Rated 3 out of 5 by 44 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 good antenna for the money I recently purchased this antenna for my television. Since the digital conversion, I couldn't get all the new channels with my converter box and rabbit ears alone. This antenna did not get all the new channels at first by laying it on top of the tv or by putting it up on the wall. We had to put it up on the wall RIGHT NEAR THE WINDOW....THEN it got all of the new channels - well. Works for me! 06/15/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by better than I expected My family & I live in a rural area. Once we switched to a digital TV we could only get 1 channel with our old rabbit ears; but now, with our new antenna, we receive all channels that are available! (takes a few minutes to find the best location for it, but once you do itt's perfect!) 03/24/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Better Offer With Tin-Foil We have the $2.99 rabbit ear special. We decided to spend the $40 to upgrade and we returned this product the same day! We went from about 25 channels to four. ZERO reception no matter where we placed the stupid thing. We even placed it outside and had no change in reception! Save your money! Can we remove stars??? 06/11/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Know your distance from Broadcasting Station I would not purchase this unit. I learned the hard way. I purchase 4 different units and all of them were designed for receiving signals within 20 miles of the Station. Not a singal unit has worked for me. I get no signal strenth. I have to purchase cable and I live a major Dallas Metroplex. 06/10/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helping upgrade thru DTV I'm ~ 40 miles from the stations (Chicago) and have been using my Panasonic VCR as a pre-amp for reception with indoor antennas. Mostly good reception, but weak on UHF. Got a Magnavox converter (Walmart) for the change and had some fall-off on reception but great pictures, so bought the RCA amplified antenna (still standard tv- they haven't all gone over to DVT yet). The RCA definetly helps with most channels, I have it on the window frame and you may have to flip it from horizontal to vertical - small issue (standard TV testing only). Where it really helps is on the UHF channels, I get reception better then anything before. I don't watch a lot of TV and then not a lot of channels. So my useage is pretty low, but I appreciate quality on the channels I do watch. I feel the product is well worth the price for what I use it for; for better reception, I would go a roof top or cable. Amplification will only get you so far, then you need a stronger base signal. 05/26/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Greatly improved reception! Before I got this antenna at my local Walmart store, I was using rabbit ears. They never worked with the new digital signal. This antenna, however, works like a charm because it was MADE for digital broadcasts! And the best things are, I don't have to move it around, and it's not an eyesore -- you can barely even see it! With rabbit ears, I got 8 channels, mediocre reception. With this antenna, I get 22 channels, great reception! Anyone frustrated with digital NEEDS to get this! 06/17/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Whow! Purchased this for a 19" HDTV in the bedroom. Increased "over the air" TV reception by well over 20%. Very satisfied. 06/21/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Antenna This antenna performs well above expectations. I'm now receiving 24 crystal clear channels with the antenna laying flat beside my television. I pick up every channel listed for my area on the www.rabbitears.info site. 09/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by It did the job I hooked this antenna up to my Dish Network HD receiver and after playing with the placement I was able to pick up all my local channels including several CW's crystal clear and when offered in HD. Most channels strength comes in around 70 percent which is okay. I set this on top on my entertainment system and you can't even tell it's there. I did not use the stand as I found it worked better flat. I was getting my local channels through Dish Network but I will be dropping that as Dish Network's local channels looked real pixelated and I couldn't get them in Hi Def. Now I'm happy. 05/11/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Glad we gave antenna hook-up a second chance Since I read reviews on several of the antenna's offered by Wal-Mart, I told my husband and son to just keep trying with the placement of this amplified antenna. We tried what the directions suggested -flat and high, but pix kept breaking up. We rescanned as it stated after every adjustment. Just as we were about to give up, my 14 yr-old son placed it on the tile floor upright against our concrete wall , but with the FRONT FACING TOWARD THE WALL. All our other placements had the "right side" facing the inside of our house. That was the perfect placement. We now get NBC, FOX, CBS, ABC plus 19 other digital channels. (NO breaking up of the digital pix) The picture is sharper than our basic cable since we didn't pay the 8.00 extra for the high-def box. So now we save 23.00 plus taxes a month on basic cable. We tried a year ago an antenna sold at Best Buy and just couldn't get all the major channels to come in. Glad we gave it a second try with this one. But, don't give up without trying a couple of different models if this doesn't work for you. Best thing about Wal-Mart is how easy it is to make a return! Now the extra 276.00 yrly will help pay for the Internet service we have to have since son's school only communicates to parents via e-mail. 09/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works better than rabbit ears in suberban areas I live in the suberbs, and always had a problem with rabbit ears and digital channels, I always had to adjust them, but this antenna works great. I don't even need the amplifier to get all the digital channels. It's a little expensive, but worth the money. 05/31/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by I currently have the RCA digital one-piece flat antenna that I purchased fro $14.99 at Wal-Mart. I decided to try this antenna since it had an "amplifier" and thought I would actually get better reception and pick up a few more channels. When I got the product home and hooked it up, I didn't have any better reception than I had with the little flat one piece antenna without an amplfier. 04/08/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Didn't work for me... Purchased at my local store. Trying to ditch my $85 monthly dish bill. Flat antenna comes with an amplifier. Directions advise to use the amplifier first and if it doesn't work, to retry with just the antenna. With the amplifier, I got 2 channels. I removed the amplifier, used just the antenna and got 5 channels. While I would be happy with 5 channels, I am looking for channels like abc, nbc fox, cbs, but no, I get pbs, some hispanic channel, some fishing show, and other unrecognizable channels. Not acceptable. I got it as close to the window as possible, but lets face it, the tv is in a set position and the cable on the antenna extends only so far. This is going back to the store tomorrow. :( I will give another antenna a shot and hope I have better results, but definately not paying $30+ bucks to watch pbs or two old guys fishing. 09/23/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by WORKS FOR ME!!! I have this mounted on my wall no where near a window or sliding glass door. I pick up over 20 digital channels. And the 4 majors (ABC, CBS, NBC & FOX) come in just as clear as my HD cable and satellite did. I even tried it near the window and sliding glass door (which are on opposite sides of the room) and did not get anymore channels so I mounted it where it was more convenient. Luckily all my entertainment electronics are all black so it doesn't even look ugly on the wall. Know your distance from youR towers which I believe is what will make this item successful or not. 09/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great antenna for the $ I bought this at the local Walmart for $29.96 today May 28th 2009 and went home and plugged it in and boy was I surprised how well it picked up all of the local channels. The analog picture was not good at all. However with the digital channels getting recognized when I programmed my HDTV Set with tuner I received all local channels except CBS Channel 2 (Analog). Every other station came in perfectly, so all in all for the purchase price of $29.96 plus tax it was money well spent. I do have the amplified plugged into the antenna and it seems to really help. I would recommend this to all as a purchase. 05/28/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by not what i expected i ordered this so "just in case" we would need a regular antenna (satalite goes out, storms, ect). The picture is no better than with the rabbit ears we originally had. its a good thing we have Sat. dish. i couldnt stand watching all the fuzz all the time. *on the plus side- the sound is alittle better- it does clean up the snow noise. but w will be returning it. not worth the money. i should of believed all the other bad reviews before i spent money on it. 05/25/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by digital antenna The RCA digital attenna is great I hooked it up to the converter box the channels are very clear better than a regular antenna. I live in ohio picking up stations from as far as michigan. 05/05/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by I Like It I have the cream colored one and the picture is definitely sharper. As of this writing, the complete digital transition has not taken place; that will be on June 12th. I am still receiving the same digital channels as before. I hope to receive more in June. 04/25/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 NEEDS IMPROVEMENT I didn't know that I would have to keep moving it to pick up different channels. I thought it was suppose to pick up all channels. If I went to channel 8, I would have to get up and move the digital antenna box. No matter what channel, I still had to reposition the digital box. There just has to be a better way to receive the channels without getting up & down to do it. 04/20/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Junk - I wish zero stars was an option Don't bother buying this piece of junk. With my 8+ year old 100 mile VHF antenna mounted inside the attic (the kind you used to see on a pole on top of the roof), I get 80+% on the digital channels. With the RCA I get less than 20%. It's going back to the store tomorrow. What a waste. 06/12/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Did Not Work I live in an urban environment where signal strength should not be a problem. This antenna did not work no matter where I positioned it. I never got more than 1 channel on either of my digital, cable-ready tv's. With the hype of the description regarding the amplifier, I expected much more, but got much, much less. I will be making a trip back to the store tonight to get a refund. 08/14/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by with rabbit ears i get 11 channels, with this antenna i got 3! i will be returning it. 03/18/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Save your money We bought this antenna because we loose our satilite reception when ever it rains. After hooking this up we did not have one clear channel ever thing was full of snow. It will be returned tomorrow morning. 04/25/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by This product did not meet any expectations. I tried it at every angle at every level, from the counter top to the ceiling, even moving the TV & antenna to a different part of the kitchen, but no channels came in. I was very disappointed!!! 07/08/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works well with HDTV Purchased this antenna and a HDTV when over the air broadcasting changed from anolog to digital. Works great as long as you have a DIGITAL television. Note: Obstructions and location can effect the quality of your reception. 08/20/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by rca digtal flat amplified antenna i bought this antenna on july 11th 2009 it did not pick up any channels at all? i am going to take it back to walmart tomorrow . 07/11/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible!! This gets horrible reception. It says you can use with or without the powered amplifier, with it plugged in I get about the same signal as I do with the cheap $10 one. Without I do not get a signal at all. 07/04/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by buyer beware I had rabbit ears and decided to buy this antenna and found no difference between the two, I laid it flat, hung on a wall, put it in a window, I even took it out side and hooked it through the cable line that was not being used still the same results, The funny thing is I still had all the channels just using the cable line it worked as an antenna taken it back for a refund... 06/29/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by complete piece of junk Under no circumstances should anyone waste any hard earned money on this product. It does not work at all. My rabbit ears perform better. I bought it because the digital channels do not come in very well with my rabbit ears. This antenna did not help whatsoever. Granted, I was able to pick up one additional channel; however, it did not come in well enough to watch. Additionally, two of the channels that I previously received good reception with came in worse with this antenna. The other channels were unaffected (still spotty reception). Thus, I had two good channels before and multiple bad ones; afterwards I had all junk and no good channels. Bottom line, do not waste your time or money. 06/16/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by WARNING, DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME ON THIS We decided to purchase this RCA product because the digital converter box was RCA and so was our television. Called their support number and was told to return it for a different one, same model, as it 'might of got dropped while being put out on the shelves'. Did that, got a second one, same model, returning it this morning for a different brand as we had more channels without the antenna then we do with this product. 05/07/2009
1-30 of 42 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew372
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp