Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 31 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the Price! I am very happy with my trekking poles! For under $20 I purchased these poles 2 hours before my first hike; 10 mile round trip hike in North GA mountains. For the price they worked VERY well; they are twist locking and adjustable; one pole carried me up & down some difficult hills and helped me balance my solid 265 lb body. I was kicking myself that I only took one of the two poles, however, I was grateful with the one I took on the hike! Very strong and durable for the price; tip of poles have rubber caps for smooth surfaces or you can take off caps for rough terrain , I even got compliments from hikers for the bright blue "high tech" look. Great buy. 11/23/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent product without breaking the bank I am very happy with the trekking poles I purchased. They are a great value and work wonderfully. I was happy that they came in two in a pack which makes the value even more. You can get better poles but you have to spend around a hundred dollars a set. I would definitely recommend these to a friend. I bought this set for my wife and have had my first set for several months and they still work great. 07/02/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Pleasant Surprise I have to admit to having low expectations from a discount pair of trekking poles, but several hiking buddies suggested that I try a pair and I was unwilling to fork over 4-5 times the cost for big-name poles that might end up in the back of my closet after a single use. That said, however, I was completely blown away by my first experience. Within the first mile, I found my rhythm and really began reaping the benefits in upper body workout and balance that can be gained using trekking poles. When we made camp I compared my set with some hign-end titanium poles, only to find that there was almost no weight difference, and that my grips were actually much better designed than the more expensive model. The rubber tips are a subjective choice, as some prefer points to achieve more positive grip. Not having tried the alternative, I'm very satisfied with the quieter rubber. The slight spring in these poles was also a welcome feature and really absorbed shocks well. The only downside was a slight internal rattle when the poles made ground contact. Even with everything tightened securely, they still made some noise. On the plus side, at least the bears can hear me coming. I can't wait to see how these hold up over the long haul, but this is one case of an excellent value at an unbelievable price. 09/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by comes in handy brought this for my boyfriend when we go hiking,now he doesnt take all day finding a stick to use. We can just go on our way.LOL 04/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Saved from fall I have only used these trekking poles once, but they saved me from a nasty fall. On a recent overnight hike, in the Shenandoah National Park, I was crossing a stream when I slipped. I slammed the end of the one of the poles down on a rock. The end of the pole hit the rock and did not move or bend preventing my 200 lbs and pack from going into the stream. I was really surprised to fell the shock absorbing spring work like the more expensive poles. These inexpensive poles worked better than I ever expected. 10/12/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product I purchased 2 of the poles with the camlocks before a week long trip to the Porcupine Mountains - the first time I used them the locks kept slipping and didn't hold their height. On the next trip to town I found these and picked them up. These are 500% better! Went through 10 hours of VERY strenuous hiking with MANY steep inclines and declines. These polls held up very well, and the height never slipped once. Don't even bother looking at the poles with the camlocks - these are less expensive and a better product! 05/20/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Value I recently used these poles to hike the classic 4 day Inca Trail to Machu Picchu. They had all of the features of much more expensive poles (like on/off anti shock springs) but at about 1/3 the price. They did their job without a problem, and at this price already paid for themselves, but I expect I will get much more use out of them. The only complaint is that the rubber tips are a little thin and wore away by day 4 of the trek. Not a big deal, though, as I bought Leki tips to replace them and they fit perfectly. Highly recommended. 05/10/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bang for this stick! Yes, you can recover your full investment with these. I have used it on Devil's Path & Blackhead range in the Catskills. This was recommended by a seasoned hiker and I got it at a walmart store in CT. Pros: - Have a slight shock absorber - Light weight - Nice grip - 2 adjustments according to height & terrain Cons: - The straps on the handle can be a big rough in the beginning. - The twist to tighten the pole can be a bit frustrating at times and it does need to be tightened quite hard. I will not go hiking without these. 10/13/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Hiking Poles Although these don't have a compass on them (that I never used) like the former Walmart poles, they seem to have a better twist lock mechanism and definitely a better look than the former red colored poles. I off-loaded the former set to a Yosemite Hiker for $10 and bought these beauties for $18. I am pleased with the upgrade. Can't wait to give them a try! This seems to be the buy of the decade at Walmart! 10/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sweet trekking poles These poles far exceed my expectations. I got them for an upcoming Mt. Whitney trip and they are holding up great! I have yet to use them on the trip but they have already logged over 12 training miles on them. Great deal, sturdy product, and well worth it. Slightly heavier than I prefer but the money I saved makes up for it. 09/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worked Great I used these poles on a 4 day backpack trip were I traversed trough rock fields, sand, and marsh. They held up and I am still guessing they will work for future hikes. 07/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I needed This is my first pair of trekking poles and I'm very pleased. I walk through my very hilly neighborhood and they help me maintain a steady pace on the uphill climbs. Prior to my purchase, I did some research online which helped me decide. 07/11/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent value Excellent price for a very good pair of walking sticks. I would prefer a softer handle but for the price, it's a great value. I've got two other pairs at another location one of which is another set of Walmart sticks. My wife prefers them to the other expensive set we got from LL Bean. 06/21/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good I bought these, and for the price they are the best (and only) that you can get. I like how you twist them into place. My main problem with them is that they are heavy, like a pound each. Overall, definitely good. 06/09/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by These poles need snow baskets On the first trek with these poles, one of the baskets fell off (one of my hiking friends found it in the snow). But WalMart needs to start selling alternative baskets for these poles, especially snow baskets 01/10/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by These trekking poles worked great in the Grand Canyon and were very well built and economical. 11/27/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wow, so impressed. I am new to this whole hiking thing, and was looking for a set of hiking poles which were not $100,000, well me's found them here, these blue things get the entire job done and more. Today i am so inspired to share my opinion i have shaved sleep because of it. I hiked Mt. Washington today, did not summit, but thats because of other gear issues. These poles however truly made the climb possible. Since i am an amateur, i did not buy crampons, ice ax, rope or anything which could come of possible value... except for these. I would dig my feet into the ground and place all my weight on ONE of these poles, they held the weight really really well. I would then hold my weight over the pole and give my feet a chance to ground themselves once again, further up the ravine. I had a 40 pound pack and myself. I gained an elevation of at least 2000 ft doing this. If you are looking for a good set of great lightweight, solid, adjustable poles, i have yet to see the reason in buying anything else but these. Happy Hiking 03/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far so good These work great so far. We had bought the Swiss Gear poles and they didn't lock; we returned them to the store and ordered these instead. Works well and the locks are good. We're not serious hikers though, and have only used them for moderate trails. 10/27/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by No way good for hikings !!! First time I've tried these on a hike (it was a more difficult one than the usual) they dissapointed me in every way. The baskets were dropping every 100 yards, one of the poles bent and the twisting mechanism to the other broke and was no longer holding. They made my hike a nightmare. Instead of taking care of my safety, I had to babysit these poles. I've retuned these into broken pieces and the store accepted them. Thumb's up for this! And the only reason I'm not rating these with 1 star is because they are good enough for walking (only). In the meanwhile I've bought Komperdell poles and used them intensively. I had no problems with these ones. Huge difference in quality. 08/22/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent inexpensive poles These are surprisingly nice hiking poles. Excellent build quality and seem sturdy; and yes, you do get two poles for the price. Have not had any problems with them but I must admit to being a little apprehensive about the strength of the clamping mechanism on the pole extensions; it feels as though it may wear more quickly than might be desirable. So far, so good, however. Very pleased with this purchase. 08/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for the money I expected to pay upwards of $100 for a pair of trekking sticks, but I found these for $18.99. They performed just fine. The biggest challenge was figuring out how to twist them tight enough so they wouldn't collapse, but not tight enough to break them. Overall they are a great value. Next time, I will wear gloves because I got blisters on both thumbs. 05/01/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great!!! These walking poles are great. I need help walking after having a stroke and these poles work wonderfully. Using them allows me to take longer walks and I love it. Great product. Thanks Wal-Mart. 03/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very helpful product I purchased my poles in Sept.09 and they have helped me walk away the pounds. My co-worker and I walk four days a week as part of our fitness routine. We love them!!!!!!! People are always asking where can they purchase a pair of those poles. Ladies, these poles are great for toning your arms and getting that waistline back. They're not just for hiking. 01/27/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Overweight product If this product weighted less and had cork handles it would be more favorable. For serious walking I like your Sportline XC550 walking poles , at about the same price, much better. I wish Walmart would market the Sportline XC 570 walking poles with the cork handles too. Walmart should offer replacement tips for all their walking sticks, as these soon wear out. 10/26/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great value I've been doing city walking 3 times a week and wanted to try trekking poles without spending a lot of money. The price for this pair was very reasonable and just what I was searching for. I chose the site to store shipping option and saved even more money. While you cannot put your full weight on these adjustable trekking poles, they help with balance and walking pace. My walking buddy has tried them and wants a pair, too. 09/18/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Light wieght and work great 07/27/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bargain I had one of these and the cork handle unraveled but when I returned it to Eddie Bauser I found it had a life time warranty. They no longer carried it so gave me a refund and I found these at walmart, the same thing and 2 for the price I paid for one. I use the stick to help me walk for I am disabled, it is esp. helpful in places like a movie theater because my 3 prong cane is too big. 07/25/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hiking Staffs These staffs are just what I expected for a good price. I purchased other staffs and am sorry I didn't find these first. 06/17/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by It's what you pay for I was looking for poles to give me stability while roller skating outdoors. I didn't want to spend a lot of money as I wasn't sure poles were something I'd continue to use. These were not expensive and adjustable - just what I was looking for. I gave them 4 stars as they are what I was looking for. They are NOT going to support a lot of weight. They are made of lightweight materials. I'm a short, small woman so they work for me. They provide me the stability I was looking for. They come with 2 diferent tips but little instructions as to which tip is for what surface. The hand grips & straps are handy. The length is easily adjustable. 04/23/2009
1-30 of 30 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw368
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp