Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 79 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good value for the price My husband and I have purchased 4 of these heaters over a period of about two years or so, and three of them are still going strong. One stopped working after the first year. We have found that these heaters heat smaller rooms better than large ones. On really cold days or nights, it's best to turn them on at least an hour before you want to enter the room. I really like the fact that it has an automatic tip over switch. It came in handy when one of our dogs decided to use our living room as a race track. It turned off automatically before the heater hit the ground. After using two of the heaters this past month on medium heat, we noticed that our heating bill increased by about $100. I'm not sure if this is attributable to the wattage use or the fact that it just seems a little colder out this year. Also, the heater in our master bedroom has tripped our circuit and shut itself off on at least two occasions when my husband has increased the temperature from medium to high heat. So I do like the safety features that these heaters have. I also like the fact that you can push the heater out of the way due to its relatively small size. Its portability is really convenient. It's a good value overall, and it has worked better than some of the oil-filled heaters that tend to be more expensive and that take much longer to heat. I am pleased with our purchases overall. It would be nice if it had a timer. If you keep it on overnight with the door shut, the room gets really hot. 12/06/2008
Rated 4 out of 5 by Heats Very Large Room In 5 Minutes The size of the heater will discourage you. The price of it is exceptional because it goes for double and above at any other retailer. It is easiest to operate. It has a 3 prong plug so be prepared. The on and off switch is the only thing that shuts off the heater; that protective feature if tipped over works proficiently. If that happens in the process of carrying it tilted, position it and leave it be then turn it on and it should operate properly. You can position it against a wall unlike most other heaters that have to have a 3-foot radius of space. The heater adjusts automatically to the temperature in the room, but it is favorable to check and adjust the dial until you hear the click. It has a convenient (built into the body of the heater) handle to carry sufficiently. Keep the grate free from lint and debris using a dry lint-free cloth as preventative maintenance. The flow of the heat/air is located at the bottom so it flows to the floor. The room it is used for is over 17-feet by 21-feet (got tired of measuring) and is not well-insulated and the heater was turned on and dialed to highest and door closed and went downstairs grabbed a juice-box for toddler and returned and the room was uncomfortably warm; dialed down the heater until the click and toasty has been the experience ever since. Michigan on day/night 3 below, the heater does this room well. Continuous running of this heater does not cause any hinderance. My toddler got curious and passed it and said "hot" and never goes near it unlike the other heater. But I do not suggest that you stand in front of the heater even if you can stand the flow of heat. When running, the body of the heater does stay cool to the touch, but always carry it by the handle for safety purposes. Also when on, the noise is quiet and not bothersome. 03/10/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent heater I bought this heater almost two years ago, and it works better than two other larger ones we have. It is a powerhouse that keeps going. You'll need to keep the fan area clean, as the top vents pull air in to blow out the bottom vents. I think I had to clean it out once or twice in a year. The larger heaters we have only heat and run for a few minutes and then cut off for what seems like a very long time. On the highest setting, this little heater will run continuously. The only problem I have is that I was stupid and sold the thing at a garage sale. I will be going to purchase another one! 12/05/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Warms me up! I purchased this product for my apartment, it gets very cold in the winter time. It is fairly small, but it really heats it up in no time so I don't think it would have much trouble with a larger space. It is pretty quiet also. I like the fact that once you get comfortable, you can turn the knob down and it will automatically regulate to keep your room at that temperature. All in all, I have really enjoyed it! 02/10/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by EXCELLENT GARAGE HEATER I purchased one in 2 of 2006 and I bought this second one to assist the other one. A single one will heat a 10.5 ft. x 25 ft garage that has air leaks to 68 degrees farenheit and maintain that temp as long as the heater is on mid to high level. The outside temp can be 35 or in the 20's and the single heater will keep 68. Two of them if you like the area warmer will definitely do the job.Be careful because temp can get 80 or higher with 2 of these heaters. If heater fails to turn on try shaking the heater because the tipover does get stuck at times. All in all I highly recommend the Lasko Model 5812 Automatic Air Flow heater 01/22/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful heater I ordered this heater to replace an old one. This heater is so much more than expected! It warms my bedroom with no problem, even when temps are in the teens. It is so quiet, you forget it is running. My Power bill actually decreased after I started using it. I would recommend this heater for any one. 03/31/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best money I have ever spent! First thing I was GREATLY surprised and pleased by was how fast Walmart and FedEx shipped my order! YAY FOR WALMART! I received my package a full TWO DAYS EARLIER than the earliest expected received date! But now on to the review.. For those of you considering other heaters, DON'T!! This heater is hands down the best money I have ever spent! My fiance and I just moved into a 1000 sq ft trailer on private land that is heated ONLY by fuel oil. Between upstate NY fall and winters, the prices of fuel oil these days, and the fact that trailers are NOTORIOUS for not holding heat; this can be a very expensive bill. We were looking at supplementing with electric heaters to try and cut our bills a bit. We have the small Sunbeam heaters at work so we knew they heated well but ONLY in small spaces, so we were looking at having to buy multiples and spending almost the same amount of money as if we were to heat with fuel oil alone. I stumbled across this heater and decided to take a chance based on others reviews. I've had this heater for just over an hour and already our whole trailer is comfortably toasty! The money I saved on buying this one heater rather than multiple smaller heaters or using only fuel oil was well worth the chance I took. I am absolutely in love! If you are reading these reviews and wondering if it is worth the chance, TAKE IT! By all means, take it! You won't regret it! 09/21/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what I expected at all. It's probably my fault that I didn't read the details carefully enough, but this heat is much smaller than I expected. I gave it a try, but it just didn't put out enough heat for any of the rooms in my house. I live in 100+ yr old Victorian and the rooms are pretty big. I would have put it in one of the bathrooms, but the manual specifically said not to use it in bathroom or laundry room. I couldn't tell for sure I think it was hairdrier style heater which means it's got a thin metal coil in it. They don't retain heat well, and can easily over powered in a drafty room. Your money would be much better spend on ceramic or quartz heater. 01/20/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by It just never stops blowing! I would have given this heater a top rating, but one feature about it, I highly dislike. It never stops running. Although it has a thermostat, it keeps blowing as long as the switch is on. I think the heater quits blowing hot air, and adjusts to a lower temperature; however, it keeps blowing. When a room gets to the desired temperature, I want the heater to stop blowing. It's also pretty noisy. But, it does warm a small area quickly, which I like. The tip-over feature works well -- which is an excellent safety feature. I just wish the noisy thing would shut off when the room reaches the desired temperature. 03/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good value product We've been very pleased with the heater. We wanted it because of it's continual fan - we needed it for white noise purposes as well as keeping the room warm. It doesn't regulate the temp as well as we would have hoped, it just keeps getting warmer and warmer. But it keeps our big rooms very comfortable, and has decreased the amount of time our furnace runs. AWESOME! 02/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The Best Heater Ever This heater can really kick out heat, and it doesn't take a long time to heat a full room. 03/24/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Product Bought 2 of these portable heaters. The heater in our house quit in the middle of the coldest winter we have had in a long time. We had some nights in the lower 20's & it snowed a little. We used these 2 heaters to heat the whole house. Our house is 2000 sq ft. They kept us very warm & boy did it cut down on our power bill. We will most likely use them again next year and not use the central heater. 03/04/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by I like it It works well. Only complaint is that it doesn't have a fan only mode, just heat modes. Excellent value, would recommend to anyone. 02/27/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Brings heat into a small room FAST It does not heat up the large sized room too quickly, but in small and average sized rooms, it's very quick. I was disappointed that the dial doesn't give very much control as to how much heat is produced. In effect, when it's cold, I turn it on. When the room is toasty, I turn it off. I would rather keep it on and have it on at a lower setting, but this product is unable to do that. 12/12/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I purchased a Lasko 5812 ceramic heater several years ago at a Walmart store while on an rv outing and needed a heater to warm my rv when it was not too cold and I didn't want to light my gas furnace. The heater adequately heated the 29 ft rv with no trouble. The one thing I didn't like was that the fan motor never turns off. Later I came to like this feature because other in- expensive heaters were quite noisy when coming on and shutting off, waking me up. After researching the heater and learning how it works, I liked it more. I now use it near my computer desk to warm my feet and the area around the desk. It makes much more sense to pull cold air in from the top and put it out at the floor. Thats where your feet are and warm air rises. Needless to say, when I wanted another heater I went to looking at Walmart for the Lasko 5812 and found none there or any where else. I finally found one on line and ordered it. Likely I will order another. These heaters can compete with the infrared heaters that sell for hundreds more. They are noisier but not that much. For the money I have no trouble with the noise. I have always promptly received orders from Walmart. 11/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Don't look any further, This is the one! I chose this heater because I read a review that said a lady heated her whole trailer with one of these. I thought that it must do the job so I bought two of them. My apartment is roughly 500sq ft with 2 bedrooms on opposite ends of apartment. It got really cold and my clock was reading that it was 66 degrees in the house, so we turned the heaters on. They worked immediately! The whole apartment was warm within 20 minutes. They worked so well that I had to turn them down. This little heater really puts out the heat and not just in one spot, it blows the air throughout the room. 11/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very quiet. This heater is very quiet when operated, make the room warm up in no time. And the price is very good versus similar product out there 02/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by i bought this awhile ago for my mother and its been lasting us for 2 winters so far she loves it 12/28/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Warmth at home Heat my RV home where space is limited. First the front room, then the bedroom... Replaces the last one that lasted three winters. Thanks to all. 12/02/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little space heater I bought this space heater due to the cold weather in Florida, it heats up the whole room. Definitely helps save on the cost of running your heat. Would definitely buy this product again. 03/04/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT!!!! I recommend this heater. Use it at work in my office and it runs smoothly and gets the job done. It's not too loud. I like the noise it makes, to drown out all the office mumbo-jumbo... Great product!! Temperature adjusts great.... 03/02/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Value for Money Heater was priced right, works well, good size & shape & heats up a small room very well with door closed. I have to shut it every now and then room because gets too warm. Only negative is it's designed so thermostat clicks on & off but heater stays on...so I'm not sure what purpose thermostat serves. It has anti-tip safety feature. Definitely worth the money. I'd buy another if I needed one. 03/01/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Product! I saw the online reviews for this heater and bought one since the reviews were really good. I'm so glad I did. I work in my basement and it is really cold down there, and this heater heats my entire office in no time. It has an automatic shutoff feature if the unit tips over, which is good! I highly recommend this product. 02/13/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome This little heater has more power than it looks to have,I think I'm going to get one more just like it for the cold months 02/03/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by very good product I highly recommend this heater! I didn't think that it would put out as much heat as it does, but it exceeded my expectations. It works by removing the cold air from the room and converting it into heat which it expels back into the room. It's like magic!!! Don't the small size and the cheap price fool you. It works better than any other small size space heater that I have ever owned. Try it. You won't be disappointed!!! 01/31/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by lasko automatic air flow heater To begin with, I was very happy with the timeliness of the delivery. Now, as for the heater, I am more than satisfied with the heater. It heats up a fairly large room in a relatively short time. The heater is not noisy at all. I couldn't ask for more or for a better price. 01/16/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Heater I love this heater. I have had it for a couple of years and it really keeps my master bed room warm. Its really worth the money. 12/11/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by A good value product I dont feel the Automatic Air-Flow come into place, however, it is strong heater and the size is good for a small room. 12/02/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by This heater has saved me money on my heating bill with the heater on I use 40% less fuel ! 11/16/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by very very satified purchased lasko auto air-flow heater 2 weeks ago at first i was skeptical due to small size i put it in the room to be heated turned it on on one of the coldest nights warmd room comfortable can make the room too warm at times the fan does stay on but not loud to me at all would i reccomend this heater i certainly would for the price and size a great value 11/13/2009
1-30 of 67 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew342
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp