies are appropriate for the age of your baby to how to cook and store the food. Making your own baby food will save you so much money rather than buying store-bought baby food jars. I used the Fresh Baby Food Kit with my son when he was a baby and am now using it with my infant daughter. As a toddler, my son is not a picky eater and I believe it's because I introduced him to a variety of fresh homemade baby food as a baby. (You won't find black bean baby food in jars, but make it at home and it has proven to be a favorite with both my kids!) Plus, I continue to use this baby food-making knowledge to "hide" veggies in my son's (and husband's) everyday meals. I can't say enough good about this product! 09/21/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy, cost-effective and healthy for your baby! With my first baby I was so intimidated by the thought of making my own baby food, ESPECIALLY since I was working full-time. A friend gifted this to me and I'm so glad! It really IS quick and easy and I know exactly what my kids are eating. I'm on baby #2 and I still love this product! The cook book gives super-easy instructions for making the food (um, microwave and blender...could it be simpler?!) and the stage-by-stage guide for foods for baby is an incredible reference for me. If you're hesitant to try this with your baby, just take a stroll down the baby food aisle and read the backs of the jars. Sure, there really aren't a lot of weird ingredients on there (meaning, mostly it is FOOD), but have you seen how many of the jarred 3rd foods have carrots as one of the main ingredients? Nothing wrong with carrots, but I didn't realize I was giving them to my kids 3x a day. It's really nice to know exactly what your kids are eating with this system. If you're like me, you're thinking, "I'll just get the cookbook instead of the kit and some $1 ice cube trays from the grocery and use those instead." Tried that. I covered them in both plastic wrap and foil and I could not get as good of a seal as the green lids, even with rubber bands holding it in place. Plus then I couldn't stack them very well (I like to make many trays worth at once and I don't have a lot of freezer space). Not to mention all the wasted plastic wrap and foil! That really cut my savings down with all that waste. The trays are integral to the ease-of-use of this system. I even bought 2 more so I could make even more food at once! The DVD was really helpful to ease my fears about this being complicated or something that only a stay-at-home mom with tons of time could do. When they say 30 minutes a week, they mean it! I'd even say the 30 minutes includes clean-up. This is a great gift for yourself or a friend and I plan on getting it for my sister to use with her new baby. I'd pass mine along to her but it's such a great product I'm hanging on to it! 06/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ingenious I was very iffy when my wife mentioned that she planned on making the majority of our infants food, but my opinions quickly changed when we introduced this system. Their recipe manual is helpful and the covered trays work great. Yes you could probably do this with a normal Ice tray, but these seem to be built much stronger, and have a sealing lid to protect flavors and keep bacteria out. You can use their recipe guide to go much further on your own. We currently freeze butternut squash, peas, carrots, broccoli, green beans, apples, pears, chicken and veggies, and so much more. If you can blend it, you can freeze it. And the best thing is, they are perfectly portioned in 1oz portions, that about 40 seconds on the microwave defrost setting revives easily. We very rarely buy baby food, unless its in an emergency or when traveling. This would make a great gift for the new or expecting mom! 08/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love Love LOVE I was so stressed about making my daughters baby food. I spent endless hours online and reading tons of books, it just became overwhelming. This was my last option and I feel so much better about it now!! 05/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT!! Baby loves it! My baby absolutely LOVES these things!! She just gnaws away at them.. I am guessing they feel really good on her gums bc she just drools like crazy when she has them in her mouth! A def must have for any teething baby! 07/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just received it in the mail today. The book alone is totally worth it. Just started making some baby food using the book. Have to wait till tomorrow to see how well the food comes out of the freezer trays but i watched the video and it looked like they just slide right out. 04/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Frequent & Easy This is a great product. I like the recipe book and guide on when to feed certain foods based on age. That's the most helpful. The trays are great, never had a problem like other users' reviews. All my frozen cubes popped out so quick. The key is to twist, bend, and flip over the trays straight into a freezer bag. Cleans so quick. LOVE IT!! I need more trays, and I'll buy one as a gift for my sister's baby. 01/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very easy and simple I borrowed this set from my cousin when I had my first baby. Then when my second baby came she also had a young baby. Knowing how much I loved this I had to buy my own. I love the ice cube trays with lids so it keeps out the bacteria from your freezer. Such an easy and way more inexpensive way to make baby food. 04/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by LOVE LOVE LOVE Love this product. The instructions and recipes are awesome and it really is sooo easy to make your own baby food. The only problem is that you will want to buy an additional set of trays because the recipes say it will make 2 trays worth (24 cubes), but I always get at least 3-4 trays worth of food following the instructions which is actually better because then you're not making purees as often. Very fun and easy...I work full time and making my baby's food really isn't much extra work at all. Sooo worth it! 12/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I was just going to buy the trays for storing expressed breastmilk but when I saw this kit, it seemed like a much better value. My son is only 9 weeks old currently so I haven't used the recipe book or the trays for storing purees yet but I did flip through the book when I got it and the recipes are all very quick and easy. Would definitely recommend to someone looking to store milk and/or purees. 09/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very organized! This was very helpful. The book is very organized and tells you which foods they can eat at how many months, which foods go well together, and exactly how to make it. I make enough for probably 2 or 3 weeks in one hour. The trays are very helpful too. You can buy ice cube trays, but they make a mess and you cannot stack them on top of each other.... My freezer space is limited. So I purchased 3 extra sets of trays. 06/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product! My step sister recommended this and I tried it for the first time last week - it really does take 30 minutes or less and I have enough for at least a month - maybe more! 06/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Must-Have We got this as a gift (along with 2 extra trays/lids) when our daughter was just about to start solids, because our friend knew I was planning to make my own purees. Almost 30 years ago, my own mother used regular ice cube trays to freeze fresh purees for me, but having the lids made the freezing process (I could easily stack the trays on top of each other) and storage (turn the trays upside down and run under some warm water just enough to loosen the cubes) much, much easier, and knowing each cube is 1 ounce is a big help. The book was an incredibly helpful resource not only in preparing the fruits and veggies, but also in timing and selection, and I never once touched the DVD. I really like that so many different foods are included; my mother was shocked to see my daughter eating avocado at six months old! The ability to store the cubes in space-saving freezer bags makes it easy to always have your child's favorite food on hand, or you can save the dislikes to try again in a few weeks, either alone or mixed with something else. Our daughter has moved on to table food, but we're holding onto this system for our next child. When it's actively in use, I used it once a week or so, planning on an hour to make at least a week's worth of purees. (Just a note: not liking a puree does NOT mean your child won't like the food at all. My daughter hated pureed peas and green beans, but likes them whole now.) 06/12/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by It Made it so my storing went 10x faster its really a great product for anyone who wants to make baby food at home. I highly recommend it! 08/25/2009
1-18 of 18 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw286
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp