See All Reviews
Secret Life of Bees (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)
Secret Life of Bees (Blu-ray) (Widescreen)
List Price: $19.99
You Save: $7.86 (39%)
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 203 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Secret Life Of Bees (Marginal) An OK film but definately not a classic. The screen play was not that good and acting was marginal. 05/31/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Secret Life of Bees Great story line as was the book. Queen Latiefah and Dakota Manning were both great in their roles. Why doesn't Hollywood get the message that we want more movies like this!! Worth the money and time!! 11/30/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent film! Very touching. Dakota Fanning rocks! Great cast, good performances. 11/29/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by It Was Touching I thought this movie was touching and a spirit lifter. It made me bawl about four times,because Lily(Dakota Fanning) didn't have a mother; and when Queen Latifah treated her like a mother, it just touched me in ways i'll always remember. I ABSOLOUTLY RECOMEND THIS MOVIE, AND I WILL DEFFINATLY BE BUYING THIS MOVIE ON DVD. 11/28/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing I adored this movie. Since I had read the book twice, I was concerned I wouldn't like the movie as much. However, this is one of the few movies that actually are just as fabulous as their book. Every single actor was perfectly cast. I am entranced by Dakota Fanning. She portrayed Lilly perfectly. Queen Latifah made me love August even more. Sophie as May was exquisite. I think her role was quite demanding to strike just the right balance of her character. I'm disappointed in the critics' reviews because they seem to miss the whole point of this movie. I hope some awards go to everyone in this film. 11/28/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by A Very Pleasant Surprise This was almost the little sleeper movie that got away from me. After being bombarded by action-packed movies for the last several weeks, "Bees" was a welcome change. Although the movie is categorized as "Action/Adventure," that is NOT the case. This was a drama - a powerful one at that. Dakota Fanning was terrific in the lead role with a strong performance by Queen Latifah. I was deeply touched by this film and would recommend it to those who are looking for something with more substance that much of what is being released this fall. Prepare to be pleasantly surprised - and bring the Kleenex! 11/26/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW!! It was a tearjerker!! This movie was amazing... The cast was incredible... This is a heartwarming film and i would defintley recommond to anyone.. 11/23/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Pretty Good Movie I read the book several times, so was concerned about seeing the movie. It's never as good as the book, in my opinion. But I think they did a pretty good job in adapting the book to the screen. It didn't quite capture the feeling of the book, but it's still a good movie, and worth seeing. This movie was touching, sad, funny. I thought the scenes of what black people had to go through at that period in time, were a good lesson for those of us who didn't live through that time period. I want my daughters to see this movie, just for that reason. Many sniffles during this movie, so be forewarned. Very uplifting, though. 11/23/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Enjoyed this one.... My friend and i really enjoyed this movie. Parts were painful to watch, but an unfortunate part of our history. I thought the acting was terrific. It made me want to read the book again.... 11/22/2008
Rated 3 out of 5 by It's a Bee Stinger!!! Ouch!!! It's not the worse film, but it's certainly a least favorite of its kind. This film has no depth, it is a period piece set in the Southeast (1963/64) during the civil rights movement. This is a story of a lonely, motherless girl living with her father, who runs away with one of his hired hands (a negro woman, and now felon) in an attempt to find the love, and identity. Though the cast is a draw for fans, this is not a movie you'll want to add to your library, good plot, poor screen-writing. A disappointment to those who enjoy good screen-writing!!! Read the book, the film isn't at all fascinating. 11/17/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Worth Seeing Set around 1964 and the signing of the equal rights act. It shows, maybe superficially, the segregation and racisim that pervaded the time. It touches on many issues concerning loss and finding your way in the world. Not the best movie but certainly not the worst. Worth seeing if you are unfamiliar with the overt hate and racisim that was not only tolerated, but encouraged, during this horrible time in America. 11/16/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful Heartfelt movie about the real times in America. A part of history that was painful to watch but fact. 11/14/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by absolutely fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is one of the best movies that I have seen in a long time. Touching, exciting, realistic, I will see it again!!!!!! this should qualify for Best Picture, Actress and Supporting Actress! I LOVED IT, YES TAKE THE KLEENEX BOX 11/12/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent This movie was great. Bring tissues, very sad but excellent, just like the book. The acting was good too. 11/11/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by meaningful viewing Loved the book; didn't want it to end or to part with the amazing characters. I was bit leery as to how they could be 'enacted' on screen, in under two hours. SUCCESS! I should have known, Sue Monk Kidd wouldn't have it any other way. Well cast, beautifully lit, poignantly portrayed. 11/09/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by While waiting for another to begin.. I sat in this movie for about 15 minutes while waiting for another to start and didn't want to leave. Glad I didn't. Latifah and Fanning were decent, as was the movie itself. Typically, not my kind of movie, but it was worth the sit. 11/07/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Movie in a LONG time I would recommend to everyone! This is one of the best movies I have seen in a long time!! You will need to bring the tissue! Great casting too! 11/06/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bring your tissue! My 16 yr old read the book last year. When she learned of the movie she begged me to take her to see it. So last Sunday we had our mother/daughter day and watching The Secret Life of Bees was a part of it. I hadn't read the book so to me the movie was great! But to a 16 yr old that has read the book, it was a disappointment. I had to explain to her that movies don't always portray books word for word, plot by plot. Overall she liked the movie but of course loved the book better. I have already recommended this movie to a few of my girlfriends. And I've told them to take a box of Kleenex. 11/05/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by engrossingly felt From the first opening scene, the movie was completely engrossing. Every character was so real .( No cliches here!) I had tears of sadness, joy and love. Every character was so sincere and heartfelt. 11/04/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful adaptation of the book The movie is quite true to the book with only the kind of changes required for the change from print to video. The cast is amazing. From August to T-Ray, everyone was "spot on". Even the locations were exactly what I had imagined. 11/04/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Secret Life of Bees I really enjoyed the movie. I generally will see a movie twice a year and this movie brought me to tears as well as my sister. The issues touched in the movie should compel every person of color to go VOTE for the prices paid by our forerunners. I think Jennifer Hudson should stick to roles with singing opposed to trying the role in this movie that needed a more "seasoned" actress, otherwise, it was a thumbs up on all counts. 11/03/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top the Charts Tear-Jerker!! One poor woman behind me didn't heed the suggestions of those who'd gone before her to "bring tissues!" I grabbed a handful of napkins to go with my popcorn and used them all to blot up leaky eyes and nose. Whew!! That has to be the best tear-jerker I've ever seen. I love a good cry at the movies. You couldn't have asked for a better cast. The costumes were fabulous. But do heed the advice of the reviewers and "Bring Tissue!" 11/03/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by The Secret Life of Bees I thought this movie was a wonderful way to spend an afternoon. The movie was touching and moving and the acting was great. This movie makes you remember that even though we all have our own issues that we must face, we are all connected. I would absolutely recommend this movie to a friend and probably go along to watch it again. 11/03/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Heartfelt! The characters had depth, the story was mystical and real, the setting an unsettling reminder of times not so far removed from now, and the emotions the picture evoked were connected to our common human experience. Hollywood throws lots of images at us, many which have little impact, meaning or value. This spoke to anyone willing to listen and hear. Oscar worthy plus more. Kudos to Jada and Will (go Philly!) and all who contributed. Stay in the light. 11/02/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Bring tissues We do not watch TV and rarely see movies so I am not under the spell of Hollywood. I often clearly see errors in films and sets. But this film had me. It was all I could do to not sob in the back row from the believable characters and emotional events. I would have liked to seen more development in Hudson's role. Fanning was terrific. What a lovely group of women. Dreamy set, the bees lost out a bit in the film. Okonedo followed up Hotel Rwanda with another stellar performance. 11/02/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by So On Time I had no illusions of great expecations for this film. I only went because my co-worker wanted to see it. I was shocked and pleasantly surprised at the quality, depth, and sophistication of this movie! Dakota Fanning had my attention from the beginning to the end! She has truly matured and makes you love her all over again as when you saw her in Man on Fire. Latifah was certainly a Queen Bee and her demeaner and role softened her in ways I didn't think possible. Alicia Keys was believable dispite her beauty and Okenedo is a rare jewel. The scenery brought tears of memories of joy when food was food; and the whole story line renewed my decision to vote regardless of how long the lines are! 11/02/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Beautiful Movie A great, heartwarming story with superb acting. Dakota Fanning was sensational, as were the rest of the cast members. The racism angle was carefully conceived so as not to be too graphic, yet the impact remained strong. The sets were stunning. Part of our family had read the book, the other part had not yet read it, but all agree it's a great story and a wonderful depiction of life in the mid-60's in the Deep South. I highly recommend it. 11/02/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 The Secret Life of Bees Insightful, enjoyable and good acting. The story was an exception one and made the afternoon relaxing. 11/02/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Story A very good story - well presented. I thoroughly enjoyed this film and would recomend it to others. 11/01/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonderful Movie From Start to finish this movie has spunk. A drama that spirals out of control when a young girl who deals with the inner battle of killing her mother at a young age in this 60's era. Starring noble Women of today's time this all star cast succeeds and has you filled with laughter,heartache, and joy from beginning to end. A heart warming tale that deserves the best of the best at any up coming awards ceremony. 11/01/2008
1-30 of 203 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.