See All Reviews
Lifetime 73729 48" Shatter Guard Backboard and Rim Combo
Lifetime 73729 48" Shatter Guard Backboard and Rim Combo
$104.00
List Price: $199.99
You Save: $95.99 (48%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 20 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Product is ok for the price I bought the Lifetime Shatter Guard Backboard and Rim Combo (and seperately purchased the Universal Mounting Bracket from Lifetime as Walmart did not carry the bracket) and thought the instructions were ok and it was fairly easy to install. It is an ok value for the money but I was a little disappointed in the clear plastic backboard material - it was thin and doesn't give a great bounce of the basketball since it seems to flex too much. In hindsight I wish I would have spent more to get a better quality backboard. 05/28/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Needed for my kid to practice layups correctly. I needed a backboard that would rebound the ball correctly or close to it. We had an old backboard that would absorb the ball and wouldn't bounce correctly off the backboard. This backboard makes the all the crazy layups we practice transfer right to the games at REC center or school. Dosn't come with mounting kit, but I didn't need it because it fit right onto my current mounts. 08/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent product The backboard was just as described. The optional bracket assembly made installation easy. All parts were enclosed...nothing missing. Shipping was prompt and actually a day early. I had the product shipped to the local store, and they sent an e-mail upon its arrival. Very satisfactory transaction. One hint...attach the mounting bracket to the backboard and put up as a complete unit. 12/25/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Beware There are no brackets to attach this backboard to anything, you will need to purchase the mounting brackets also. 04/17/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice goal, put everything ok from directions. Took about 45mins. Also I all ready had bracklet to mount to pole. You need this doesn't come with goal. 07/06/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by nice looking backboard Loooks great. Can't rate it above a 3 because the last one from Lifetime broke under normal play necessitating this purchase. I almost just cut a board out of plywood to replace the broken one, and still wonder if that would have been a better idea given the price of the replacement and the fact that my rim was still in perfect condition. However, the new one looks nice and performs well. One warning, as with most instructions these days, the directions were not always easy to follow and sometimes not completely accurate. It really would behoove you to take an inventory of all the parts and match them to the lame illustrations in the directions before you actually start putting it together. Also, take some photos of the old set-up before dismantling it and starting on the new equipment. All in all good product. Just wish it was not so pricey and hope it lasts a long time. 01/20/2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Clear or Glare The backboard and hoop with the adjustable height mounting system (sold separately) are quite nice. But never having had a clear backboard outside, the smears on the glass and the glare at certain times from the sun, are difficult. A solid backboard or one with a etching on the back would be better. 11/22/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good backboard for the price We replaced a cheaper and broken backboard of Lifetime with this one and so far it is fun to play with it. For the price paid, it is good quality. You need to bear in mind that you need the mounting kit in case you do not have one. Only challenge was that the provided springs for the rim are too long and did not fit the original Lifetime mounting kit I had. We used the older springs and it works well with it too. Overall good product, lots of fun to play. 06/10/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by It didn't fit my need. This product should only be sold as a package with one of their mounting kits. It mounts totally different from other makes and it must have the special braces that come with their mounting kit. When comparing it to other makes I find the overall quality to be poor. The other makes are much better designs and are better quality. 05/21/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by awful. simply awful. Just took the backboard out of the packaging, what a flimsy material. There is no way this is shatter proof; it's like a lightweight plastic dinner plate or something. Packing it up for a return to WalMart. Likely the last time I ever buy a Lifetime product again, what a waste of my time. 12/28/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product. This was the 1st time I had used the site to store shipping option. I was impressed with it and will be using that option again. 09/05/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value This is a good backboard and rim for the price. I like the metal frame and the overall sturdiness of the unit. I bought this to replace an old Lifetime backboard that was falling apart after 10 years. The Y bracket from the old backboard fit this new one, but it took me a few minutes to figure it out. It connects a little differently on this metal frame than on the plastic frame of our old backboard. A couple of the difficulties I had when assembling this were 1) getting the nuts started on the U bolt when attaching the rim. The springs took up most of the length of the U bolt, so there was very little thread showing to start the nuts on. So I had to use a piece of wood to push the springs down in order to get the nuts started on the U bolt, and 2) there were no pre-drilled holes in the metal frame of the backboard for the screws that hold the bumper guards in place. The screws are self tapping, so they can drill their way through the metal, but you have to push fairly hard and run your power driver for a while to get the screws to drill through. But once the unit is assembled, it is solid and looks nice. The kids are happy with it. 03/16/2016
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid, well made Searching online at Lifetime I was encouraged to 'call' to verify that it would fit my existing portable goal, as a replacement backboard. Called, chatted, emailed photos of the base and height adjustment, etc. Mandee was very helpful and prompt with a thumbs up. It is tricky to install just because it is big, slightly awkward. All the right pieces and parts. Solid backboard. 07/28/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Cheap backboard luckily I bought this for my sons room and not to play on for real. The backboard is very thin and has only two support beams in the middle. If the ball hits the center of the square it make a huge thud. Poor design...Buy for novelty only. 07/15/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice hoop for kids I ordered this backboard on-line to replace the shatterproof backboard that we had that, ironically, had cracked in half when my 7 year old son through the ball hard at the hoop. Installing the rim to the backboard was simple with the exception of the fact that the "axle" as they call it for the rim was too short, a trip to Lowes to buy a 6 inch bold took care of that. The mount assembly was also easy to install until I went to hang it on the pole. Yep, we had a 7 year old square pole and the mounting system only was compatible with a round pole. After 3 weeks and visits to about 7 hardware and automotive supply stores looking for 4 inch square U-bolts, I found somebody that could fabricate the U-bolts for me. Once I had the U-bolts, I was able to hang the backboard and mount assembly in 5 minutes by myself with my wife securing the 4 lock nuts on the U-Bolts. My 4 kids and several of the neighborhood kids (all under 10 years old) have countless hours of fun. I do know that when the kids get in their teen years, I will have to upgrade this hoop. *Advice-If you retrofit this hoop to a square pole, get the U-Bolts before you ever bother to open the mounting system box or the backboard box. It was very frustrating and the Customer Service team at Lifetime didn't seem to understand why it would make sense that the company provided the option for square u-bolts vs only round U-bolts. Overall, I would do it again vs purchasing an entire system. 06/12/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Quality seems to be lacking. I would recommend this product only if the customer has good mechanical skills. Using stamped metal to secure a square neck bolt for tightening is not good quality. I had to disassemble it to "rebend" the stamped edge to prevent the bolt from spinning when tightening. Also the pivot axle for the "Slam-it" Pro Rim is too short. Star washers are to be pressed onto the axle, however, they can't be since it doesn't reach all the way through the rim properly. I made my own. I've rated this product as only fair due to the fact the ball seems to bounce off the backboard good. 05/20/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice replacement backboard easy to install Neighborhood kid broke the old backboard with a rock so I ordered new replacement backboard. Backboard was easy to put up in a couple hours. 11/19/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 As Advertised A couple things: 1. The old and new materials fit together perfectly. 2. Materials have improved. When I first pulled the backboard out of the box, it seemed quite flimsy. It shores up once its installed and anchored to the backboard and sounds solid enough when the ball bounces off of it. 3. Delivery time was very short, just a couple days. I had mentioned it was for my son's b-day a few days away and I got the impression they rushed the order. I appreciated the fast service. 4. Honestly, the hardest part of the installation was disconnecting the 15-year old rusted bolts. Definitely a DIY if your mechanically inclined. 5. I refrain from giving 5 stars when ultimate performance is a product of how long something lasts. So far, so good. Overall, pleased with the service and the product. 01/21/2013
  • 2016-03-24 T07:32:42.923-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_20, tr_20
  • loc_en_US, sid_10975714, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-19 of 19 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw471
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp