See All Reviews
As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman
As Seen on TV Ronco Pocket Fisherman
$15.00
List Price: $19.99
You Save: $4.99 (25%)
As Seen On TV
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 45 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Classic Fishing Machine What can I say?, A time honored classic fishing tool. Ron Popeil does it best. I use the pocket fisherman while fishing on my kayak. Compact, fits in my tackle bag, out of the way, yet catches the big fish. Great for tossing tins or small to medium size poppers.Very exciting to catch a blue fish or striped bass on this. Definitely worth the money, costs less at WalMart than it does on the pocket fisherman website, highly recommended for the novice or pro fisherman. After all, if it was junk, it would'nt be on the market after all these years. Thank you Ron and Wal Mart! 07/29/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Small Pole Big Fish This fishing pole is a good one i didnt belive it would be at first but i read the reviews and had to give it a try when i got it it seemed cool but the tackle box was small so me and my friend took it to a local lake and caught 19 fish with this pole alone the biggest was a 7lbs catfish proof on huntinhuntsman.com 06/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sturdy / Compact I've seen this "Pocket fisherman" advertized for over 20 years. I just retired, and live near a Lake, so I thought I'd try one out. I am extremely impressed by how sturdy this product appears to be. I haven't gotten to the Lake yet (even though it's only 4 miles away) due to health problems, but I have used its "practice weight", and am getting pretty good at casting with it. It also comes with a very well written "Owner's Manual". I'm considering purchasing two more of these fishing devices for my little grand daughters who will be spending some of their summer vacation up here with grandpa! 05/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT!! I saw it on TV and thought it was just cool so i bought one for my nephew and me. We went out fishing and it works like a charm its so easy to use and to carry. Now I keep one in the center counsole of my F150 its so easy to just get pull over get out and fish it takes all the hastle of having to get 1 of my poles out of my boat. I think its worth way more then what you pay for it. 08/23/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by handy to carry in auto I purchased one for my husband and one for my son. They both were very pleased and can hardly wait for summer to try out. Played with outside and think they will be a lot of fun to use. 12/27/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Popeil Pocket Fisherman I bought this for my bother-in-law in Newfoundland, Canada. He is an amputee who has only the use of one hand. He loves this fishing rod, it's compact light and he can maneuver it without too much trouble. I would recommend this for anyone who love to fish. 08/02/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent!! great product! i went fishing and it was excellent! 07/27/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worth the Money!!!! When I first saw this rod online i thought it would be a piece of junk plastic. But it is defiantly not that! It is very sturdy, but i would carry extra tackle with you because the tackle box in the handle is not very big. The reel action is very smooth, and it casts really far. I have yet to go fishing because it is the middle of winter but i can't wait to try it out! It is only like 18 bucks and is a lot of fun, But overall I would recommend this rod to anyone of any skill level. 01/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Fishing Poles! I needed some good quality fishing poles for my kids to use when we vacationed on a lake, but it had to be easy to deal with because I don't fish. The Pocket Fisherman was extremely quick for me to put together and the kids had a great time using it. They fished with these rods numerous times and we never had a problem. 06/09/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Pocket Fisherman Was extremely disappointed, the fishing line would not come out any more than 4 ft. 07/14/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by I bought 2 for my kids one did not fair too well on same day that I got it. The fish line was all mess up and it would not cast out far enough so it mess up. 07/11/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by perfict I had one as a child, and it was the best fishing pole I ever had trouble free and so very to use, I just bought 4 more for my grandkids, you must try it! 08/15/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Satisfied I had the "original" Popiel's pocket fisherman over 20 years ago which worked fine. My mistake was trying "cast" as hard as I could one day and did not have the wrist strap on. The whole thing went flying. I just purchased 2 of the new ones. They are nice, however the plastic/rubber "pole" material seems to bend to easily. I would have preferred a fiberglass type with more stiffness. I am R handed and would prefer the reel handle to be on the left side. The product seems to cast well, but I have to switch it from my R hand and hold it in my left hand to reel the line in. This product is nice and easily stored and Great for when Kids are around to use. The price is right. I plan to buy (6) or more of them as gifts. Dan 09/28/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Decent It is a good little pole but when i recieved it, it had 2 problems. 1 was it had the washer under the hex bolt flipped the wrong way so it wouldnt reel when the lure was in the air. the next was the line was caught in a notch so it only casted about 3 ft. When it was all fixed thou it casts real far... Im hapy 06/06/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by defective The pocket fisherman I received has given me a lot of headaches. It's continually breaking down...reel locks up, original line on it was so fragile, I had to replace it, and it never has gone over 4-5 feet when casting. It's not me...ha...have had friends try it who fish a lot and they all tell me to go buy a 'real' fishing pole. Now, I realize that perhaps I just got a "lemon"...don't know. At any rate, I'm going to ask for a refund. 09/07/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by meh... This little rod had stellar reviews so we picked one up as a spare to carry along with our other gear. We were disappointed. While it appears the reviews wax between "it's great" to "it was broken on arrival"...what I'm surprised by is the lack of description concerning the problem of casting a pocket fisherman. If your kids use this rod with a bobber which is generally the case, you simply cannot set the depth any more than a foot or two at the most if you want to cast any real distance. Even with adding significant weight to the line, the small size of this rod makes casting nearly impossible. When using a bobber, with the line set at any reasonable depth, the bait/hook will drag so far behind the cast attempt that the result will be all but useless. Perhaps using a plastic worm or other weighted lures that can be cast from the actual tip of this tiny rod would be more useful but with the constant reference of this being "perfect for kids"...I would strongly disagree. It simply is not designed for bobber fishing unless the line is dropped over the side of a boat. 11/02/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by horrible product...do no buy!!! only 10 out of 20 actually worked. they lock up and you have to try and take them apart to fix them. not worth the $17 per pole we paid. I will be trying to return for a full refund!!! 06/20/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by ronco I ordered this as a gift and when I recieved it, all of the items that were supose to come with it was missing and it was to late to get another one ordered. 04/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice item to take along just in case I purchased one for myself and one for my grandson. He was thrilled!! I had one before but it broke so I wanted to make it easier to go fishing. 10/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bought this for fishing on golf course ponds when things get backed up. Works like a charm. 08/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A good little fishing pole. Great little fishing pole, has all you need. I still have the first one they came out with and it still works, have caught a few fish and lots of turtles, and you still can reel them in. Glad they still make it. 08/03/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value/gift The Pocket Fisherman has been around since my childhood, and for good reason. I love these for gifts and myself, and buy them all the time. They disappeared from shelves years ago, but now that Wal-Mart sells them online, I buy them by the box. 07/26/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good compact rod This was purchased as a gift. My husband had one since he was a kid and told me to get it. 12/05/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ready to go! The Pocket Fisherman is compact and versitile. Stores out of sight when not needed and ready for fun when needed. Given to grand kids for Christmas gifts. 12/05/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great little fishing pole have not had the pleasure of really using it, but for what I have seen it works great. 09/12/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not good. The reel is broken during the initial practice. Never used it. we returned it to Walmart store. 07/15/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Ronco Pocket Fisherman Bought 2 of these online because they were cheap and reviews were okay. One worked perfectly, caught 3 fish on it with no problems. The 2nd one we opened was broken from the start and would cast or anything, I tried to get the line out and that was stuck too. My little girl loves the one that works because she caught her first fish with it. I would say if it is working when you get it, it is a great deal, if you only buy one and it is a dud like my second one, not a great deal. Lucky for me I bought 2 at the time and one works great. The bobber is light and sinks so you will need another bobber on there if you want to use one for children or yourself. I'm going to say I will recommend it because my girl enjoys it, but, you may want to buy 2 and return one if the other is good. Hope this helps with your decision. 06/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good product This Pockrt Fisherman works just as advertised. Mabe even better than advertised. I bought it to play with my cats. They love it. All the money I spent on cat toys this pocket fisherman beats them all. 09/12/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT DEAL I LOVE IT IT WAS A GREAT GIFT 05/08/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great tool for fishing on a whim Great tool for fishing on a whim or planning an overnighter. perfect for my motorcycle saddlebags or truck storage. Works great and directions are included for changing string. The wife and I each have our own. 02/17/2012
1-30 of 40 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw260
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp