Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 178 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by good deal bought these for use on cruise ship and excursions. they work great, no matter where i was on the ship i could contact my partner. thru 10 storys of steel i was impressed. 12/20/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not bad for the price I bought these AFTER reading the reviews. I wasn't expecting a 23 mile range, or for that matter 1 mile. These radios are well thought out, work well and are nice and small. I ordered 2 - 2pks of these for using on Fireworks Display setups & small events. They fill my needs for a small easy to use radio to communicate between the audience area, shoot site, gate, and security. They also have NOAA weather bands built in. So you can keep up with the latest weather wherever you are in N. America! I plan on adding another two sets soon. They come with a NiMh battery pack and a cool desk top charger base. If you need a radio with a real good 1/2mi range... These will fill the bill at a great price! None of the FRS/GMRS radios get out like they claim on the packaging under normal operating conditions. But I do like these little units!!! 10/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great find! I did a lot of research before getting these radios, since I was planning a Disney World/Orlando trip with my fiancee, and we'd be some time apart while shopping. It worked wonderfully for the intended purpose. Even in a crowded outlet mall we could hear each other loud and clear several stores apart. Now I don't think it would get much further than that, but if you plan on using this one within short distances, I'd recommend it! Batteries last all day long and the volume adjustment is also great. It's quite simple to use and I really like it! 03/11/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Expected better I researched 2-way radios for weeks before I purchased these for a camping trip. The reviews were decent. I knew there was no way I would get 20+ miles of range, but I couldn't even reach my husband 2 miles out on his boat on a wide open lake. It did go about 1/2 mile from the beach to our campsite. 08/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic We've had these for over a year now and they work like they are brand new. We have 12 acres. When the kids go out to play, they take one and we keep one. They work all over the 12 acres. The cradle is also the charger so when you put them up they are charging. They have never died on us. Great value for the money! 12/02/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought these radios for the purpose of cruising with my teenager. With roaming airtime being so expensive, I needed an alternative to communicating with my son. These worked REMARKABLY on the cruise ship. I was often in our stateroom on the 2nd floor in the rear of the ship (2298) and my son was often on the Lido Deck (9) or at the top of the ship on the basketball court (11) in the front of the ship. We were able to communicate without interference. Even when he left the ship to go to shore ahead of me, I was able to communicate with him clearly to find the location he selected on the beach. It worked very well in downtown Nassau. We were often separated and these radios worked perfectly. I saw one family crying because they separated from their daughter and didn't have a way of contacting her to find out where she was so they were sitting on the sidewalk for more than 2 hours waiting for their child to come look for them. When you are at port, a lot can be done in 2 hours so I highly recommend for anyone cruising or otherwise and do not have access to cellular phones. I was extremely impressed with the range after being concerned about being able to communicate without interference within the steel confines of a 101 ton+ ship. 03/28/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall good, would like a little more distance These work great. They are very clear. The only downside is that they are supposed to reach 24 miles. They might reach 2. I guess the 24 mile rating only applies to straight line of sight. I didn't really expect it yo go 24 miles when I bought it, but maybe 5 would have been nice. 01/03/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by difficult to figure out Our old walkies (Uniden) developed a problem, so I decided to try these due to the good ratings. We use them to communicate in a large store or from the store to the car in the parking lot where my husband sometimes waits for me. They seem to work well, but they weren't as easy to figure out as our old ones were. The instructions were in extremely small print, & even with my glasses, I had difficulty trying to read them. Our grandsons were coming to visit & managed to figure out enough for us to use them, however, they too had difficulty with the channels. (they are ages 15 & 9.) I think they work good, but I still haven't figured them out! Don't know how to lock in a channel, it seems to scan, but not stop when you want it to! The print on the instructions being so small hasn't helped. The old ones were simple to operate, we never had to look at the instructions! I'm thinking about going back to the old brand, at least we both understood how they worked and for our purpose, they were fine. 08/24/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect My 7 year-old son asked for walkie talkies for his birthday. These are perfect! He rides his bike around the neighborhood and we communicate the entire time. They have been dropped and handled roughly at times, but they are very solid and have remained completely intact. They charge easily and remain charged for hours. We are very pleased with these! 09/13/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good for kids! bought this for my 5yr old.. he loves them. they work for almost a mile in the city... don't expect to do much better than that in city. i haven't tried them anywhere else. and for the price it was much cheaper on walmart.com compared to anywhere else. the size on them is perfect. comes with belt clip too.. more importantly they are rechargeable. this will save me $$ in the long run.. i would have given the product a better rating if it had a better range 12/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 GREAT FOR A CRUISE We used 6 of these for our group on our recent cruise. While others on the ship (or on excursions on land) were using 22-channel walkie talkies with constant talking, unsure if your party were the one talking over the walkie talkie, ours were only us communicating with each other...I never questioned if I heard a voice, it was someone in my party trying to reach one of us. This was especially of great benefit since we had teenagers/children in our group. I did note that, if we were on the 2nd level and someone was higher (like the 11th level), we could not hear them clearly many times. All in all, it was wonderful to have these on our cruise. 03/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by I bought 5 sets of these to use for communication in a haunted trail for halloween. They work great even though they have to reach through over 1/2 mile of some pretty dense woods. For those of you thinking you'll get 23 miles out of them, you'll be terribly disappointed. That's only under optimum conditions, like from a mountain top to a valley below with line of sight. Under average use, you'll get about 1 mile at best. It's all about where the 2 radios are and how much stuff the signal has to go through. Other than that, these are great little two-way radios. Just wish they had come with headsets so I didn't have to buy them separately. 10/26/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING RADIOS FOR A GREAT PRICE!! I recently purchased these radios to use as a general means of communication between my family and friends. I have to say that I am very satisfied with their durability as I have dropped them many times on several hard surfaces. I am also almost overjoyed with the quality radio you get for the low Walmart price. The NOAA weather alert feature comes in handy when you live in Florida where the weather is very unpredictable. The radio can be easily programed to suit your needs, something I have had trouble with in the past with my old radios. The size of these radios in comparison to their features is also amazing to me. The pictures on the website are misleading with regaurd to size. The radios are a lot smaller in person. Upon purchasing these radios, they were put straight to the test with a 12 hour trip from our vacation with two vehicles from the North Carolina mountains, all the way to Florida. They performed perfectly through the trip in stormy weather. Needless to say, I am very satisfied. 08/09/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ok for price Decent for price range. Got for keeping in touch while camping. Dont know how good it is at long distances but works fine for my purpose, less than half a mile in the woods. At home I give one to my 81 year old Mom that lives next door for her to clip on her waistband while working in her flower garden so if she needs help or falls or anything she can call me for help. 03/21/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by DON'T DO IT I WAS SO EXCITED TO BUY THIS PRODUCT. I OWNED 2 MILE MOTOROLA TWO WAY RADIOS FOR YEARS. UNFORTUNATELY, ONE DIDN'T WORK THIS YEAR, SO I DECIDED TO UPGRADE TO THE 23 MILE RADIOS. THE FIRST DAY I GOT THEM, I FELT THEY WERE MADE CHEAPER THAN THE ONES I HAD PURCHASED BACK AROUND THE YEAR 2000. NEXT, WAS TO TEST THEM OUT TO SEE IF THEY REALLY WORKED 23 MILES. WELL, IT WORKED GREAT FOR ABOUT 5 BLOCKS FROM MY HOME. I WAS ABOUT 1 MILE FROM WHERE THE OTHER PERSON WAS AND SHE COULD NOT HEAR ME. I KEPT TRYING AND NOTHING. EVENTUALLY, I HAD TO USE MY CELL PHONE TO TELL THE OTHER PERSON, THE RADIOS DIDN'T WORK FROM A MILE AWAY. SO PLEASE BEFORE BUYING THIS PRODUCT. THINK AGAIN. I WILL STILL USE THIS PRODUCT, BUT IT WON'T BE FOR LONG DISTANCE. IT WILL BE IF WE GO TO YARD SALES, FLEA MARKETS, ETC. WISH I COULD HAVE GIVEN THIS PRODUCT A BETTER REVIEW. SORRY MOTOROLA!! 12/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works like a charm! Perfect for my needs. Great value. Great reception in a large, multi-floor building. 05/06/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by 1st pair of radios Great for camping/hiking. You can hear the weather station too. Pretty clear reception also 12/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great product I owned a pair of motorola radios similar to these with only a 16 mile range. they worked great on any channel. Got clear reception 12 miles out on level ground. Did get a little static when nearing mutiple power lines, just switched to another channel static barely heard. I wonder if the other users of this model tried other channels, were near power lines, microwave towers, military bases or radio/tv stations when using? 03/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Perfect We have a big warehouse - refrigerated and frozen. Our warehouse manager, who sits in the front office, needs to communicate with his workers wherever they are in the warehouse. Cell phones don't work especially in the freezer - they freeze and get ruined. The Walkie Talkies solved the problem. 08/02/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by do not work even in one mile.. We tried the radio in our building and it works but when I go away from our house and I try to contact my wife even less than one mile it does not work.. 09/07/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by My rating may be a bit premature, but the range of these radios should be measured in city blocks, not miles! I hope they'll be better up in the mountains than they are in residential areas. However, I do like the weather alert. 12/03/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great radios for this price!! I bought these for my elder parents who have health issues. This allows them to keep a watch on each other while my dad's outside or in the garage. My sister's house is about a 1 mile down the road in a valley. I was not expecting them to work between the properties but they do. Whow how great that is for them to keep in touch without having to use cell phones. I am going to buy a set for me and my wife so we can do the same while I'm doing lawn work, etc. 01/05/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by not for city living picks up a lot of static even when we change channels. One of the clips broke th 1st day we had these... 11/19/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent! not too large, easy to carry, Excellect sound quality. Tested to >5 miles. Used on Photo shoots. 01/09/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great way to stay in contact RV to RV! Bought these to stay in contact RV to RV on trip in Alaska. They worked great! Conditions would have to be perfect to get 23 mile communication, but shopping, on a tour or in the RV's, we had clear communications. Durable too! Small and compact to carry. Rechargeable w/ optional battery use is great too. Since we didn't have electric power daily, it was great that they worked more than 24 hours. Would get these again. 09/01/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Range of 1+ mile in RV park Paid + for these with 23 mile range. I expected maybe 2 to 3 miles ... flat in an RV park...No way, no better than the $19.95 set I already had!!!! 07/27/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for short distances This product stated it should go 20+ miles. It only went about 1 mile before completely disconnecting. If you want this for the kids to play around the yard with it is a great product. But if you want it for long distances it is not recommended. 01/04/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent gift for kids 6 and up I bought these for my children ages 6 and 7 and they love them. They work very well for 2-mile distance but we haven't had success past that and certainly not 23 miles as advertised. My son dropped one down our stairs, about 8', and it bounced a few times and landed on the tile floor. The battery and battery door came off but when reassembled the unit still worked perfectly. I will buy another set for a birthday gift for the neighbor kid to expand the "spy games" being played at my house. I've already tried a couple sets of the kids walkie talkies in the $15 - $20 price range and they were all to static-y to hear and weren't a good value. I recommend you skip those and buy this. Not only can your kids use it but you won't be embarrassed to use them on the slopes and other family outings. 12/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product Your voice is clear and we even used them convoying on the highway...AND you are able to turn off all of the alerts and sounds so they are good for hunting too. 09/19/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT!!! These are Awesome! I got them for nephews after my kids have been using theirs for 6 months. Ages 6 & 9. They are durable, long range and small enough to fit in their pockets as they run out the door to play with friends. I bought my kids the 3 pack so that I could have one, they could each have one & I can call them home when it is time. Priceless & much less expensive than cell phones. 12/14/2012
  • 2016-03-24 T09:48:23.164-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_178, tr_178
  • loc_en_US, sid_10913179, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 151 total reviews
2 3 4 5 6 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew328
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp