Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 210 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Weight limit This is manufactured by Walker Edison. I called them and found that the top bunk should hold 250 pounds. You can verify this by going to their website and calling them directly. http://www.walkeredison.com Now I can read my grandson a bedtime story without breaking the bed! 07/21/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by This bed is awsome I have two boys one is 14 and the other is ten. They share a room and had two twin beds in the room at first. My husband and I wanted to give our boys more room. We looked at a lot of different beds and found the best value at Walmart.com. We chose to do site to store to avoid shipping cost which was a very nice experience. I was surprised to find that the beds came in one big package so a truck is needed to bring them home. The beds were very easy to put together and had very easy instructions to read. The beds were put together within two hours. My boys love their new beds and the extra room it gave them. I would recommend this bed to anyone who is looking for bunk beds. 09/27/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by A very nice product We got this for 14 and 18 year-old boys. They were very happy with the bunk beds and were surprised that they could easily fit on these twin sized mattresses. Advice: Read the instructions and make sure you assemble the pieces in the CORRECT placement, as in the illustrations...otherwise you will have to take it apart and re-assemble the thing! Also, you may want to leave the ladder off, until AFTER you have installed the mattress, in the lower bed. 03/08/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by good value, confusing instructions this bed is working out well for us, but assembly was a little confusing. make sure you plan which side of the bed you want the ladder on and assemble accordingly. when the instructions say the ladder can go on "either side" it means either side head or foot of the bed, NOT either side left or right. 09/22/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Perfect Fit! I am really happy I decided to go with this purchase rather than the other bunk beds I almost went with. Not only is the price extremely competitive, it looks great and has a comfortable space for the bottom bunker to sit up without bumping his or her head. My kids are 7 and 8. My son has opted to take the bottom, while my daughter is going to have the top bunk. It isn't too terribly high to the ceiling so she has space to sit up too. The way this works is that the bottom bunk is lower to the floor... but still has reasonable space below to store stuff if need be. The only critique I have about this bed is that I had placed one of the bars upside down and had to fix it. It was a beast to put together and even more challenging to correct a mistake once made. I ended up scratching the bed frame trying to fix it, but it still looks amazing. I highly recommend getting this bunk bed. I also encourage you to read through the instructions completely before you start putting it together- this way, you can see what the next steps look like and plan ahead, rather than have to fix disastrous errors later. :D 10/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A perfect bunk bed for older children I bought this bed because while reading the reviews I noticed that each bed holds 250 lbs. I have two teen boys - 17 - and most bunks don't hold this much weight. It has a streamlined look and being black would go with any masculine room. Not only that but the beds look good separate as well as together. I am thoroughly pleased with this purchase. 03/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent!!! (One problem with instructions-read) Absolutely excellent product - low price, light weight, sturdy, modern, easy to assemble. The height between the beds is good enough: a child doesn't feel squished and grown up sits comfortably on the first bed. The item was delivered to our doors within couple of days even though we didn't pay for fast delivery. I'm very pleased with this bed!!! The only word of caution: there is a small problem with the instructions: when it talks about the long sides of the bed it doesn't say in the beginning which way to turn the long panel. So we assumed that any way would be O.K. Only when it came to instructions of assembling the ladder it mentioned the importance of which way the panel should be turned - with the correct wholes DOWN, otherwise you would need to do what we did - to disassemble the whole second bed in order to turn the panel "H" the right way. So be careful, read from the END to the beginning in order to make sure that you understand how and which side you want the ladder to be on and hopefully you won't repeat our sad experience. 08/10/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Buy and line up help with the clip install Looks good as promised. Happy overall and accurate measurements meant it fits where intended. Few considerations: the plastic snap in holders for the mattress bars are unable to be inserted by anyone not very, very strong!! A hammer cannot substitute, either. Really are a pain literally to the thumbs and esp, as there are 81 to place to ensure safety, so they are not to be skipped, although I really thought about it. Beware the bolts and nuts have slight oil on them and it can stain items and does mark up the bed frame and needs wiping. Last, the rail pieces are not marked and it is crucial to put the rail with the ladder attachment in properly, but the directions make it look like any direction works. NOT. Good product, but like most items to assemble, not great instructions and take several hours and super thumb strength. 06/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by strong and easy to assemble I was able to assemble the beds with my sons helping in their own special way. We made this set into bunks, but my youngest was scared of the top bunk that he wanted so badly. SO with just a couple of screw removals my hubby and I lifted the top bunk off and we had 2 seperate and equal twins. Leaving the rails on one bed would be perfect for someone with a small child who needs side rails on a second twin bed... no babies on the top bunk! We ended up leaving the long side rail on the top bunk, as that bed went against a window wall. It was just a handy little help. My oldest son is 250 lbs and the bed is holding him very well. My little guy rocks in his sleep and we're not hearing any squeeks or noises from the bed. I loooove this set and the price was the best I found. I highly recommend this set! :) 03/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very sturdy - a good buy After a LOT of research, I decided on this Walker Edison "twin over twin premium metal bunk bed" for my 4 and 8 year old sons. I have 3 sons, so I decided metal was the way to go - too many reviewers complained of broken slats on wooden bunks. But I liked that the wooden bunks converted into two beds - it gives us more options when the boys get older. Well, this is one of the only metal bunks that does too. It's also a great price for the quality. The posts are 2" in diameter, the slats are all metal and lock into place, and the hardware comes pre-oiled and screws almost all the way into place without the need of a tool - you just need the supplied allen wrench to tighten them at the end. One caution - be sure to follow the instructions TO THE LETTER. The parts are all labelled, and you must lay each one out exactly as in the illustration. Make sure you have the cross bars with the cut-outs for the slats facing in before you screw them in place. 06/02/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great deal for the price! I love that this bunk bed can be separated into 2 twin beds. I gave it 4 out of 5 stars because the instructions were lacking. I followed the instructions that were in the box and ended up with the screw holes for the ladder on opposite sides. So when putting the beds together for bunk beds, make sure that the screw holes for the ladder on the bottom bed and the top bed are on the same side and line up properly. I ended up having to take the top bed off and turning it around. It took help to do this. The beds really aren't that heavy and I was able to put most of it together by myself (150lb woman). I suggest going to the Walker Edison website and using their online instructions. They are more detailed. Also, the plastic lock tabs for the mattress support bars are difficult to put in by hand. I eventually figured out that it was easier if I inserted one side of the plastic tab first, then using a flat-head screwdriver to press down on the opposite end of the plastic tab. This way saved my fingers and saved me time also. 03/14/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just what I was looking for! I was looking for a bunkbed that had enough space for me to be able to sit up straight on the bottom bunk and this has enough space on the top bunk too. This is perfect for teenagers and adults. I have a 10 year old who is really tall (5'0) and keeps getting taller by the minute! he loves it ! Great price, just make sure you have 2 people to set up the beds its a pain in neck but worth it after its been put together. : ) 09/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful bunk bed, sturdy, strong, great for adults. Price worth every cent. Easy assembly. Thanks. 08/18/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good for the dollar!! I bought these bunk beds for my kids. I shipped them site to store which is a great FREE option. It took my dad and husband about 2 hrs to put them together. It does come on a million pieces. But they didn't seem to have trouble putting them together. Some reviews said some of the parts didn't have the letter to identify the specific piece. It does but it is on the individual box with all the same pieces. The bigger pieces come with the sticker on the individual piece. I was satisfied with how durable they seem. I personaly love the height of the side rails on the top bunk. I was glad to see how high it came up even after putting an 8 inch twin mattress on top. There is a great amount of room between a normal ceiling and the top bunk and between the bottom and top bunk. You really get a good quality frame for the amount you spend on these beds. I don't expect them to last forever, but I won't have to replace them in a year either! My only other suggeswtion is not to waste your money on the "bunk bed mattresses" on here. You will be replacing those in a few months. The beds are sturdy enough to hold the weight of a real coil spring mattress. And the sides are high enough on the top bunk to still protect a child from rolling out. 02/18/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by plastic clips I'm still in the process of putting the bed together but for the most part it was really easy and fast to do. The only problem I'm having is with the little plastic clips you have to squeeze in to every hole above each bar of the bed support. My fingers are so sore and red and I'm having the worst time. I'm sure the bunk is going to be great but I wish somebody would have mentioned the clips in the other reviews. 01/23/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Very Nice Bunk Bed! This bunk bed was very easy to assemble it took over an hour but instructions were clear. It pieced together flawlessly, and looks great in our boys bedroom. I am very impressed with this item. 05/19/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Met expectations Good, sturdy bunkbed at a good price. Not difficult to assemble, but don't do final tightenings or put in the tabs to secure the rods until the whole bed is put together, just in case something was attached upside-down. 04/07/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by not good for active twins The actual beds are good, but the ladder keeps falling apart. Not that great for twin 6 year olds. 08/27/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Ladder rungs are too round. The rungs for the steps are very uncomfortable - they hurt the bottom of my feet and I heard my son complain too. The rungs should be flatter. If you change the design please make it so that previous customers can easily switch to the new rungs. It would also be nice if there were optional under bed storage drawers. 10/12/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product - worth buying it Product arrived thru fedex ontime with one single box, We assembled all in 1+ hour. My 6 year old son enjoyed fixing his first bunkbed. my 3 year old daughter she helped threading the screws.. We ordered 7" inches new mattress for the top bed and it was perfect for my son. He enjoys sleeping on the top. My only concern is that it makes noise, when he turns on the bed in the middle of night, One who sleeps below will be really get disturbed, otherwise bed is really good. 09/30/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by for the money I do like this bed for what it's worth but it took us a long time to setup sooooo many parts. I found that some parts were missing like the washer and some screws, thank goodness my husband had some in his tool box. I would NOT recommend for a single mom. 02/08/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by good value, but my grandkids are BIG boys...oldest 2 are 230lbs each (football, etc). wished they made these type of beds to handle more pounds! we wanted to put the little ones on bottom, but were afraid of the weight limit!! 07/08/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Follow instructions. My suggestion to putting this together would be to look at each step ahead and carefully match the lettered pieces to instructional pictures. My husband and I took about 45 minutes to assemble it. The most time consuming is popping in the plastic lock tabs on each support bar like other reviewers mentioned. My husband used channel locks ( like adjustable pliers tool) to push the tabs in making it easier on our hands (you'll see what I mean) and had these beds ready intime for my 5 & 2 yrs olds to sleep. So far so good and I love the look as well as options for set-up. I had it shipped to home and each piece was wrapped to prevent damage. Honestly the box could have been ripped to shreds and it wouldn't have hurt the product. My only reason for withholding a star was because the one of the black plastic end caps pulls off easily when played with. I could easily superglue it if I want but otherwise no biggie. I just regard 5 stars to be flawlessly perfect which these beds are pretty darn close to being. 06/10/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfect for early teen boys At the time of putting this together we got a bit mixed up on the positioning of some of the peices, but for the most part my 11 and 12yr old put it together by themselves....it has a very roomy bottom bunk and the boys have no trouble getting on and off of it....great idea for them! 09/02/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by good value These bunk beds seem to be very sturdy. They had clear instructions and were easy to put together. The bars on the bottom to hold the mattresses are close enough together so you shouldn't need a board and shouldn't feel them through the mattress. I used 2 regular mattresses that are 11" thick. There is no problem with the top bunk rails. They are plenty high enough to stop someone from falling over. The beds also look to be fairly simple to convert to twin beds should the need arise. Two of the main reasons I got them are there is enough head room on the bottom bunk for an adult to sit easily and the top bunk holds 250 lbs. which is more than most others, even more expensive beds. Would definitely recommend! 07/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid and very modern design I got this item on time and the box it came in was awkwardly long. It's very heavy so you may need extra help getting it where you want. I opened it up and there was a lot of different pieces. This was, however, very easy to put together. The only thing I had trouble with are the plastic lock-in pieces for the bed slats. You will need someone strong enough to get them in, without breaking them. Other than that, I found the instructions to be clear and easy to follow. It took a little while to put these together, so prepare yourself for quite the project. Once put together, these beds are solid and look very modern. The bottom bunk has plenty of room for even a parent to sit up straight and still have plenty of head room. No need to worry about bumping your head. I would recommend these to any family with children. I previously had purchased a bunk bed set, made of wood, for $1200.00 and these are without any shadow of a doubt the better deal. I have full confidence that these are going to last years of wear from my rough boys. 02/28/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very sturdy bunk beds Luckily I read all the reviews before attempting to put this bed together with my son's help. Took us 4 hrs., but a lot of that time was counting hardware, laying out pieces, etc. Thanks to previous reviewers who described the ordeal of pushing in the plastic tabs-all 88 of them--and their ideas for making that process easier. Snapped a few tabs in the process, but used slip-joint pliers, which helped quite a bit. Those 44 slats will never fall through. The completed bed is extremely sturdy and fills up my small bedroom/sewing room. Got a good mattress so adults can even use the beds if necessary. 07/02/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not as sturdy as I expected Easy to put together. Not quite as sturdy as I expected since they are supposed to have 250lb weight limits.. My 55lb son makes it wiggle and creek. 03/16/2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice size I like this bunkbed. I love the fact that the bottom bunk has room for kids to fully sit up and not hit their heads. The looks of the bunkbed are nice. The only problem I have is the ladder. The screws will not stay tighten so you are constantly tightening the ladder, and without the ladder there is no way for anyone to get on the top bunk. Besides the ladder issue I like the beds and my kids love them. 11/11/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by some challenges putting it together. As my college age son and I put them together at his new apartment, we had to take apart several times to correct orientation of rails. When we got to putting on the ladder and last safety rail we discovered that the upper bunks side rail that holds the mattress was on upside down. With all the struggles we had of putting in the plastic snap pieces to hold the cross slats in place we decided not to pull it apart again just to put on the ladder and safety rail. If it was for small children we would of corrected the problem, but not for college age students. The manufacture could correct this problem easily with a simple sticker that says "this way up" and having an arrow on i 06/23/2012
  • 2015-12-01 T06:07:55.643-06:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_210, tr_210
  • loc_en_US, sid_10996178, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 185 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.