See All Reviews
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 338 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by the best Our Irish Setter jumps like a deer, when I was getting home from work, I'd find a mess in my bathroom, cat litter everywhere. Since I have had this gate I don't find any more messes and the cat is happy too!! He can also escape from the dogs. I am so happy with this product, Thank you Walmart. 08/12/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by very nice product I bought this gate to keep my cats out of the kitchen and dining room. I tried everything but they always managed to get over or around it, so I figured they couldn't get over this gate and we would be able to walk thru it, and it worked. My cats can't get through it except one little cat that can fit through the bars but she is the only one, all the rest just sit there and look in. Thank goodness. 06/03/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Small door too large, nice gate Excellent quality and price. Two issues: "Small" door is almost 8" wide x 10" tall. Won't work for our original purpose as "small" pet door allows our large sized (35 lbs) dachshund right through. We bought it to keep her on one side with us and to let our 6 lb Yorkie come and go. We need a gate with a small door. I would not want to tangle with the "cat" that this door was sized for when they made the "cat" door. 2nd issue - The unlatch and lifting process requires either a very big hand to reach across the latch to slide the lock, or, two normal hands to open as well as securely close the gate. Unless the locking step is taken when closing the gate, the gate is not secure and can be bumped open by a pet. While it is not a problem, be careful when installling this unit, the door opens ONE WAY so check the swing path before installing. Other than the size of the NOT small "small" door, I like this gate. Easy installation, easy to clean and the gate looks very nice. I may try to rig a header and weld it over the top of the pet door to make the opening LESS than 10 inches tall. If that's a cat door, I do not want to meet that cat! 08/20/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by perfect dog gate This gate is very durable...enough to withstand both of my dogs! My dogs are 65 lbs. and 40 lbs..they both have jumped up on the gate, but failed to knock it over, and the gate is tall enough so that they can't get over it..I haven't even screwed the braces to the wall yet..I might not have to. This is a great product, and I would recommend it to anyone!! 09/12/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by BUYER BEWARE We are owned by a large and powerful mastiff PUPPY. This gate fits OUR needs until he is out of his "training" stages. ONLY because he has been taught NOT to jump up on anyone or anything, for ANY reason. HOWEVER, if he did choose to jump on this gate, it would fall easily. The gate was easy and quick to assemble and arrived quick with site to store option. The BOTTOM portion on the pressure mount is great. The problem is the TOP pressure points. because of the gap in this gate to allow a walk through. u can only put so much pressure to hold it secure before u loose the option to open and close the gate. i added a picture to give u an idea of what i mean. u could make this work if u decided on screw the mounts tighter or looser before and after u needed to walk through each time. but thats ridiculous. in summary, i would recommend this gate to those whose dogs would NOT jump on this gate or who have the patience in tightening the mounts with each use. 01/19/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Almost perfect I'm using this to keep 4 cats out of a section of the house upstairs. The gate isn't very wide, but you can get an extension if needed. It's very expensive for what you get, but tall pet gates are rare. The only issue I had was that even though the bars are narrow enough to keep the cats from getting through, the 2 spaces on either end are much wider and I had to rig it with some additional wood strips. However, the ability to walk through it is fabulous. 04/21/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Very Disappointed Although this could be a decent gate, and the bottom secures nicely, there's no possible way to get a secure fit across the top and still be able to open and close the walk thru door. We've tried everything...even making sure our walls were even. We ordered this gate because we don't want to screw into our walls, yet without screwing the "surprise" cups and screws that were included, it WILL NOT fit securely across the top. I feel the product information was misleading. The walk-thru door is also very narrow, making it difficult to carry much of anything through, and as many people have commented in their reviews, the cat door is way too large, allowing even medium sized dogs to pass through. This defeats it's purpose. I was looking so forward to receiving the gate, unfortunately I will be returning it. There doesn't seem to be many options out there for a pressure mount, extra tall, walk thru gate with a cat door. 02/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Cats Hate it!!!!!, I love it!!!! I just received and installed this well made gate door. WOW! I am going to need to order another one for another room. Much easier than keeping a door closed and having no circulation through the house. It installed easily, the cats tried to get past it but no way. It being so tall we will see if they eventually attempt to jump over it. Guess who gets to sleep a bit later tomorrow morning! 12/07/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Don't Waste Your Money If you have a dog that weighs more than 25 pounds, this is not the gate for you. I have a 9 month old Boxer that bent this gate like a paper clip. The metal is cheap and not durable and can easily be manipulated by a dog with half a brain. 12/14/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Construction The construction far exceeded anything I expected. I purchased this gate to keep my pet cat out a couple of rooms. It didn't work; she was able to figure out how to fit between the bars (the space between the gate and the fixed section and also where the fence fit against the door jamb). It just wasn't narrow enough. My cat weighs 11 pounds so if you want it for a cat I recommend it for a bigger cat than I have. The description doesn't mention it but the gate comes with an extra 6" section. I did not use it but I did need the 4" extension which I had to order separately. Unless you permanently use the supplied "cups" and attach them to the wall or jamb where you are installing the gate, the tension at the upper part of the fence is insufficient to keep it in place if a dog or person pushes on the fence. The cups are screwed into the wall or jamb and the rubber tipped tension screws are placed into the cups to prevent the gate from shifting. I believe the cups are a must if you are using the fence for dogs or children. Overall a great product but not for small cats. 04/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by gate to keep dog and cat separate Saw this gate on a website somewhere and picked it due to price and height, i'm 5'10' and it's waist length. It's been working great, turns out my cat, who is 10lbs (maybe more?) can fit through the bars so I don't even open the cat door. The extension would have been good, but as it's all or nothing, it was about 1 inch too wide with the extension, so we screwed the cups in the wall and I feel totally confident with it. Occasionally the dog will put it's paw on it, but as not tried to do anything else (thankfully...and mostly he would be in giant trouble if he did). For someone integrating 2 adult (3 year old) pets who have not been around any opposite cat or dog before, this gate is awesome, the cat feels safe, the dog knows he can't go in the bedroom, which is also good bc he smells like a dog and has long hair. Pros - feels really sturdy -Cat can fit thru the bars without the cat door open -Great height -easy to open the gate to walk through -Good price Cons - the extension is one size, cannot be adjusted (still keeping it in case the next place needs it) but you can unscrew the grips pretty far and it still feels sturdy The picture is me at an odd angle, but you can see with the wrapping paper just how tall it is. And also you can see how the extension would have been nice, but not a big deal in the end. Definitely recommend if you are trying to keep a dog out of a space and if you are integrating new pets!!...if you are trying to keep a cat out, probably just want to close the door :) 04/01/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by not for a puppy that can jump high The cat door, served as a foot step for my dog to jump over the gate. The latch was broken by my dog the second day. I didn't return it because i ended up rigging it myself, by removing the cat door and two bars connecting to the cat door. I had some heavy plexi glass, that i cut to the width of those two middle bars and drilled it to the gate. I liked that the gate was tall and how the door opens. I have this installed at the door to the utility room. I did end up buying a second pet gate from petsmart, and installed it above the metal gate. The walmart gate i have it permanently installed and the plastic sliding pet gate can be easily and quickly place on and off. 04/28/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by poor customer service I had purchased similar products that were shorter and had no installation problems but when I installed these--(I bought 3) I could not get the gate to work.If I screwed it in tight enough to hold the frame in place the door would not open. It's really not rocket science to install these things so I called customer service where I got a voicemail telling me someone would call me back in 24 hours --it's been weeks and I'm still waiting--returned them and got my money back 04/20/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great dog gate....if you don't need the kitty door Nice sturdy gate. Dogs can't knock it down. Nice construction. Unfortunately, the cat door is too large. I got it so the cat could escape from the dogs if he so desired. A cat can only take so much grooming before its too much. Well......My 85 lb 26" tall German shepherd can squeeze through it...Heard the gate rattling AND there he was. My 2 smaller dogs 45 lbs each can cruise right though without even rattling the gate 04/18/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well worth getting, coming back for another... We adopted a very strong mixed breed dog. He's about 60 lbs of all muscle. He was supposedly okay with cats, but in reality he was not happy with my two. I had a baby gate at my bedroom door to keep him penned in at night, but I know he only stayed in there because I was in there, as he jumped the gate with ease one day. I was able to easily install this gate (I did use the mounting cups). The dog is not able to jump it or push it over, and the door is easy enough for my 5 yr old to come and go as she pleases. I am purchasing another today to replace the old swinging baby gate in the stairs. *As an aside, I am working with him daily towards desensitizing to the cats using positive reinforcements, gates are needed for the safety of all involved. *Also, I think the other reviewers complaints about the cat door being too big are ridiculous. The cat door is great. 03/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fits perfectly at end of staircase to keep dog off second floor. I did cut off one of the bars to fit over banister on one side of wall. 05/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Carlson Extra-Tall Gate with small pet door Exceptional Product - REALLY easy to set up and take down. I bought this to introduce the dog to the cat. The small pet door (for the cat) can be kept open so the cat can come and go. It's perfect, it's a well made product and when set up correctly is strong enough to do the job it was meant for. The gate is easy to open, easy to pass through and easy to close. There's a safety latch so the door cannot accidentally open. Again, when installed correctly, this door gets the job done! 06/07/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great gate for the price. this gate does an excellent job for holding my german Shepard in her room. 02/11/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent gate This gate is easy to install (opted for non-permanent). Tall enough that cat/dog cannot jump over it. The only thing is that the cat I wanted to keep out of the room is slim enough to get thru the gap between slats. Plastic snow-fence type grid prevents that. Normally, this wouldn't be an issue. My family has several of these gates, which is how I knew of them. They work very well. Solid construction. 01/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Carlson Extra Tall Gate This product was very easy to install. While it worked okay without the cup holders I did install the top holders to make the door more solid and rigid. Our 5 month old puppy did figure out how to get through the cat door. Once he is full grown I don't think he will be able to do that as he will be too big to fit through. I also used the extension as the gate is mobile and it again was easy to install. 05/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Perfect Perfect for my needs and much less expensive than others that are almost exactly the same. Keeps our Great Dane from getting into the kitchen! 05/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome! This gate meets my expectations and more. I found the same product on several websites at a considerably higher price. It assembled in 5 minutes. My little climbing puppy can no longer climb over the gate or knock it down. He stays put and so does the gate. The walk through gate works easily. I didn't need the cat door but it is a great feature. Definitely a big thumbs up. 05/02/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by carlson extra tall gate This is very cheap.product and does not stay in place tightly.And falls apart. 05/19/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 by I have two large dogs, one a jumper, it can't be jumped over. However, since it is pressure mounted it can be pushed over if the dogs really want to get out. I've only had this occur 3 times in about a month and it is used daily. Overall it meets the expectations I had for it. 06/20/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Glad to have them I bought two gates to keep my four dogs out of my living room and kitchen when needed. They do keep the dogs out but I wish they were a little more strudy (tight). All in all I am glad to have the itmes. But for those of you that want to keep a cat out, it doesn't work. Our cat jumps the gate with ease. 04/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent product This is a tall house fence. I need to keep my cats out of the living room. We went on vacation and the person looking after my house and cats closed the laundry room door where the cat box is! So my cats had no where to go and chose the living room. This fence is excellent with its height. They cannot jump over it. Buy it, it is easy to install and use to get in and out. 01/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by FINALLY A TALL ENOUGH GATE! Gate is tall, door opens to make going in and out easy for me....installs easily and securely. Bars are spaced just perfect for my small dogs. Only one I could find anywhere that meets what I needed. Can't beat the 97 cent shipping, either! 04/02/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Would not stay in place The tension system that this gate uses is not like normal tension gates. You have to turn little tension rods at the 4 corners in order to increase the tension allowing the gate to stay in place. I could not ever get this gate tight enough at the bottom or top of my stairway to use this gate. My miniature poodle would have been able to knock this over. I ended up returning this product since it did not perform as it stated. My advice, get an extra tall baby gate instead that works with a traditional gate system. you don't get the door, but the door on this was actually pretty small so trying to get through with a basket of clothes or toys would be difficult. 05/20/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by I was expecting better! I bought this so the cats could get away from the dog, but didn't work as expected. The small pet door is to big, I was hoping it was to small for the dog (20lb beagle) but big enough for the cats. The cats can also get through the large gapes on the side of the gate. The opening I had it installed was 32" with very large gapes at the door frame. Also where the gate door closes has about a 4" gape and may smallest cat can squeeze through. My poor rating of this gate is based not only that it doesn't fit our situation well, it is also very poorly constructed. This gate is made from light gauge metal welded together. I'm a welder by profession and the welding on the gate is horrible. Missing weld, incomplete welds, large gapes, poor penetration of the metal. I would expect in a very short time many of the welded joints will fail. This gate is a good concept but very poorly executed with a lack of good quality control. That is one problem about ordering from the internet, you can not see it before you buy it. This gate is not sold within Walmart stores. I will be returning mine at my local store for a refund and I have only had it one day. 03/06/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Doggie/Kitty Door EVER This gate with kitty door is purrrrfect! Keeps my doggies out of the side of the house they should not be in when I am gone but lets the kitties easily access their kitty boxes. I was a bit confused at first because I assumed that the long screws ("spindle rods" as they are referred to in the instructions) should screw into the sides. However, they are NOT supposed to screw in. The screws just slip into the holes on each corner and the adjustment wheel is what screws in and out to adjust the tension. Maybe I should have read the instructions before trying to install it! I feared the kitties would not go through the small door. So, I put the gate in place & let them sniff around it a few minutes. Then I shook their treats while on the other side of the gate & they ran through the small door without hesitation. It was easy. I did leave it up a few hours while I was home to make sure they would use it to access their potty box. This is so wonderful that I am ordering another one for the vacation house. 05/30/2015
  • 2015-10-05T05:10:18.692-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_338, tr_338
  • loc_en_US, sid_10741057, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-30 of 305 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.