Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 4711 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by D90 - The Right One! I've had quite a few cameras over the last 15 years, including some film cameras, but many digital cameras. I really think Nikon has hit a homerun with this camera. The photos are fantastic, silky smooth colors, but nice and vivid that really pop out at you. But, this camera can adapt to your style of shooting and what you like to see in your photos. The menu is very configurable, it handles great and feels good in your hands, the lcd screen is just fantastic and all the controls you need when shooting are easily accessed on the outside of the body for easy manipulation while you are shooting. There's no need to fiddle around in the menu. And, if you are into video, this camera does video and while it lacks any type of manual control over the video control, I find it is very adequate and I've shot some amazing videos that have great DOF. It doesn't really take long to conclude that the Nikon D90, with the sum off all it's parts, makes for one very nice camera. I'm very satisfied with my purchase and this is by far the best camera I've ever had. I'm a very happy Customer and as always, Walmart had one of the best prices on it as well. 08/09/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great camera Walmart beat all major retailers by $100 on price and still get USA Nikon w/full warranty! Ordered w/overnight delivery and delivered without a hitch. The packaging of the shipment was very poor. When delivered, the outer box had caved in due to lack of packing material. Contents were fine. Love this camera. Compared to the D5000, I am very pleased with my choice. D5000 has a neat swivel screen. However, with the included screen protector, I don't have to constantly flip it around. Stays protected always. That's without mentioning that the D90 LCD has much higher resolution. Movie capabilities are okay. 24fps looks a little choppy even compared to my Canon SD450. 07/10/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nikon D90 I am a convert from the D50. This camera is superior in too many ways to list. If you have read a review on the D90 you can trust when it says it is a great Mid DSLR. Big screen, easy menus, clear pictures! Walmart had the lowest price of trustable on line sources. No shipping charge and camera arrived a day earlier than the projected date. 09/09/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fabulous Photos This camera has everything you want, from serious amateur to semi-pro photographer. The built-in AF motor (major difference between this and D5000) allows you to use any Nikon lens made since the 1950's.... As a result, you can find excellent used autofocus lenses that are as good, and in many cases better than, those currently manufactured. Wife uses the full 'auto' setting which makes it a fancy 'point and shoot' to get great photos without any futzing with a setting. Any advanced amateur will find plenty to learn with this camera, and I know of many pro's who prefer to shoot the D90 over their D300's for it's ease of use. Live view and info, as well as programmable buttons make this the most versatile Nikon body to date. The only drawback is it's weight, but the D5000 is just too small to fit comfortably in my hands, so I'm happily willing to lug an extra few ounces for the superior build quality, versatility and feel. Using this for over a month now, I cant praise it enough. Buy it. You will be tickled pink, and guarantee it won't disappoint or let you down in any way! 12/20/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Top camera for advanced amateurs The Nikon D90 is (as of 5/20/2010) the best camera for advanced amateurs. It has excellent image quality with outstanding low-light performance (the holy grail of digital photography). The controls are logical and easy to use. All the important settings have buttons and dials, no need to scroll through clumsy menus to set your camera. The body is light yet sturdy and it has a built-in focusing motor so it can use older AF lenses (the lower priced model's can't do that). The battery will give you more than 400 photos on a single charge (That's as far as I've tried). This camera also takes 720p HD video, which is nice, but not the main purpose of this camera. 05/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Muestra de resultados La tecnología empleada, por Nikon, en su modelo N 90, nos brinda la oportunidad de expresarnos, de una manera más viva, ya que la resolución y saturación cromática que se obtienen , en las fotografías son de una calidad insuperable. Para muestra de lo anterior, adjunto un archivo, esperando sea de su agrado. 10/04/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by ERR issue with D90 I too have had the ERR problem and it is currently unresolved. It is so frustrating to have a special shot and not be able to take it because the camera freezes. By the time the battery, card, lens is removed and replaced, the shot is gone. The Service Dept is also very frustrating because they do not disclose what they are repairing and will not answer calls or messages. I don't know of any other industry where they hold your equipment for ransom until you provide a credit card to "approve the 'repair'" without being provided any other details. Nikon also proclaims that this ERR issue is not a recurring problem with other users but I think they need to read these reviews because they would learn that this is simply not true! I will see how the "repair" goes, but I think Nikon should warranty it (which they already said they will not do). I had high hopes when I bought this camera and love many features but it is a hunk of junk if it doesn't work and not worth carrying. 09/21/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful camera and simple to use - great results. I was probably the last photographer to make the switch to digital. The D90 convinced me it was the time. I've never been sorry I made the change. The ease of handling is typical of Nikon. I've used it for sports, travel, landscape, people pictures and many other things. One expression I often hear from others is "Oh, it's a Nikon. No wonder the results are good." I have put my Nikon film cameras away and haven't used them since buying my D90. I do much of my own printing at home and can easily crop and print larger size pictures. Many of them have found a home with friends and family. Thank you Nikon for coming through again. PS - I have tried uploading some pictures to no avail. 09/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent value for money! Great camera. Period. I bought my D90 a little over a year ago and I LOVE using it! It has been such a fantastic DSLR for me that I keep on liking it more are more every time I use it. I just bought the body (I have two other Nikon DSLRs and several Nikkor lenses). As for the D90, I love the way it feels in my hands. It has the nice chunky grip which feels like that of a professional Nikon. Having separate dials and buttons for controlling shutter speed, aperture, white balance, exposure compensation, metering, frame advance speed, etc. is a huge advantage of this serious amateur level camera. The image quality, as you'd expect from any Nikon DSLR, is excellent. It's low light performance at ISO 3200 is excellent too. I like the way you can manipulate the camera output like sharpness, picture quality, etc. The shutter sounds like that of a professional Nikon - I like that! The Nikon website says that the shutter has been tested to over 100,000 cycles; so I bet my D90 would give me excellent service over years to come! Along with these features, there is a whole bunch of other useful features such as for example the ability to control multiple flashes wirelessly and live view feature. Of course there is this movie feature too (in fact the D90 was the world's first digital SLR camera with the movie function!), but I hardly use it. Various people have criticized its ability to make movies, but I am not using it to make movies. If you want to make movies, why not use a video camera? The D90 is an excellent digital SLR for taking still images - and it is with this job that it excels. So I use it only for making still images. Overall, the D90 is a great camera; easy to use; handles very well; and, above all, takes great images! I would recommend this camera to anyone without any hesitation. 09/06/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Desicion I Made I had a mild beginners interest in photography during first year University thanks to a roommate. Two years later I was going overseas to teach and a friend and his father teamed up to buy me a D40. I worked that thing to the bone and learned the ropes during my hiatus and travels thereafter. Later I upgraded to the D90 and I can't see myself upgrading again until this one dies the death. Mind was blown. The ease of access to the WB and ISO was really all that did it for me, and after lots of fiddling around with the various WB settings, I discovered the D90 does a pretty sweet job on Auto so I very rarely touch it, but make my adjustments in Lightroom afterward. The D90 is quite clean on higher ISO's but you will obviously encounter some noise. But I shoot everywhere between 200-1000, but try to avoid going any higher. Too much noise just bugs me, I've heard a lot of complaints about the flash. I can't say anything about it because I have used it maybe...three times? Too dark? Jack up your ISO and/or move. I don't like the way pop-up flashes wash out images so I avoid it at all costs. I did find the battery didn't last too terribly long, but I've been able to shoot for a couple days and do OK. Buy another one if necessary. I also have never used the video feature. Don't plan to. Don't bother with the 18-55mm kit lens. I hate it. Thoroughly. I love this camera. Just came back from a quick touristy drive through the Bad Lands, South Dakota USA shooting in RAW and took 1800+ photos and am loving the results I'm getting while cleaning things up in Lightroom. Stoked, actually. I had so much fun with this camera, even WITH the kit lens I dislike so much. Totally worth every penny for amateur to advanced amateur photography. I personally will NOT be upgrading unless I get so amazing that people throw their wallets at me for my images, or this one crumbles into dust in my hands. 08/20/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Um produto surpreendente, e pequeno ! Gostei muito da câmera, fabulosa, uso ela de mais, sou fotografo profissional, e essa maquina nunca me deu aborrecimentos, amei, recomendo de mais ^^ 08/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by nice,,, i just love it....fantastic camera..it;s the best camera for someone like me..amature 08/15/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what I expected I had a D60 and I loved it. I wanted to upgrade to a more professional camera so I went with this one. I read many many reviews on this camera. The only issue that kept coming up was the autofocus problems. So I took a chance. The original camera that I purchase was sent in 2 separate times before the mfg warranty was up. And upon the 3rd time, I requested a new camera or my money back. The sent me a refurbished camera that had double the shutter cound and extended the warranty another 6 months. I am still having the same issues that I originally had. I took the camera to my local camera store, that deals with Nikon and had them check it, because I am feeling that it must be me because every time I talk with the service department, I'm told to try a different setting. When I took it to the local store, they experienced the same issues...very soft looking (blurry) pictures. At this point, I am a very unsatisfied customer. I am sending my camera and my 3 lenses in to be tested again. In the meantime, I have lost $$ because I am unable to take pictures. At this point, I would not recommend this camera to anyone. I have included 2 pictures that I took in a row and didn't change any settings and you will see exactly what I am talking about. I actually took 4 pictures on this shoot total and 2 were bad and 2 were good. You tell me. 08/12/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nikon D90 I have had my D90 for about two years and have no complaints. With this camera I have taken many photos in the heat of the desert and in cold temperatures with no problems. Daytime or dark doesn't matter. Even dropped it one night, but everything still works. 08/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Upgrade from Canon Rebel After taking thousand of images in dark indoor gymnasiums and getting tired of needing post processing to make images usable, I bought a Nikon D90. In spite of owning an excellent L lens on my Canon, my model 350 just wasn't able to do the deed. A number of years ago I sold my Canon equipment and made the jump to Nikon and haven't regretted the move. The D90 low light capabilities along with a Nikon 80-200 f2.8 D lens and Nikon 28-70 f2.8 have never let me down. Last year I purchased a D7000 which upped my work to an even higher level. Thank you Nikon. 08/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Still Clicking After All These Years Great camera, period. Don't let the age and the size fool you, this camera was good when it first came out, and it is still good now. I have used them - I have four - for years with no problems. The keys -- to me anyways ... are their weight, size, battery life (they each have the battery grip with the extra battery), image quality, and ... they keep on working. Year after year. As a travel/adventure photographer - I shoot for O.A.R.S., BackRoads, and Viking River Cruises - they are the ideal camera. Small yet powerful enough to meet the publication needs of my editors. Perfect. From beginner to the working pro, the Nikon D90 is a great camera for a great price. That is it in a nutshell. Quality at a great price. Enough said. 08/10/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by flash flop Nice unit, fast, problems with flash. It broke 2x in under two years. 08/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Outstanding camera! The D90 is still my favorite go-to camera and with the right glass it is perfect!!! Nikon really paid attention to the image processing engine in the D90 - although I do shoot with my D7000 and the D800E and I love them as well - I REALLY LOVE MY D90!!! - I get rave reviews from the images with regards to IQ. Nikon for life! 08/07/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by HD movie Great camera. HD video has no auto focus. Other wise it would have been an exceptional camera. 08/07/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nikon D90 The D90 is a still my favorite. It is fast enough for my needs.The color is so lively. It can use older AFD lenses since it has the internal AF motor. 08/06/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Disappointed with my D90 I would be the first to say, I'm not a professional photographer. I'm also sure I don't have the ability to take advantage of all the features of the D90. This is my third and last Nikon digital camera. They all have one thing in common, they needed repair before long. My last S400 was a joke, never met my expectations. I thought I needed to step up to a better quality to get dependability. Just over a year and the D90 failed. It cost me $200.00+ dollars to have the camera repaired. Please keep in mind I don't use the camera on a every day basis. I don't think a repair was in order and to charge me $200.00 was over the edge. I should add, the camera was in NO way abused, didn't have one scratch, absolutly perferct. No more Nikon for me. Thanks anyway Greg 08/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Photographer in Training... I love, love, love my Nikon D90! I have been freelancing for a while and people cant believe that I have taken the shots that I do with the D90. Im working my way up to the D3X! Thanks NIKON!! You Are The Best!!!!!! 08/05/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great step up from point & shoot This camera is a great step up from point and shoot digital. Simply put, it's the natural progression for someone who wants to advance beyond a basic camera and delve more creatively into photography. 08/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Otima maquina,a minha primeira. Estou com ela a mais de 3 anos e me sinto confortavel com ela. 08/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Camera lockup Camera at times locks up with an error code which is not explained in manual. Removing battery and reinserting it generally alleviates the annoying problem. 08/03/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good product for the money The D-90 has performed well over the past three years. It is light and easy to carry around for extended periods of time. with a 18-105 mm Nikkor AF-S I use most of the time. I don't use the video much, but when I have, I was satisfied with the result. The auto focus seems a bit slow for action shots. I will likely upgrade in the next six months, but my experience has generally been good with this model. 08/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Limitless possibilities for D90 users The D90 is such a versatile camera with well balanced options for both the beginner and advanced user. Custom settings make for easy shooting; while advanced users can manually set up for different fields of depth and lighting situations. I love this camera! It has me back in the photo taking mood and my family loves the results. Because the menus are so intuitive even a novice as myself can begin learning advance photo techniques. The camera is very popular so the user can find a wealth of outside resources on taking great photos with the D90. Nikon has a fantastic website where user can share information too. Nothing to say but extraordinary and every way. 08/02/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by BashPhoto I started with the D90 before 4 years and until now I'm still using it. This camera is amazing and you can get really good photos with it. I like it's preformance in low lights. 07/25/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent camera for seious amatuers or beginning pros! This is my first DSLR and I am really pleased with it. The D90 has a ton of great features.I use it mostly for family portraits and use a 50mm 1.4 and a 35mm 1.8 and the images are sharp and colorful. My next camera will be a d300s which is a pro body but shares many of the same features as the d90. I will use the d90 as a backup. 07/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Unbelievable Camera This camera was my first Nikon purchase and I wasn't disappointed. The camera is solid and the quality is amazing. The battery life is outstanding. I bought a spare battery for our safari, but never needed it and I took thousands of shots. I have had no issues and have had the camera for almost 2 years. Nice job Nikon!! 07/13/2012
1-30 of 4,698 total reviews
2 3 4 5  ...  157 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw325
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp