Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 316 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by sturdy but has its limitations This product is only made for for Plain Regular bikes If you have a cruiser or a bike with wide bars.. your gonna have trouble I tried loading my cruiser on the rack, and because the bar was too wide it didnt sit in the holder too good...and as i tried it tighten down the buckle it broke - Note:- the Buckles (that hold the bicycle down) are made of plastic. Its real easy to install ...and i did it without any trouble having never installed one before 2 - be very careful if you have a spoiler I have a 2004 corolla with a factory spoiler and the rack took some of the paint of....you might want to put some tape on the point where the rack touches it or something like that Hope this review was helpful 03/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by One tough bike rack. I bought this model initially because it was the least expensive, one on the site. When it arrived though, I was immediately impressed with it's construction, and fit. This bicycle carrier is really easy to install, and remove. Make a few slight adjustments, and its ready to go. It holds the bike firmly in place, I use a rifle cable lock around the front wheel and frame to hold the wheel straight and keep it off my taillight but that's the only problem I had with it in the 4 times I've used it so far. 05/28/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Bike Rack Review Date: June 22, 2010 I decided to finally buy a bike so I can enjoy the outdoors. To transport the bike, I did ALOT of research on the different bike racks available on the market. I looked at bike racks at Walmart, Sports Authority, Dicks Sporting Good, REI, and local bike stores in the D.C. area. I also looked at the different web retailers and the comments section on Amazon, eBay, Walmart.com, SportsAuthority.com, and others. After this pretty extensive research, I decided on the Allen Deluxe 2-Bike carrier that I bought via the Site-to-Store option on Walmart.com. Total price (including tax and Free shipping to store) = $39.96. First off, that is the least expensive bike rack you'll find. I received the rack a week after placing the order. Installation of the rack is SUPER EASY. It is stable against the trunk (I own a 2002 Dodge Stratus sedan), with nice cushions to protect the paint on the car. (make sure to pull the straps tight) Yet it is still very light weight. I bought a bike at Walmart and it took virtually no time at all to secure the bike to the bike rack. I drive daily on I-270 in the D.C. area, about 32 miles each way to and from work, and the bike doesn't move at all. Best of all, as soon as I find someone who'd like to bike as well, the rack has plenty of room to accommodate their bike. I'd absolutely recommend this bike rack for everyone. Hope this helps! Regards Shankar 06/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very nice product! We travelled about 700 miles at 55 to 65 mph with this bike carrier and didn't have any problem! I am impressed with the quality and price. Highly recommended! 06/25/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredibly well built Well worth the few extra dollars. No plastic connectors to break. This looks like it's built for years of service. Easy to attach, even on a hatchback. The ship to store was fast and easy, too. Great experience. It was exactly what I wanted... and a hundred dollars less than a comparable one at my local bike shop. Yeah, Walmart. 03/28/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value for the money This is an excellent entry level bike carrier priced to please. It is not quite as stable as a bike carrier with 4 -6 straps, however they also cost 2 - 3 times as much. It is easy to mount to my Ford Escape and I am able to transport two bicycles without any problems. 06/12/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Great Product, just not for certain bikes... Purchased this product to carry two mountain bikes on my car. Was very easy to install and seemed very sturdy. However, I didn't realize until I got it that it could not be used with my mountain bikes. There is no place to hook the bikes on due to the way their frames are made. Wish the manufacturer would have specified what types of bikes this carrier worked with instead of saying "accomidates a wide range of bicycles"...overall its a great product, just be aware that it does not fit some of the mountain bikes, particarlly the NEXT mountain bikes like I have. Sadly, had to return the product. 04/08/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Better than expected At about $40 it was a great value and yet really performed. We took it on the interstate with no problem. It goes on/off quickly and we are able to use it on multiple cars, SUVs, and a mini-van. 09/13/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Buy this!!! I was wanting to take advantage of the new bike trails that San Antonio has developed in its park systems. I was interested in the more expensive 2 bike rack by Allen, just because of the space saving design. Even though most of the reviews were good, I saw a few that concerned me. I also noticed that this model had even better reviews, so I bought this one (especially since I was going to save $20). I had never used a bike rack and was nervous about using it. Nevertheless, I opened this one up and set it up in no time. Once I put this on my car, a 2005 Malibu Classic, and wasn't really quite sure if it would do the job. I had quickly read the instructions and looked at the pictures, and set this on my car easily. I own a basic mountain bike, and it went on the just as quick as the rack went on the car. My neighborhood has a lot of streets that are under construction so they are pretty bumpy. After strapping it in, I took it for a 3 miles or so on some bumpy roads and uphill and downhill just to test it out. When I arrived back at home, the rack was on as secure as when I left the house. I was a little dissappointed to read in the reviews that it did not work with all mountain bikes as I had wanted to buy a better mountain bike with suspension on front and rear. However, I wanted to give it a shot, so I went to Walmart and bought a Next Power X bike, the kind that has a seat post that doesn't go all the way to the bottome because of the suspension with the spring. Did a little bit of measuring at the store and went ahead and bought, thinking I might have to fuss with it a little bit in order to stay on. Got it on in no time as the holders for the frame rotate easily to accomadate different types of bike. I'm sure it doesn't accomadate all types of bikes, but it sure helped me to transport my new bike without any problems and without the hassle of trying to bug someone with a pickup truck to do me a favor and transport the bike home. I now I can enjoy all those new trails! 10/30/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by You need to know the metal clips that connect to your car will scratch the paint w/o a piece of rubber or cloth. The product is excellent just understand this short coming. 05/16/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great complement to buying a bike. I love bike riding, however, I'm not comfortable riding alone--my riding partner lives 20 miles away, so having a car carrier for my bike was critical. I bought this one in store and am very pleased with it. If you're concerned whether this rack works with your car--you can confirm this on Allen's website before making this purchase--just go to www.allenracks.com. I'm highly pleased that the bike is secured on the rack and the rack causes no damage and is easily installed/removed from the car (I have a P.T. Cruiser). There is no drilling or bolting involved--this works entirely on straps that are secured by tension. It takes me roughly 15 min. to install the rack and bike on the car, which I feel is very reasonable. 09/05/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by High quality but blocks license plate This is an extremely well made strap on bike rack and it is rated to fit my year Camry. However, there is absolutely no way to put it on without completely blocking the license plate. I'm almost certain that a cop can write a ticket for that so it is a source of stress when I ride with the bike on the back. 06/06/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worst rack I ever used The rack broke on a freeway. The aluminium came out of the supporting hole. My bike almost drop in the road. I had to take an emergency stop. Ultimately took the bike in the car. This one is going back to store tomorrow. 03/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by the discovery comes in parts so I bought a bike and bike rack using ship to store. great employees at ship to store by the way. anyway, I bought the bike rack for the bike I was buying. I thought I could easily put it together in the parking lot. It was easy enough, but I had to ask people if they had a knife on them. I looked crazy, but at least my bike was pretty. Eventually a lady had one and she actually helped me put the bike rack together. I love stories of compassion. and that not everybody who shops at walmart are in a rush to get in and out. It was a very good experience, and the bike rack was SOLID. 09/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good product and great value. It works great with the bike I purchased, which is a woman's bike. The bike has a slanted bar, so it works - you just have to tilt the bike to make it work. I also found it easy to install on my KIA Sportage (SUV). 04/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by good product Easy to install. Very secure. Works on cars with spoilers. 04/11/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 Disappointing This is very handy because it doesn't need a trailer hitch. However, it requires too much effort to take off, put on frequently. More important, when you put the bike on, it swings back and forth. It's secure, but will swing and hit the car if you hit a bump. AND, putting it on requires tying straps to it. Finally, it's mainly meant for a men's bike. You have to connect it to the back fork for a woman's. Very disappointing... 06/04/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Two Bikes is Very Optimistic This carrier is really only equipped for 1 bike. The weight restrictions are unrealistic. The average bike weighs 35lbs minimum but the restrictions of this carrier are 50 lbs - then if you add the adaptor for womens bikes, which weighs 3lbs by itself, you have a sagging bike rack that you are constanyly checking because the bikes wiggle all over the place....and yes, it was installed properly. I am VERY dissappointed. 09/18/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works wonderful for me This bike rack fits great on my 2002 Ford Escort. I had my doubts, since my car was not on the list of cars that it would fit, but I was pleasantly surprised whenever I got it out to the car and installed it without any trouble. It didn't include any sort of manual or instruction sheet. It wasn't difficult, but it would have been nice knowing exactly what to do. Held 2 bikes easily (a 24" and a 26") and stood up well to going 70mph down the interstate. Little movement when tightened down properly- no movement once I used a bungee cord to hook the tires of the two bikes together. Works wonderfully! (Might update later- going to add a rear child carrier to the back of both bikes, and we will see if they both still fit!) 02/22/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Rack for Great Price I used this bike rack on my 2000 Pontiac Bonneville with factory spoiler on my 1000 mile move from Michigan to Arkansas. I carried two schwinn mountain bikes and everything worked great. I would definitely recommend this rack to anyone either for long trips or quick excursions. 08/30/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Piece of cake I purchase this product right before making a 2,000 mile trek across the United States. This product held up through the whole trip. It was very easy to set up and load a bike on and off of and came off of the vehicle just as easy as it went on. Very nice and sturdy, very pleasesd. 10/01/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worked great We bought this rack to bring my classic (ole school )bike home. My dad brought this bike from California to New Mexico. We purchased the rack to haul the bike from New Mexico to Missouri. it is a simple thing to use, just attaches to ur car trunk with two straps. The weight of the bike holds the rack in place. We had just purchased a new car so we didn't want to risk scratching the trunk lid. So we used two microfiber cloths under the two rubber things on the rack that sits on the trunk lid.We drove over 900 miles with this rack on the back with my classic riding on the the rack. Had no problems at all, and if anyone's driven I-40 across country u know the roads are super uneven and bumpy. Rack never even moved. Great product for the price. 05/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for a sedan and 2 bikes It was exactly what me and my girlfriend needed. We like to travel with our bikes to trails, so this made it easy and convenient. It fits most vehicle types. It is easy to set up and break down. This is perfect for the casual bike rider. 03/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good rack for the cost. It is easy to install and can easily fit in the trunck while riding. A woman's bike can be mounted with minor adjustment. 10/22/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Well the first time I used this bike rack the strap that holds the bike down snaped. Luckily I had some zip tips and used that to get home. I will be returning this bike rack this week. 09/07/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by I guess its okay I drive a ford explorer and installing was a piece of cake. The only problem is my bicycle is a female schwinn ranger and its almost impossible to attach it the bars are too thick. I would take it back BUT don't have the box so I plan on selling it. I suppose if you have a male bike it would fit great I am not really sure. If all you have is a female bike don't buy this it won't work. 04/03/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by no specific details Walmarts listing does not state that this rack will only fit specific vehicles. You are not aware of this until you have spent your time and money on getting this item and it shows a list on the back of the box. Before you purchase this item, make sure it fits your vehicle by going to the makers website and locate your car. 10/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works Well with Single Bike The mechanically inclined will have no problem setting this up. Be sure and watch the video and read instructions. So far I have only used the carrier with one bike. I would not feel confident carrying two bikes, not because I think the carrier would fail but because I would be afraid the weight bearing hooks and rubber pads would bend or distort my trunk lid if I so much as hit a pot hole in the road. I travel only a short distance on smooth roads before I ride and check the tension on the fittings often. So far the carrier has performed as I hoped and has been easy to loan and unload. 08/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by From Stillwater, OK to Duluth, MN and back. About 2000 miles. Two bikes - mountain and heavy cruiser. NO problem! 08/27/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great inexpensive bike rack I bought this rack because of the low price and the excellent reviews, and I'm glad I did. It's very fast and easy to install, so I can keep it in the trunk and whip it out whenever I need it. It seems to work just fine, and it held the bike securely during the short 5-10 mile trips that I've taken to various parks and lakes. The Twin Cities metro area has hundreds of miles of trails, and now I can really take advantage of them:) Don't spend $100 or more on a bike rack when this one is just as good! 08/24/2012
1-30 of 265 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.