See All Reviews
Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 40 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cheap, easy and reliable At $9.00, this test is cheaper than most insurance co-pays. If you've been a lifelong diabetic, you already know what you've to do to manage your sugars (adjust insulin delivery rate, etc.).. all you need the doctor is for your A1C level. I got my result emailed in 3 days and it seemed pretty accurate. Next time I have to see a doctor, I will get an A1C done there and do another one of these tests at home. I will then compare the results and post another review. 02/15/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Home A1C Kit Your diabetes specialist/general practitioner normally only want to take a A1C test every 90-180 days. To me, that was way too long of an interval to see what short term progress I may be making with changing diabetes treatments. Although the A1C test is designed to test your average glucose reading over the last 90 days, it is important to know that, due to cell death patterns, the test is heavily weighted towards your level over the last 30 days. I use the home test every 30 days because the test of just so inexpensive and the service is top notch. I can always count on hearing the results directly within a week. Discovering my A1C level every 30 days gives me a much better reading on progress and allows me to stay on track for better short term results. This kit is excellent and the results are always consistent with what I receive from my doctors office. An outstanding deal for any diabetic who is serious about getting things under control. 10/18/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by A1C I just got my bill from my doctor's office for an A1C test and was floored. $86. I won't go that route again. I've used Reli-On before and was surprised how easy it was. Walmart - start carrying this product at more stores. 04/20/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Money saving test Being a diabetic for 8 years had my doubts as to accuracy of this test. When I was e-mailed my results they were totaly in line with what my A1c results always run. Mailed my test in on Monday and results were e-mailed to me Friday. I will use this test again and highly recommend it. If you have ever had blood work done you can easily see how much money this test can save you. 12/05/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by ALL Diabetics need this!!! For less than $10, you get a fast and accurate A1c. I have used this kit twice by drawing blood for the kit within minutes of having my blood drawn by Quest Labs. Both times, the results differed by 0.1 - REMARKABLE!! 03/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Extermley Easy to Use I wanted a cheaper way to keep tabs on my AC1 without having to pay the $15 copay just to have the dr take my blood. For $9, and the fact I can do this at home and have the results sent to me via US mail OR email, this is great. The test results, give or take half a percentage point, is on par with the results I get from my dr. This product comes with everything you need including a prepaid envelope. Fast results and simple to use. 08/03/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 It does what it says but... There is a ton of packaging for what is a simple blood test for a diabetic user. I wish they would put 2-4 tests inside rather than just one in the same box. We already have the lancets and wipes that are included as well. A very good value and it allows me to get monthly A!c tests cheaply. If i could buy the same box with four tests for $30, I am all in! 05/12/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible! Walmart ought to be congratulated for making this terrifically important test available for under $10.00. 04/30/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by A1C For $9.00 + S/H a real bargain. It was within 6% of the lab my insurance uses. 06/13/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Service! This sure beats a doctor and lab bill. It was easy to do (albeit never like poking myself) and the answer was sent to me via email with a link for the info in about 5 days. I called because I didn't think I had received it. I reached an actual person and she resent it. It had ended up in spam. Highly recommend this product. 07/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very helpful product I've been concerned about my blood sugar for awhile and haven't been to the doctor due to insurance issues. So I opted for a self test. The test was simple and straightforward. Came with everything needed including paid postage. I mailed it Monday and had my results via email by Friday. Very quick. I would highly recommend this product and will be buying it again in a few months to retest. 04/14/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Word of Thanks! So inexpensive. My primary physician (I have no insurance) said he would accept this testing in lieu of the lab which is located on his site. This has save me over $300. My physician said it is accurate and why should he turn down something that is as accurate as the lab and saves people money. Diabetes is increasing and this is one step that is helping! THANK YOU. 01/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by I like the ease of use and the convenience of not having to visit my doctor’s office for getting my A1C tested. The test kit is simple to use with everything provided in it, including postage paid envelope. The results were fast and can be sent either by USPS or email response. Also, the company will send a reminder two months later if I decide to test again which I’m sure I will. The price is inexpensive for the peace of mind knowing if my average blood sugar is in the favorable range or not. By knowing my A1C I’m able to determine if my eating style is working for me. Lastly, I feel that the lab results are accurate since they are in line with previous results from other labs. 08/16/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by The jury is still out I have not yet been able to use this product because the blood needed is much more than I can get using standard lancets (two one-use preset lancets are provided). Two 0.5 inch diameter circles on a paper sheet are to be completely filled. Instructions call for "free flowing" blood allowing a LARGE drop to be applied to each circle. Am considering negotiating with a health care provider to achieve this, which will negate some of the value of the product. 10/14/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by I have used this kit twice now and both times I got Quantity Not Suffiicient, no reading. The instructions are almost impossible to carry out. They tell you to fill both circles with blood BUT do not overlap. Try filling a circle with circles with no overlap. And the quantity of blood required is unbelievable. The lancet they give you simply cannot produce enough blood for their sample. If you are going toi use this kit you will probably need to use a scalpel. 11/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cheap and accurate Much less expensive than regular lab services. I haven't done a regular lab test recently so I can't compare recent results. The test did come in about the same as one I did a year ago. From the time I took the sample and mailed to the time I received the results via mail was around 2-3 weeks. One can receive the results via email instead of US mail. I figured I would have the results added to my medical file so I wanted a hard copy with letterhead, etc. otherwise I would have opted for emailed results. I've used a different brand in the past and found the results to be reasonably close to the regular blood test at a lab. I will continue to use this mail-in method and save the money since my insurance doesn't cover lab work. 08/09/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by the results from test came a little longer than advertised otherwise very good deal my score appears to be accurate too 07/08/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Pretty accurate.... I had thought about buying the Bayer A1C kit with 2 tests in it, that could give you instant results, but opted not to because I'm..... well let's face it.... a cheap skate. Long story short. I bought Relion A1C kit for $9.00, followed the instructions, mailed it off. In a few days, my test results were emailed to me and the results were within a tenth of a point of my last test done at LabCorp. Needless to say, I am very pleased with the results and accuracy of this test. The only thing I didn't care for, was the lancet and having to get a free flowing sample of blood on the 2 test papers. That hurt quite a bit because the puncture site had to be so big. All in all, a good product! Will use again. 07/02/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A1c Test This is a very reliable easy to use product. I will definitely purchase it again to track my blood sugar levels at three month intervals. 04/24/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by ReliOn A1c Test This test kit worked very well. Results in 3 day and dead on to my last lab test. 04/03/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Savings Diabetics need to have an A1C test at least quarterly. Due to the high cost of hospital lab tests, most do not. This test is easily affordable, and according to my doctor, reliable. I was pleased with the overall service and felt completely safe about my privacy. Only downside was Walmart store in my area doesn't carry it. 09/11/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by Reli On A1c Test I bought my first Reli On test kit in early May 09. Mailed it and got results 5 days later on line. Bought second kit 6/17/09 and mailed it. Got it back as undeliverable 6/30/09. Called labratory. Was told mailing address had changed from the one printed on the no stamp needed envelope encluded with the product. Bought product under another name at different vendor. Discovered it was same lab. Sent it in anyway. Mailed it 7/03/09. Received results 7/15/09. Lab needs to be more responsive to the 3 to 8 days claim for results. Otherwise product is OK. 07/15/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by IT WOULD BE NICE TO HAVE A TITRATING KIT INCLUDED. 06/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Can't beat the the price and results are similar to considerably higher priced lab tests at doctors or hospitals 09/24/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Waste of time and money DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT! It requires you get two dime size drops of blood to send in for analysis. When using a lancet it is nearly impossible to do unless you bleed heavily. If you put multiple drops to cover the area, they will send your results back you saying it is not acceptable. A complete waste of my time and money. Take your $9 and apply it towards purchasing the A1C test by Bayer. It costs $29.99-49.99 but you get instant results (no mailing to lab) and it doesn't require so much blood. 09/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Cheap and Excellent This is an excellent and cheap way to find the A1c value. The procedure is simple and I got the results within 2 days via email. 08/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Affordable Pros: Convenient, readily available at Walmart with no prescription needed. Affordable, good choice for those without insurance. Enables a1c test to be done more often or in-between doctor visits for better glucose control. Pre-paid mailer enclosed with no extra expenses of any kind beyond purchase price. Results are received via mail or email within a reasonable time. Cons: The two lancets provided are one-time use only and cannot be re-set for repeat use should more than two sticks be needed to obtain an adequate amount of blood to completely fill the test circles as instructed. Even by carefully following directions, some people may find it difficult to maintain the necessary blood flow to completely fill the test circles with a single application of blood. Multiple applications of blood are allowed as long as one drop of blood is not placed on top of another although some overlapping is impossible to avoid completely. I wonder how much, if any, this would affect test accuracy. 07/29/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good option for A1c Testing Overall, for the price, it's worth it. The most difficult part was trying to get enough blood sample to fill the appropriate area of the form. Once that was done, then it was simple process of mailing the results in a pre-paid envelope (another plus) and waiting to get the results either through e-mail or regular mail. The results arrived within 5 days after mailing and was very accurate. Although it's a bit inconvenience to mail in the sample to get results, it's better than relying on devices that provide instant results but may not be accurate. Considering that if you do A1c testing every 3 months, the price for 4 kits is unbeatable. I would recommend this. The only reason for not giving 5 stars is the amount of blood needed. The amount that's needed is more than single blood drop taken for typical blood glucose. However, it's much less than the vials taken at doctor's office. 06/05/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by A1C Test A must if you are dibetic. For the price no better way to keep on top of your A1C readings. Price and convenince cn not be beat. 03/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by ReliOn A1 Test This is a very easy test kit to use. All supplies are included and your results are confidentially delivered by e-mail , if you request it. This test kit is reasonably priced and is high quality . The ordering process ( on-line) was simple and the kit arrived in days . 11/30/2010
1-30 of 36 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw258
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp