See All Reviews
The Secret Life Of Bees (Widescreen)
The Secret Life Of Bees (Widescreen)
$5.45
List Price: $9.98
You Save: $4.53 (45%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 219 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very heartwarming; excellent acting This movie is very heartfelt & includes a supurb cast of actors. 06/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful and meaningful This movie is now my all time favorite! Dakota Fanning shows true maturity in this move when it come to romance. I thought her and Tristian wilds on screen love affair was so sweet and real. August (Queen Latifa) was heart warming, and soulful. June got on my last nerves in the beginning, but grew a kind heart in the end. May's fun, and loving personality brought the film to life, and Rosealen (Jeniffer Hudson) was a wonderful add to the movie. I didn't like the ending too well, for some reason I wanted I wish they would have showed how she coped with having four mothers and no father. Overall this movie is wonderful. It will make you cry so bring a pack of kleenex or a roll of tissue. 05/06/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!!! THIS MOVIE IS GREAT!!! WILL DEFINITELY TUG AT YOUR HEART STRINGS!!!!! ALL THE STARS IN THIS MOVIE ARE WONDERFUL!!!! DON'T MISS OUT ON ADDING THIS TO YOUR COLLECTION!!!!! DAKOTA FANNING IS AWESOME!!!!! 02/06/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great movie! I saw the movie when it first came out in the theaters, read the book and now I have the DVD. Loved the movie and it was true to the book. Great actresses! 09/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by heart warming this movie is very warm and delightful, good movie night in. 10/02/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Possum This is very easily one of my very favorite movies. I do not say that very often either. This movie is about an abused daughter who accidentaly killed her mother when she was four years old and lived with her abusive father every since. then one day when her african-american nanny gets beat up and sent to the hospital, the little girl, lily, goes to her and they run off to stay with a very religious family. There is much, much more if you watch it, and it will get to your heart. Watch this movie, and you will be glad you did. This movie ROCKED! Live On. 03/30/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Movie!! This movie is amazing. It has all the right people in it and this is very heartwarming! 03/07/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really enjoyable family movie This is a great movie especially to enjoy with your mom and sisters but also with the entire family! 02/24/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the Best Movies This was a movie that touched my heart and made me laugh. Queen Latifah is such an extraordinary person and she did an incredible job. Dakota Fanning is such a wonderful actress. This instantly became a favorite movie. 02/24/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Inspiring This is a very good learning tool for all generations. If you are not up on the long ago treatment of the black people this will give you the tool you need not to do this to a person. God created us all no matter the color of our skin. We all need a helping hand some point in our lives. Therefore it could be the hand that gives you a piece of bread of a drink of water to help you on your journey on life highways. 02/15/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Secret Life of Bees Great story line as was the book. Queen Latiefah and Dakota Manning were both great in their roles. Why doesn't Hollywood get the message that we want more movies like this!! Worth the money and time!! 11/30/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent film! Very touching. Dakota Fanning rocks! Great cast, good performances. 11/29/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by It Was Touching I thought this movie was touching and a spirit lifter. It made me bawl about four times,because Lily(Dakota Fanning) didn't have a mother; and when Queen Latifah treated her like a mother, it just touched me in ways i'll always remember. I ABSOLOUTLY RECOMEND THIS MOVIE, AND I WILL DEFFINATLY BE BUYING THIS MOVIE ON DVD. 11/28/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing I adored this movie. Since I had read the book twice, I was concerned I wouldn't like the movie as much. However, this is one of the few movies that actually are just as fabulous as their book. Every single actor was perfectly cast. I am entranced by Dakota Fanning. She portrayed Lilly perfectly. Queen Latifah made me love August even more. Sophie as May was exquisite. I think her role was quite demanding to strike just the right balance of her character. I'm disappointed in the critics' reviews because they seem to miss the whole point of this movie. I hope some awards go to everyone in this film. 11/28/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Very Pleasant Surprise This was almost the little sleeper movie that got away from me. After being bombarded by action-packed movies for the last several weeks, "Bees" was a welcome change. Although the movie is categorized as "Action/Adventure," that is NOT the case. This was a drama - a powerful one at that. Dakota Fanning was terrific in the lead role with a strong performance by Queen Latifah. I was deeply touched by this film and would recommend it to those who are looking for something with more substance that much of what is being released this fall. Prepare to be pleasantly surprised - and bring the Kleenex! 11/26/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW!! It was a tearjerker!! This movie was amazing... The cast was incredible... This is a heartwarming film and i would defintley recommond to anyone.. 11/23/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty Good Movie I read the book several times, so was concerned about seeing the movie. It's never as good as the book, in my opinion. But I think they did a pretty good job in adapting the book to the screen. It didn't quite capture the feeling of the book, but it's still a good movie, and worth seeing. This movie was touching, sad, funny. I thought the scenes of what black people had to go through at that period in time, were a good lesson for those of us who didn't live through that time period. I want my daughters to see this movie, just for that reason. Many sniffles during this movie, so be forewarned. Very uplifting, though. 11/23/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed this one.... My friend and i really enjoyed this movie. Parts were painful to watch, but an unfortunate part of our history. I thought the acting was terrific. It made me want to read the book again.... 11/22/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's a Bee Stinger!!! Ouch!!! It's not the worse film, but it's certainly a least favorite of its kind. This film has no depth, it is a period piece set in the Southeast (1963/64) during the civil rights movement. This is a story of a lonely, motherless girl living with her father, who runs away with one of his hired hands (a negro woman, and now felon) in an attempt to find the love, and identity. Though the cast is a draw for fans, this is not a movie you'll want to add to your library, good plot, poor screen-writing. A disappointment to those who enjoy good screen-writing!!! Read the book, the film isn't at all fascinating. 11/17/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth Seeing Set around 1964 and the signing of the equal rights act. It shows, maybe superficially, the segregation and racisim that pervaded the time. It touches on many issues concerning loss and finding your way in the world. Not the best movie but certainly not the worst. Worth seeing if you are unfamiliar with the overt hate and racisim that was not only tolerated, but encouraged, during this horrible time in America. 11/16/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Heartfelt movie about the real times in America. A part of history that was painful to watch but fact. 11/14/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by absolutely fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is one of the best movies that I have seen in a long time. Touching, exciting, realistic, I will see it again!!!!!! this should qualify for Best Picture, Actress and Supporting Actress! I LOVED IT, YES TAKE THE KLEENEX BOX 11/12/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent This movie was great. Bring tissues, very sad but excellent, just like the book. The acting was good too. 11/11/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by meaningful viewing Loved the book; didn't want it to end or to part with the amazing characters. I was bit leery as to how they could be 'enacted' on screen, in under two hours. SUCCESS! I should have known, Sue Monk Kidd wouldn't have it any other way. Well cast, beautifully lit, poignantly portrayed. 11/09/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by While waiting for another to begin.. I sat in this movie for about 15 minutes while waiting for another to start and didn't want to leave. Glad I didn't. Latifah and Fanning were decent, as was the movie itself. Typically, not my kind of movie, but it was worth the sit. 11/07/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Movie in a LONG time I would recommend to everyone! This is one of the best movies I have seen in a long time!! You will need to bring the tissue! Great casting too! 11/06/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bring your tissue! My 16 yr old read the book last year. When she learned of the movie she begged me to take her to see it. So last Sunday we had our mother/daughter day and watching The Secret Life of Bees was a part of it. I hadn't read the book so to me the movie was great! But to a 16 yr old that has read the book, it was a disappointment. I had to explain to her that movies don't always portray books word for word, plot by plot. Overall she liked the movie but of course loved the book better. I have already recommended this movie to a few of my girlfriends. And I've told them to take a box of Kleenex. 11/05/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by engrossingly felt From the first opening scene, the movie was completely engrossing. Every character was so real .( No cliches here!) I had tears of sadness, joy and love. Every character was so sincere and heartfelt. 11/04/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful adaptation of the book The movie is quite true to the book with only the kind of changes required for the change from print to video. The cast is amazing. From August to T-Ray, everyone was "spot on". Even the locations were exactly what I had imagined. 11/04/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Secret Life of Bees I really enjoyed the movie. I generally will see a movie twice a year and this movie brought me to tears as well as my sister. The issues touched in the movie should compel every person of color to go VOTE for the prices paid by our forerunners. I think Jennifer Hudson should stick to roles with singing opposed to trying the role in this movie that needed a more "seasoned" actress, otherwise, it was a thumbs up on all counts. 11/03/2008
1-30 of 213 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw513
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp