Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 316 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent rack for the price I initially bought a flimsy rack that is a clone to the Bell rack they sell at Walmart or Target. It developed a hairline crack at the knee joint between the post and the bike carrier arm the first time I used it. Luckily I was not on the freeway where I could have caused a terrible accident. As a structural engineer, I made some calculations and determined that 1.25" x 1/16" tubing is stressed too highly. I would suggest not buying a 4-bike rack for 1.5" receiver. The stresses are simply too high, and the consequence of failure could be a serious accident in addition to losing bikes. The Allen rack is approximately twice as strong (section modulus) as the Bell rack, being made of 2"x 1/16" square tubing, assuming the steel grade is the same. It easily supports me (150 lbs) with very little deflection. After buying the rack, I saw on the internet that one reviewer said his Allen rack failed when one of the 3/8" bolts shear off. It was not this rack, but a previous design. This concerned me, so I made a structural calculation on the rack and the 3/8" pins. The most highly stressed pin, the pin holding the knee joint between the post and bike carrier is well under the allowable stresses. The weakest component is the tearout stresses through the hole that that pin goes through. Although it would seem it would be prudent to make that stronger, that part is still 66% of the allowable stress. Not sure why they cheaped out on a little bit more steel. I would suggest checking the pins regularly for nicks and cracks, since the stress concentrations would severely weaken the pin. Maybe buy some extra pins from Allen so that you wouldn't be tempted to use a damaged pin. Also, install the rack so that the bolts are tight and the threads are outside the faying surfaces. Bolts are weakest at the threads due to high stress concentrations. Functionally, this rack is good. I agree with the other reviews. Some racks are a lot more expensive and is better quality and has more features. But the most import criteria in my book is that it is structurally sound. This Allen rack fits that bill for structural strength and a good balance between function and value. 05/17/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by BUY IT! I was worried this product, because of the price, would be junk. I researched bike racks with the same features for triple the price, but took the chance on this model. I was pleasantly surprised to see how sturdy it is. I made sure to use it before writing the review. I put it on my hitch myself (no man required!) I am very happy with it and even happier to have the extra $ in my pocket that I saved by taking a chance on the less expansive bike rack!! 06/07/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Product, but be careful I purchased this rack in July to carry 4 bikes while on vacation. We drove approximately 2000 miles and we never had a problem until the last 100 miles. We stopped to take a break and I noticed that the safety latch that keeps the pin keeping the rack from folding down had broken. The pin had slipped halfway out and we almost had a disaster. I decided to purchase a Thule to replace the Allen rack and guess what; Thule has the same latch system. The Thule has a solid vertical support bar that makes it a little more stable, but other than that, it's basically the same rack. I would still recommend this rack to anyone that asks. 11/07/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for the money Was a little reluctant because of the price. I read other reviews and seemed to read mostly positive. I must say, I am pretty impressed. Great product and pretty cheap. I just used it for 4 bikes on a weekend get-away and 2 adults (1 male, 1 female) and 1- 20" and 1- 24" bikes fit perfectly. By the way.... It's made in the USA!!! Love to support my great country. 09/29/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by I liked the product but there was one small issue, my SUV´s 2" hitch is a bit deep and the bike rack's reach is quite limmited (I guess they wanted to save a couple of inches of square tubing). The result was that I had to buy a $40 dollar 2" extension. Make sure that your hitch is fluch with your bumper, otherwise you are in for a surprise. 08/08/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Bike Rack The bike rack met all my expectations from previous reviews I read prior to purchasing. I can still open my rear window on my Yukon without tilting the rack. The only option this rack does not have that I actually wanted was rubber tie-downs instead of the straps. For the money invested, this is a nice and functional rack! 04/03/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by It works great but I modified it slightly ;) The bike rack is great. It does everything I need but since I am a mechanic I decided to improve it. I did not like that it uses a bolt and nut to secure it to the hitch and of course it is not a 5/8" hole. Therefore, I drilled out the hole to 5/8" on each side with a uni-bit so I could use my standard locking hitch pin. I also snaked a coiled cable lock through the fold down mechanism in order to lock my bikes to the rack. Last but not least I use a small strap on each bike to tie the front wheel off to the frame of the bike in order to keep the front wheel straight and keep it from spinning. You may have noticed that I am using a not standard bike on the rack. So far it is fine and rides even. 10/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product! I bought this bike carrier and was amazed at how easy it was to install. It is equally easy to load bikes onto. You do NOT need to purchase the extra converter piece just because you have a women's bike. I can load the bikes onto the carrier and be on my way in minutes! Very sturdy too! Love it! 10/17/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bike rack I think the product was well worth the money spent. Only thing I would change is include a removeable pink to disconnect easily from the truck hitch. I would also recommend pictures on how to hang a ladies bike. Found that I needed to buy frame adapter bars for ladies bike and special receiver pin. This should have been listed as accessiories as they are shown on the box. 07/07/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by I do not recommend this bike rack. I was only able to use this bike rack once. I put 4 bikes on it, 2 adult and 2 child size bikes. The rack is not very sturdy. While driving, it sways excessively. I drove about 15 miles to ride. When I unloaded the bikes, the arm on the left side was bend down at about a 45 degree angle. I had to bend it back to reload the bikes, and when I got home, it had done the same thing. I took it back for a refund. Don't buy this bike rack. 04/20/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not for the whole family This would be an OK bike rack if you only had adult road bikes. Unfortunately we bought it for our 2 mountain bikes and 2 children bikes. The mountain bikes fit only by hooking them in other areas than under the main bar. Only one children's bike fit (other had to load in back of truck) and we had to attach it by the handle bar on one side to make work. I wish the description would of defined what this bike rack should be used for...again, adult only road bikes. 08/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A±± product for an active family We purchased this product using site-to-store. The price was the lowest around. My husband and I called multiple bike stores to compare prices. The average price was easily $80.00 more than Walmart. The low price closed the deal for us. The product arrived sooner than expected. My husband said it was super easy to put together by himself. The bikes fit perfect. On our first bike ride I drove over a rather large speed bump. We all gasped and crossed our fingers. The rack held strong and the bikes did not budge. 02/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike rack for a great price I reviewed and priced several bike racks before making my purchase. I put approximately 1600 miles on the rack in a weeks time hauling four bikes (2 mountain, 1 BMX, 1 kid bike - the kid bike being the heaviest) on a trip from TX to FL and back. The rack exceeded my expectations. The bikes were secure. They didn't bounce, vibrate or move. I am very impressed and would recommend this to anyone looking for a carrier for four bikes. There's no need to spend over $250 for a name-brand carrier. 07/21/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Doesn't fit my mountain bike I just received this rack. Tried to load my bike on it and the shifter cables and brake lines won't clear the arms. They should have made the arms not so wide. Before purchasing, measure the distance between the saddle post and head tube taking into account your shock location to see if this rack will fit your bike. Other than not fitting, it seems like a well made bike rack. Unfortunately I have to return it. 01/28/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great for 2 bikes not for 4 I bought this to use on the back of my travel trailer. We took a trip with 2 bikes and it worked fine. Then we took a trip with 4 bikes and the horizontal bars that hold the bikes bent downward more and more then 2 of the plastic clips broke. We tried tieing it to the ladder to support it but it ended up nearly tearing our ladder off. We ended up putting 2 bikes inside the Trailer. It might be ok for light bikes. All 4 of these were 26 inch Mongoose XR-75 mountain bikes. They are fairly heavy. 07/03/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Arms not sturdy enough for 4 bikes Carried 4 bikes from KY to FL and was very pleased how there was no noise from the rack. However, upon arrival, I noticed that the right arm had bent downward 4-5 inches. We had driven through the night so I could only assume that the weight of the bikes had caused the bend. Although nervous about it, I did use the rack on the return trip home. The bend didn't get worse but I did return it for a refund due to not trusting the strength of the arms while hauling 4 bikes. 07/26/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Same product as in Bike Shop for half the price! I just returned from a 4000 mile/3 week vacation with 4 bikes on this rack. It held up from New York to New Orleans and all stops in between! My husband installed in just minutes and we used the Allen adapter for my girl bike. Everything worked great! 09/06/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Total Failure Like many others, I had previously purchased a cheaper lower end 4-bike rack, and it failed immediately. We purchased this rack, based on the fact that it appeared to be much more sturdy than the previous rack we had. Unfortunately, this rack only lasted less than three trips, and now also includes needing to replace one bicycle. By the time we had returned home, we discovered the rack had bent, and we were in fact dragging the last bike on the rack. The only thing holding that bike on the rack was the safety strap I had used from the old rack. Lesson learned the hard way. Should have spent the additional money the first time on the rack I was thinking about at the bike shop. 07/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice rack Bought this to replace our massive Thule rack that held only 2 bikes. This is a great sturdy rack. We transported 2 adult bikes on a 2 hour drive for its first use and had no problem. Easy to put together and install into hitch. Read the instructions for how to mount a ladies' bike by twisting the mounting grip; it can be done without purchasing the optional bar. A great product at a great price. 07/23/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Had one bike on it for a week going everywhere! I have a 2009 Toyota rav 4 it has a right side hinge rear door with spare tire on it. First good thing about this rack is that it doesn't hit the spare cover and the pivot pin can be removed with bikes in place such that the door can be swung opened about two feet allowing access to stuff in back. Since my kids will not be as careful, I cable tied some pipe insulation to the rack where the door hits to act as a bumper. After a week I thought how it would be good if the empty bike rack could pivot all the way to the ground and allow the door to open fully. The fix is simple; I stopped at a welding shop and had them make one saw cut to the bottom of the main vertical tube. The cut is at the contact point of the pivot tube and 2” receiver bracket. A small triangle of metal approximately (45 degree by 1/4 deep) is removed allowing the tube to pivot past its normal stop point. The tube is still strong and I painted it so it will not rust. My brother has a Honda CRV with a swing door and he just bought this rack too. 05/20/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by BUY this rack AWSOME RACK This is my second Allen rack and again awsome rack now we have an SUB and this was my first brand choice this rack is easy to place in hitch did have to drill the hole bigger on the rack but it was worth the extra work the price is amazing and love love all the features you can bring the arm down when bikes are off rack and th awsome part is that you cam tilt the rack over to open the back door when bikes are off perfectly built sturdy stron and not heavy at all im 42 and i have mounted this by my self REMEMBER larger bikes go first straps are fine but make sure you buy a long cable to wrap you bikes together so they wont be atolen you can buy cable cheap at harbor freight stores lock is cheap as well. 04/08/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Seems sturdy, maybe a little wide? This was easy to assemble, easy to install. It is really easy to move back and allow the tailgate of the Blazer to open. My only complaint is that it seems like the arms of it are a little far apart - it wasn't easy to get my son's bike on. The straps feel very secure and after our drive to the park they didn't feel any looser than when we put them on! 08/23/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Awesome value We needed a 4 bike carrier for a 2 inch hitch. Price was almost too good a deal and we had some doubt about the quality. We were really surprised when we received it. The rack is strong and sturdy. Worked great with our 4 bikes, 2 adult and 2 bigger childs bikes. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a great deal... 07/21/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by good value Does exactly what it is supposed to do. The assembly was simple. It's much easier to mount the bikes if you rotate the holders to the inside then rotate them back once the bike is on the rack. 07/07/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by This is a very strong durable bike rack. It holds four bikes. I love not having to place bikes in my truck anymore. I have used it several times with no issue. Great product at an excellent price. 08/07/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very sturdy, very nice, does not wobble. This is very heavy duty, does not wobble and is very easy to use. We have used it a ton of times for 4 bikes and 10 hour trips at times :) 08/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike rack and excellent value I bought this product after reading reviews from other buyers. I thought the price was a little too low from all the comparision research I had done and was concerned it may not meet my expectations. Knowing I could return it to Wal-Mart, I went ahead and ordered this carrier. It was relatively easy to assemble and I've used it everyday for a couple of weeks now and would recommend it to someone wanting a 4 bike carrier. Instead of using a normal receiver pin, they have provided a bolt that you tighten down to eliminate any rattle from the carrier. This makes it a little harder when you need to remove the carrier for full access to the cargo area, but the end results are worth the effort. 07/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far so good We bought the bike carrier for our motorhome. It fits perfectly and sticks out far enough past the spare tire that we didn't need to removed it. It holds two adult bikes and two childrens bikes. Although my daughters bike is not equipped with a bar to use the rack appropriately, the bike rack straps they provide secure it adequately that we are not worried about it falling off. Although, we have not tested it on a road trip yet. 04/07/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Perfectly Simple The only reason I didn't give this rack 5 stars in every category is beacaue it bounces an awful lot if you have a bike at the very last position by itself. Other than that this thing is sound! I would drive across country with this thing and not have a worry in the world. It's extremely simple to put together and it folds easily as well. Would definitely recommend this rack! Made in USA too 09/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great rack for the money This bike rack is very sturdy and easy to assemble and attach. I'm a woman, and if I could do it myself, anyone can. I love the fact that it folds down a little to allow access to my lift gate, without having to take the rack off! The bikes are held securely and don't wiggle while riding. I would definately buy this again. 07/07/2012
  • 2016-03-24 T07:32:31.613-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_316, tr_316
  • loc_en_US, sid_10812001, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 282 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw465
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp