See All Reviews
Rated 3.6 out of 5 by 27 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by decent handheld CB This is a very decent handheld CB radio. I have two and use them when hiking and as back up communication when travelling. The radio puts out full 4W when connected to externatl 12V power supply, and 2-3W when running on AA batteries. Transmission and reception is good even with the rubber duck antenna, and with a full-size magnet mount antenna it performs as well as a mobile CB. The weather channels are a usefull feature, especially when hiking / camping, but recenption with the rubber duck antenna is hanpered because it is tuned to a different frequency range. But overall, it is probably the best handheld CB you can buy, and the price is just right. 11/23/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cobra 38WXST This is exactly what I thought it would be. They work very good for use around the house. Don't expect to experience a long range on ANY cb radio, but certainly they are useful. Need external antenna if you plan on using in a car. Features and ease of use could not possibly be better. Serves my purpose. 12/12/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use This radio works as expected, with the weather channel coming through clearly. It is easy to use. I hooked up my 80s era CB and used both at the same time to compare reception. This radio does not have the range of the regular CB, which I expected. But it does work fine and I think convenience and security (to hide when the car is unattended) are necessary and I can always carry this radio with me. I need to find an adapter to hook up an external antenna and test for range, but I suspect it will be as good as my other CB when hooked to a regular antenna. 11/07/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not worth the money The radios have very little range with the antenna it comes with. I don't know if another antenna would make it better but to pay all that money for something that won't range anymore than 100 feet is stupid. I'm hoping to take mine back. 01/29/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not for use in a vehicle Works okay outside but has a high pitched wine when inside or near a vehicle. The sound is so loud I had to buy another unit to use in my vehicle. Tried it in several vehicles with all the same results. 06/19/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by COBRA CB GREAT SOUND AND WX COMES IN HANDY HERE ALONG THE GULF... 11/03/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by excelent Works perfect 10/30/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Reception Nothing but static-no range. 10/31/2014
Rated 4 out of 5 Now ready Tornado May 20 2013 Oklahoma City, home destroyed, Ready now to call for help if there is a next time. 05/13/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Well built cb I really like this handheld, Has features , like send/receive meter, weather and soundtracker noise reduction. Works good , I use it when I'm in the garage working or outside in the back yard. 06/21/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by handheld This is a capable handheld, but speaker often hard to hear. Make sure to get a good antenna or it is really limited in range. It is easy to use and helps when you get stuck on highway trips. 06/05/2015
Rated 3 out of 5 by Nice, not thrilling but nice Okay, I get it...its a hand held. But, still I would only call this product "okay." It's easy to use. Range is about 1/2 mile with standard rubber duck and is the same with the HA-TA so don't bother buying the additional antenna. Its good for outdoor activities when you and your group will be within a half mile of each other. Its also good for a bug out situation when two vehicles are required and cell phones are down. NOAA channels come in poorly. The display light is very dim. And, if you are near sighted you'll never be able to see anything on the screen without a magnifying glass. I just threw it in my bug out bag. 01/05/2016
Rated 4 out of 5 by Talked up to 8 miles away I have had this for a month and primarily use it in my truck along with the 18 inch cobra antenna. I could get about a good 1.5 to 2 mile clear talking and received further away. I decided to buy a little Wilson 36 inch antenna and was able to get further out and talk to people 8 miles away on clear night in city use. They could not believe I was talking on this handheld. The only downside is you do get a lot of static from power lines but you can turn squelch up. I am going to try the 42 inch telescoping antenna next to see how far I can get standing outside.. Over all I am happy with product and made it more addicting to license and scanning channels in the city.. 10/05/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Portable/Mobile Handheld CB This unit is quite good. I have it because it's portable. I carry it hunting, fishing, hiking, highway long distance, about town and at home. Great if you happen to be somewhere there is no cell service. Very handy. For highway use, to get better range, Cobra sells outside magnetic 42" antennas under accessories on their product page. Works great! I like the face I can plug it into 12v vehicle outlet or use mobile with batteries. 08/16/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by Garbage!! This radio does not work more than 100ft . DO NOT BUY!!! 08/09/2015
Rated 1 out of 5 by not good. It dose not work for what i need it to do can not communicate. 08/02/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by hand held cb radio by cobra weather channel is nice to have ,works great!!! love the way it is styled. have not really had a chance to use the CB yet!! but I'm sure it works just fine? Of coarse with most radios they say they will reach 3-4 miles but I know you would be doing good if you got 1 mile . For what I bought it for it is a great little radio. If you are looking for any more than this you need to install a radio . 06/19/2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Real happy This has worked pretty decently for me. Beats having to lug around a larger set, fits in a travel bag nicely. Decently priced also. 06/01/2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Falls Short Of What I Expect From Cobra I have owned this unit since 2003. Just recently tried using it. Really no reception at home with the supplied antenna. Went out on interstate with it and still really no reception. The weather feature works great. Maybe a better antenna is needed. I will get one and post the results. Also I don't think a owners manual came with the unit and I looked in the box 05/14/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very convenient handheld I bought this radio about a week ago, mainly for being out and about (camping, etc.) and as a convenient way to test my other transcievers. It is set up with the stock rubber antenna and equipped with standard alkaline batteries. As can be expected, the range is not "great" with this setup, but is better than I expected. The built in weather function is very nice and receives well, very handy to have around the house in case of an emergency. Very pleased with this product myself, but would definitely recommend an actual mobile transciever for use in a vehicle. 04/12/2015
  • 2016-03-24 T08:34:38.151-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_27, tr_27
  • loc_en_US, sid_10603637, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-21 of 21 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew333
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp