See All Reviews
Tetra FS3060 Power Filter
Tetra FS3060 Power Filter
Price varies by store.
See All Buying Options
Rated 3.1 out of 5 by 12 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good for the price I purchased this filter about a year ago. I use it on a 30 gallon tank with 30 chiclids. For the large amount of fish in the tank it keeps that water clear without media change for about 2 weeks. After that the water gets slightly cloudy. I replace the media every 3 to 4 weeks. Usally before the indicators that come with the media indicate to do so. The major negative with this filter is that you can not control the water flow. Because of this food gets sucked up before the fish get it. It is easy to clean and is self priming. Replacement media run about $12 for 6 pads. 03/17/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Tetra FS3060 Power Filter This filter is way too noisy. It takes over the entire house. At night it is awful. I have aqua clear 110 and aqua tech 30 - 60 and both are very quiet. The aqua clear is the best because all you hear is the water flow. I must return this filter and get another aqua clear. I do not recommend this product 09/10/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by OK filter I am using this filter on a 15 gallon tank for a mid size Jack Dempsey. Also the media is expensive and needs to be changed often. Not only can that get expensive quickly, but every time you change the media you are removing beneficial bacteria. Another disadvantage to to this filter is that you can not change the flow speed. 07/21/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Works but loud! The title says it all. I have the filter on a 75 gallon tank in my living room, and there is a loud and constant hum. I've read reviews of this item elsewhere and the noise created seems to be a recurring theme. After a week of living with the filter's humming I've decided to return it. The filtration of the product is good though. If I could live with the noise I would keep it. 02/19/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Performance - Filter Change - Feeding Schedule Have had same filter and fish for 3 years now. It keeps on running and handles my 50 gallon tank with room to spare. Quiet as long as your water level is up. I change my filters (2 at a time) at least once a month for 6 fish that inhabit the tank. Only negative is the debris from the filter area does tend to muddy up the tank a bit when you change out the filters.I only feed once a week - YES - once a week. The tank is cleaner and the fish are healther. I use a combination of algea wafers and fish food when I do feed them. 01/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great filter for my cichlids and oscar I am a teen that purchased this for a 20 gallon tank that has 2 cichlids, an oscar and frog. Oscars are messy eaters so I got the bigger filter. Other reviews said it was noisey but i never hear anything unless my water is low. It keeps my tank very clean so now my parents arent complaining. 02/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great if u know how to use it for the person who says there having problems with the filter on there 15gallon one this filter is way big to be using for that size also because its so big the filters are more expensive if you get a fish tank you have to think of more than the cost of fish but back to the review this is a great filter(when put in a proper sized tank) keeps the water clean and with my rainbow redtail and bala sharks which tend to be a bit messy keeps them happy and healthy overall a great filter for a reasonable price 10/28/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Hate this filter I have only had this filter for a few weeks and I am ready to take it back! The motor being in the uptake tube was a terrible idea; it might have been ok if it didn't hang off to the side. The weight of the motor causes uptake tube to come out of filter box, so filter stops. My fish knock into it and dislodge, so filter stops. My filter is not running more than it is running. 05/06/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by Tetra Advanced Filter 30-60 NOISY The filtration and flow rate is exceptional for the price, it does a good job. Although it does seem to suck up a great deal of food before it gets a chance to be eaten. The noise level is rediculous. Tetra makes filters that are absolutely silent and yet I have to turn the TV up over this one. I'm about ready to donate it to Goodwill ONLY because of the noise. At night it fills the house, unplug it for a few minutres and the silence IS golden! I've started unplugging it for 5 minutes for feeding flake food so the fish can eat and since it's self priming that's no problem. 03/19/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Skip it.... I have only had it for a few months and it has already died - gave me nothing but problems for the entire time I had it, intake kept falling off, terrible noise, hard to get it started after a water change. It got where it would speed up/slow down, then stop. Will have to find something else tomorrow to save fish in 48 g. tank. 09/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great pruduct for filtering water within minutes its clear.and i dont have to clean the tank frequently any more. 08/09/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Noisy and unclear directions Having had the Whisper in tank filteration systems several years before they quit working, I decided to give this type of filter a try. First, the directions are unclear as to how exactly you connect the power supply to the filter part. It does not specify that you need to force the power supply into place until it snaps in. In fact, the directions do not depict the power supply connections at all. Only the tube itself is in the directions. The system itself is rather noisy, especially if the water level is kept at the line indicated on the power supply assembly. Being in a bedroom, this was unacceptable. So the water level had to be increased until the noise level was tolerable. On a 30 gal tank with only 3 fish (2 Gourami and one Pleco), the filtration itself is on par with what I've experienced with the Whisper in tank filters. The filters themselves are more expensive than the Whisper Intank filters as well- 12.00 for 6 for these filters, whereas the Intank filters are 12.00 for EIGHT. For the increase in cost, I would expect better filtration. I will be going to to the Whisper Intank filtration systems. 03/12/2012
1-12 of 12 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.