Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 224 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Value, buy a couple Walmart Plastic bungies Best Deal for the money. Have taken two bikes to the Lake. Worked great! Love the fold down aspect so one can get in the back end of the SUV while bikes are mounted. The rack performs well. Based on bike shop guy's recommendation, used some duct tape to wrap a hand towel around the post, this padding protected the bike from scuffing. (wife has a new, expensive Electra, no scratches allowed). The mounting bolt has an extra anti-wobble thingy built in if you tighten the bolt enough. A bungie helps keep front tire from wobbling. True on any rack. Walmart sells bungies that have plastic or hard rubber hooks. They are large and won't scratch your bike. As with any bike carrier, always use a Bike Rack Adapter Bar (goes from the handle bar neck to the seat post) when mounting a ladies bike. Walmart's inexpensive Allen adapter bar works OK, but... recommend getting the Yakima branded one at a sport shop. The Walmart Allen model has bare metal that could scuff your bike, the Yakima one is coated with something that resists scuffing. From experience, mount the Front tire to opposite side of car as your exhaust pipe. This prevents frying your bike tire. 06/05/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product for the price Good product great price. Pros:easy assembly, great price, holds bikes really well, able to pull pin on bracket to lean rack over for access to rear door, over all good rack Cons: hitch screw included was smaller than standard size, although screw came with anitwobble Fitting it still had alot of wobble during normal driving. Tip replacing the 3/8" hitch screw (included) with a 1/2 hitch pin (sold separetly) made the rack more stable... 04/14/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Hitch Bike Rack The deal is good but the product is made for the tradition mens bike with thin frames. I was able to find an adapter (called a bike beam) that allows womens bikes to fit BUT an added $40.00 for each beam. 03/08/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Nice Rack no pun intended This works as expected. It doesn't have the convenience options that a Thule or better brand would but great deal for the money. I put at least 1-2 bikes on there twice a week and no problems or worries. Straps have held strong, 2 months now. Only issue is that i have a 2" mount and you have to use the no-wobble bolt, works great but that makes it permanently attached for the most part because of the locking threads on the nut. If you try to use something else to secure it suchas a key locking-bolt for security purposes, it will wobble in the hitch. Great deal for the money, get what you pay for and then some! Ride 20" mountain bike fram, hardtail. 11/16/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Allen 3 Bike Rack VS Bell 2 Bike Rack The Allen bike rack will hold 3 bikes, where the Bell will hold 2. We only have 2 bikes to haul, but considered the Allen 3 Bike Rack simply to try and space our bikes further apart, so they didn't rub each other. The Allen Bike Rack is a much taller rack which places the bikes further up into the back window of our SUV. We found it harder to load the bike at the higher level (due to our height and weight). The Bell allows the bikes to be a lower level, not affecting the view out the back window as much, plus easier loading. Its true what other reviewers are saying about their concern on the receiver of the Allen 3 Bike Rack. The Allen Rack receiver has rounded corners instead of being squared off. Both the Allen and Bell Bike Rack will fit a 2" or 1 1/4" hitch. Both racks have spacer parts to leave on for the 2" hitches or remove the spacer for them to fit the smaller hitch. There tends to be some play in the connection of the Allen Receiver, due to rounded corners (where the Bell receiver is square and leaves no play). The Allen Receiver has to be installed and removed with 2 tools. Plus, the Allen uses a bolt that only slides into the side of its receiver with a nut screwed onto it. The No Wobble Bolt that Allen provides does take almost all of the play out of the rounded corner receiver. However, you have to be careful putting their bolt in the correct hole. There is a larger hole in the receiver for a larger bolt intended for the 2" hitch. The smaller hole intended for a smaller bolt is meant for the 1 1/4" hitch. We mistakenly slid the smaller bolt into the larger hole and the play was horrible. Trial and error, we found the problem. The Bell Receiver has a threaded hole in the receiver and a bolt that screws into it and then a nut that screws onto that. Bell includes 2 factory made tools in their packaging. It only takes ONE tool to install the nut, but they provide you an extra tool for another vehicle in case you switch the rack back and forth between vehicles. Takes a little more fumbling to install the Allen Bike Rack with the two tools, but overall its almost the same amount of time to remove either rack. The Allen Bike Rack has straps that feed back through a latch (much like a motorcycle helmet) to strap down the bikes, where the Allen 2 Bike Rack uses latches with velcro straps. Both racks pivot and both racks lay down the bike holder arms when you aren't transporting. While the Allen Bike Rack has used heavier steel (maybe because its meant to hold more weight), the Bell Bike Rack looked overall better to us. The Allen Bike rack will hold up to 100 pounds and its suggested you put the heaviest bike closest to the vehicle. The Bell Bike Rack will hold up to 70 pounds. The width of the arms that you feed the bikes onto varies on both units also. With my husband's bike, it was almost a tight fit on the Allen Bike Rack. The arms on the Allen are 16" wide to feed the bike up and onto. The Bell Bike Rack arms were 14" wide. For the Approx. $21 difference between the prices of the Bike Racks (with the Allen 3 bike rack being lower) AND with us only needing a rack to hold 2 bikes....we decided after comparing both units side by side, we were more impressed with Bell 2 Bike Rack and it fit our needs much better. Hope this review helps! 10/17/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by You get what you pay for... I'm really disappointed. I'm returning the product today. Everything about it seemed perfect, until... I went to bolt it to my SUV. The non-wobble bolt is not designed properly. The wobble factor is intense and scary; especially when you've spent a lot of money on your bikes and want to ensure they don't become road kill. I even took the rack to my local bike shop and asked for help to secure the rack to my SUV. No matter which way you sliced it, the rack wobbles. Apparently there are no threads inside the hitch connector for the non-wobble bolt to thread into - - ergo it wobbles. It is too bad, because everything else about this product is great! 03/20/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Allen bike rack I had a minor problem with hole alignment. I called Allen and they are shipping a new bike rack direct to my home. The rack is very solid and I can't imagine better service. 04/02/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Trailer Hitch Bike Carrier This bike rack is a very high quality product. Goes together very easily, directions not really required. It is sent in 3 main sub-assemblies that bolt together. There is a little slop in the fit to the receiver, but it is very solidly built. Good product at any price. 11/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by 3 bicycle hitch rack Very good product with great features. I like the fold down feature when not carring bicycles,also the strap that secures the bike in place. 10/20/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by WELL WORTH IT!! I ALMOST spent 150 - $200on a bike rack, SO glad I didn’t. This rack is great the ONLY negative is that there is no way to keep your bike/s from swinging back and forth while you drive, but I bungeed the peddle to the vertical bar and i was set. the 'no wobble' bolt works like a champ and makes my rack seem tighter in the hitch than my buddies $200 rack. oh yeah, its a 3 bike rack but I’m not sure I would try to cram 3 expensive bikes on it, but i would probably say the same for any rack on the market; just seems like a tight fit, but I’m sure it can be done. oh, one last thing, I did pad the vertical bar with a short piece of pipe insulation just to be sure my bike didn’t hit it when I brake. 09/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great bike rack for the price Quality is fine. the "anti-rattle" bolt is time consuming when installing and removing the rack from the hitch. It is ok if you leave the rack attached to the hitch. It would be better if it came with a quick release pin system. But the price is very reasonable and its build-quality I consider top-notch with all holes and welds being quite precise. The design has clever features that were new to me, such as being able to fold down the bike support arm when not in use so one doesn't accidentally run into it and also the ability to fold down the whole rack allowing quick and easy access through the rear door. The strap cinching system seemed cheap and goofy at first but after using it a few times I've now become quite adept at strapping and unstrapping the bikes to where it only takes a few seconds for me to do so. I now feel its quite clever in that this strapping system will accommodate any size bike tube (unlike some other bike racks I've had in the past). Its important to note that the spacing between the supports is quite wide at 14" and that might limit its use for smaller bikes, as our adult bikes just barely fit (with <2" to spare). All hitch mounted bike racks will wobble to some extent and that's why most have some sort of anti-wobble system that basically draws the bike rack tight to one side of the receiver to prevent it wobbling. Well, the anti-wobble bolt that is supplied with the bike rack works well for a 2" receiver hitch. The price at WalMart is incredible. Was almost $120 at Amazon. 05/27/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not a good product, I have a 2-inch hitch, this one is just going from side to side, then up and down... it could not fit in a 2" hitch, other than that it seems to hang 3 bikes 07/07/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Doesn't Function Well The bike rack is fine in most respects. However, the main feature I purchased it for does not work well. The rack is supposed to be able to fold down so that you can access the rear door to your SUV while it is still inserted in the hitch. Maybe it's just the rack I received and others work fine, but the one I received is VERY difficult to fold down and return to it's upright position as the holes don't align well and it takes a hammer to insert the pin again. Maybe other products at a higher price point are manufactured better? 03/25/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by bicycles in motion I bought this carrier because of the description on the Walmart site.It wasn't to hard to assemble except we didn't have a tool box with us in the parking lot & the carrier didn't come assembled or with any wrenches either.The description said very sturdy and no side to side movement. Not so. I had to buy rope , bungie cords and tape to try and keep the rack still.I had bought 3 new bikes for this carrier and the whole way home i was worried about the bikes and carrier getting home before me. 06/17/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Allen Sport Bike Rack - 3 bikes Heavy Duty, Allen bike rack for 3 bikes. Tightening the bolt thru the hitch takes out all side to side wobble. Excellent value for the $. 04/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bike Carrier...BUT... After researching hanging bike carriers, the Allen seemed to be the best value. I just bought my first bike after 40 years of not riding and needed one to put behind our motor home. If you're looking for a hanging type bike carrier, I'd definitely recommend looking at any of the Allen products. Sturdy, simple to use, well engineered and the lowest cost if you watch for on-line prices. After getting it, however, I decided I wanted more protection for 2 new expensive bikes and opted for a much more expensive Yakama cradle style carrier where both wheels are secure and bikes completely separated. My Walmart purchase and return experience was 5+ stars. Very easy to order on-line and used the ship to store option. Arrived at my local Walmart store for pickup and in this case a return. Much easier on bigger items. Walmart's price was much better than any on-line store. I was very pleased with the overall Walmart purchase experience, but unfortunately the Allen bike rack just wasn't the one for my purpose. 05/30/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Heavy and wabbly Had to buy a seperate extention to fit around the tire on my Jeep. This added to its weight and it rocks back and forth. I have to strap it to the tire to keep it stable. 07/16/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good rack if you don't mind rattles. The top part of the rack swings down when it's not in use. The pivot bolt and position locking pin must be loose enough to allow this swing. When the rack is in use, loaded with bike(s), the slack in these two elements are taken up by the weight of the bike(s), so there's no rattle. But when there's no load and the arm is folded down, both the pivot and the locking pin allow the upper arm to rattle with respect to the vertical post. Other, presumably more expensive, racks provide snap mechanisms that lock the swing arm in both the horizontal and the vertical positions, so there's no rattling. You get what you pay for. 06/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great way to carry your bikes I purchased this bike rack because I have used the trunk mount type before and they have scratched up my trunk as well as the bikes rubbing the bumper. This rack convienently folds up when not in use. I did have to cut 1/4" off the end that goes into the cars hitch because the 1/2" hole that was drilled would not line up with the hole in the hitch. I suppose it depends on what type of hitch and car you have, mine is a late model honda civic with a Hidden Hitch bolt on type. 03/12/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by sturdy but don't work with my 29 frame 03/02/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Serves its purpose Being new to bike riding had to get hitch on car and then bought this for hitch, dissapointed that it needs to be screwed on, so not an easy on / easy off product, and after the first time using it, i think the holes are off kilter so very hard to get it unlatched so that I can open my hatch or getting it hooked back up - its ok, but I wouldn't buy it again and some day down the road will look for something more user friendly, but for what I paid, need to use it for awhile. 05/28/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by useful Very easy to use. 01/02/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Disappointed - it was a used rack My experience ordering this rack from Walmart was not good. The rack was obviously used and repackaged. It had numerous scratches on it and appeared dirty. I declined to take it and later ordered a different one that arrived a week later. It is similar, but a 2 bike model, and works well. The second rack was in a sealed box, but the box was visibly damaged. Fortunately, the second rack was not damaged. 03/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to use Very easy to install . and well built will be going cross country .like the tilt for my truck. 04/25/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great value The bike rack was easy to assemble and seems to be very well built. Would like an easier way to attach to receiver hitch. 04/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bought this rack after loosing a bike from one with "bungee" type holddowns. The cradles are in fixed positions, the post end caps are bolted on and the tiedowns buckle. I don't think I'll have a problem with this one! 04/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why pay more? This "Deluxe 3 Bike Rack" is a great value. Includes bolts to prevent wobble. Tilts rearward and rack also folds. Why pay more?... 04/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A really cool product Just what I expected. Easy to assebmle and really functional. 09/29/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A great value I was sceptical about purchasing this item via the internet without actually viewing it. I read all of the reviews and most were positive, so I ordered it. I was surprised and very pleased by how sturdy the bike rack actually was. I really expected it to be kind of cheap, because of the price, but it's very sturdy and well made. It was very easy to install and it only took about 5-10 minutes to mount on my vehicle. 10/26/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Solid Rack It's a very solid, non-rattling rack. My only issues are that it's a bit slanted. So it doesn't look that great. And pulling the pin to lean the rack back is very hard to remove. I use a book or whatever is handy to beat on it. 10/26/2012
1-30 of 193 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew310
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp