See All Reviews
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 42 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Not as I expected I don't know if I read the info on line incorrectly, but I thought this gate was a pressure gate. Instead, it had to be screwed into the wall. Since my house is new I wasn't exactly thrilled to drill holes into the wall and kitchen cabinet, however, the gate does work and keeps my puppy where she needs to be. The pet door will be really handy once the dog gets bigger. Right now she can fit through it and run after the cat. 04/13/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by carlson maxi gate with pet door while this gate is sturdy,and easy to install, it`s not effective for small dogs. the spaces between bars are 21/2 inches wide and i have a 4 pound yorkie who can get through the bars. although this is no fault of the gate, i just thought i would pass along. the gate is great and i like that there`s a door that i can unlatch to walk through. like i said,easy to install,sturdy and good value for the money,but if you have a small or toy dog,you may want to look for other options 01/30/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by This gate would have been perfect if it went the full 60 inches it claims but it does not. It leaves a wide gap at 60 inches that my little puppy could get though. 05/01/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by love the small doggy door We installed this gate in an out of the way area of our home to section off a place for our two small dogs and their crate. We love the small dog door within the gate. It allows the dogs to go in and out of their area without the large gate having to be opened. The gate is fairly sturdy, though I'm not sure it would hold up well to small children hanging off of it. It is attractive, and works perfectly for our situation. Great for small dogs. My husband said it was easy to install. 12/21/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Size matters This gate seemed reasonable in price for the size and quality. BUT, when we got the gate home, the specifications were wrong. Our doorway opening is slightly less than 60 inches and the gate did not fit. 02/17/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Doesn't work well on a 45" opening To fit a 45" opening we had to hack saw a piece off of the center panel to clear the walk thru gate. Then the screw holes do not line up either and we had to attach it with zip ties. Looks tacky. 03/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for small dogs! Nice looking. Very practical. Easy walk-thru gate. Wish the vertival bars were a little closer together as my pappilon can squeeze througj the bars but works great for my other two dogs. 02/10/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product It was simple to put together by myself and once mounted, the item was very sturdy. I have leather sectional in my livingroom and needed to keep my dogs out. I have two trained pitbulls and occasionally they will lean on the gate and the gate won't flinch. For the most part I would recommend this door to anyone having trained big dogs or untrained little ones, and would like to keep them out of a specific area. 10/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Excellent product ! This gate is exactly what we were looking for ~ very sturdy construction and good height, easy to assemble, and easy to mount to the wall. 02/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Really great gate. It took a while to install and get all of the holes in the right place. It works really well with our 1 year old puppy, she hasn't tried to chew it up and even if she did she probably couldn't get through it. I'd do it again and recommend it to others. The cat door is unneccesary since all 3 of our cats walk right through the bars. Maybe it could be cheaper without that gate. We are very happy overall, it does the job. I don't know how bigger dogs would take to it. A Rottweiler or Shepard might easily jump it. 09/24/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Doggie Gate Perfect to keep my puppy in the kitchen. Sturdy and easy to use. Love it. 09/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A wonderful gate for wide openings. We use it on our deck so our four pound Yorkie can be outside. 07/01/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Solid Gate! This gate turned out to be a solid gate that met our needs. It is a little flimsy compared to another carlson gate we bought from walmart.com that is a pressure mounted gate with a pet door. Overall this gate meets expectations for the price. Several internet retailers sell this gate but not as affordable as walmart.com. 05/26/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by The gate is really nice but VERY wobbly. I had to purchase anchors to bolt it to the floor to keep it steady 03/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by love it Just one problem my chihuahua can fit through the gate wish the rods were closer together. 05/17/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Works well once installed correctly This product works well, but doesnt stop small pets for opening widths near the extremes that they say work. This is because the bolts that make up for the wider doorway openings leave areas that are NOT protected. The other problem is that the template that shows you where to mount the wall-mounts is off by nearly an inch. Once you figure this out installation is simple and seems good. 05/10/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Product, bad hardware I love this gate. It solved a problem with keeping the dogs and children out of the kitchen. The only problem we had with this was that 2 of the 4 brackets broke while installing. My husband was able to figure out a way to secure this but the hardware should be much stronger. 05/04/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Doggie Doors the product is very sturdy and looks good over comparing it to the wooden gates. If you have a teacup puppy they can get underneath the gate or through the slates of the gate. To eleiminate that we rigged the gates wtih chicken wire and tied it with those plastic ties. Now the puppy is secure and can't get through 04/16/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Puppy Blocker We purchased this gate after bringing home our Lab puppy. She is 4 months old and a big girl already. The gate is doing the trick for now, but may not work once gets bigger. Unfortunately the disappointment was in the manufacture of the gate. We purchased it for a large doorway and was supposed to fit and it barely made it with the extenders! My husband also had to drill new holes in it because the center section allowed her to walk right through it! In theory this is a great date, love the idea of the door, but there are definitely some ways that the manufacturer can improve. Also, it did not come with enough of the hardware. We had to run out and purchase some at our local hardware store. 03/17/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great pet containment for a large opening I have a 9 1/2 ft opening and this more than did the job. Easy install. Solid construction. Great product! 02/13/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well worth the money spent This is not the fanciest gate, but it is sturdy and easy to use. I had to make a small insert to make the doggie door smaller to allow the small dogs through without letting the baby crawl through too. Also, we did not want to mount the gate (using holes) into our floor boards so we used a thin piece of wood as a buffer and pressure-mounted at the bottom points. 02/07/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by I love this gate its sturdy and very nice looking and the price was great. There is only one problem and thats only if you are a big person the gate opening you walk thru is not real big. but you would have to be real big to not fit thru 01/22/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not bad! Is not a great quality, but not bad. I am not very big, but I have difficulty passing through the door, is too small. I am glad I got it though, my dog is safe now! 01/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 Great product We would highly recommend this pet gate. It is easy to install and looks very nice! Most of all, it keeps our small dog (12 lbs) in the area we want him in when we are gone. We're very pleased w/ the pet gate and have no complaints. 01/14/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Attractive and does it's job This product is better than I expected. Attractive, and secure. My only negative comment is that the people gate is too narrow. Mostly because it's used at the top of a stairway, and it causes me to really stop and evaluate how I'm going to step through and down and the same time. I have two, and the 2nd into an open room is okay, but not for a large person. They are doing their job, and I do love them, just would ask for that change. 12/26/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Product I havent gotten to use this product yet since I ordered the wrong extensions to fit this gate. But the other gate I have is very useful. Easy to open and sturdy. This gate seems even more secure for the large opening I will be using it for. 11/30/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Looks nice, solved problem! We have a busy toddler (15 months). We have a home with an open floorplan that we loved as a couple but just wasn't working for the 3 of us. Specifically troublesome was a wide (55 inch) staircase that we could not block off. We were able to attach this gate across the bottom step and secure it to the walls on either side. It does not obstruct the view and actually looks nice for what it actually is; a cage! The gate can be opened with one hand (with some practice) and opens for us to walk through or her to crawl up the stairs when there is someone there to watch her. It is anchored securely to the walls so I feel safe with it. Yes, it will leave some pretty nasty holes in the wall that we will have to fill in, but it will be worth it to have a safe contained play area for her for the next couple years. 11/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just the ticket I can not be happier with this gate. It is exactly what I wanted and needed. Thank you so much. Since I have both a big dog and a little silky, the little door at the bottom keeps me from having to open it all the time 11/15/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by very good The gate was shipped and arrived very quickly. It was easy to put together and install and looks very nice in the house. It works great and the little cat door works great to let the cats through while keeping the dogs out. It was well worth the money to protect our new hardwood floors. 11/12/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great product, incorrect description The product description says that the gate will fit openings from 37 to 59 inches wide. While this is true, it doesn't come without some work. Our door width is 47 inches wide. It fit fine but the door will not open both ways if it's any less than about 50 inches wide. My husband and myself used a reciprocating saw to cut off the extra metal and it works just fine. The screw holes line up correctly. We use the gate to keep our larger dog out of the kitchen. The cat and dog love the small door and I enjoy not climbing over the fence to do laundry. 09/29/2010
1-30 of 40 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw269
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp