See All Reviews
Elise Bunk Bed, Soft White
Elise Bunk Bed, Soft White
$219.00
Was: $279.00
Rollback
See All Buying Options
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 93 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by A pleasant surprise This bed is very well thought out, easy to put together and extremely sturdy. I am not one to usually purchase large items like this without seeing them because if they do not work out it is a big hassle, but the price was right and Walmart beds were getting good reviews so I did it. I am so happy we did! One of my favorite features is the height. I love that I can still tuck my daughter on the top bunk in at night because it is slightly shorter than others we looked at. It is also safer that way. This leaves less head room for the bottom bunk sleeper but it does not bother us. The wooden slats are exposed underneath for the bottom sleeper to see which may be standard on all bunk beds but to prevent splinters and just for fun we stapled a pretty fabric up and it looks great. We liked the fact that in the future we can separate the beds and have two identical beds. My reason that I gave four stars on expectations was for three reasons which may be small but I think it is good FYI information; First because it is not a pure white bed. It is slightly off white. I know it sounds picky but my girls room is accented with pure white and it would have been nice. Now that it is all set up I don't notice it. Second reason was the ladder steps are thin and they hurt my feet going up. They do not bother my seven year old and she is the one who uses it most so I just wear shoes when changing the sheets. Third was my husbands thought which was that he would have liked to see pop in covers over the screw heads because they are exposed. I personally did not notice this but again good info. To be completely honest, don't get caught up on my little FYI facts unless they really bother you, I had no idea we could buy a bed at this price (a weekly grocery bill) a be this happy. These beds will be in our home for years and will probably go off with the girls. They are solid, attractive and we are very happy. 11/04/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by SOLID, STURDY BED but NOT TRUE WHITE!! First thing we noticed when we got the boxes home was that the color stated HUSK WHITE. After immediately opening the headboard/footboard box, it was clear that they were definitely not a true white.... more of a yellow- based white. More of an off-white. My daughter's furniture is bright white so up against their dresser it IS noticeable, however, once we got them put together, the color difference is not that bad. I am VERY particular about this sort of thing and i think it ended up blending okay. The beds were easy to put together (took my husband only about 45 minutes) and they seem very well-made and very sturdy. I was very pleased with the overall quality. A few things I was wondering when ordering the beds were: Do they require a box spring? no, and I wouldnt recommend using one. Especially on the top matress. We were planning to use our daughter's bunkie board from her previous bed (9the flatter box spring used with beds that have a trundle underneath) and even that made the top mattress way too high. This may be a non-issue if your child that sleeps on the top bunk is older, but my daughter is only 5 and I wasn't comfortable having the mattress that close to the rail... almost level with it. We also tried to use the bunkie board on the bottom bed as well and it too made the mattress sit too high so there was hardly any space to sit up on that bed without hitting their heads on the bottom of the top bunk. We ended up using the mattress only on both bunks - and its still just as comfy. Can you put a trundle underneath? No. we tried to place my daughter's trundle under the bottom bunk and the bed isn't high enough to give the mattress clearance to pull in and out. This was a big bummer =( A few other side notes - things I didnt think about when I purchased the bunk beds... You can't use a dust ruffle on either bunk. Because of the ladder you can't get a dust ruffle to hang properly. Making the top bunk is a big pain and you have to keep it tucked in (on the sides and under the bed) when its made so that the quilt/sheets/comforter don't hang down. This is not going to be easy on me to make everday, esp considering Im 6 mos pregnant! Overall, the quality and sturdiness outweighs the cons. I think its a good bed and we are happy with our purchase. And our daughter's LOVE it! Im only giving it 4 stars b/c the color factor. I think the maufacturer should indicate on the description the color descrepancy. 02/14/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by GOOD BUNKS FOR THE BUCK After searching on Craigslist for some good sturdy wood bunks someone told me that they had bought a good set from Walmart. (Yes, I was surprised and skeptical!) After reading all the reviews, I decided to take the gamble. I'm glad I did. The bunks arrived well packed and were SIMPLE to put together with or without directions. I actually left the entire project for my 13 year old daughter and her friend. They had no trouble (granted, they are smart girls:) and even had fun with the project. To add my two cents to the white vs. cream debate...no they are not "pure as the driven snow" white. They are not beige/cream either. I am not a matchy-matchy person and like an eclectric room, so it was not a big issue to me. If you are a "must match my white Pottery Barn accesssories" kind of person, they may not work for you. I think the color is very nice. The bunks are fairly sturdy, though I have some doubts about the two facing boards lasting throughout the years. They are not thin, but not rock solid (like some of our other stained wood late 70's models are boys sleep on) and these bunks take a lot of "hopping" on the bottom bunk to spring to the top. Of course, they are not so heavy to lug around like the older style either. Anyhow, I plan to report back in a 6-12 months and let you know how they have held up. I think these are a good value for the money. I also noticed that the Target web-site has the EXACT bunk set (picture is identical) for over $150 more. Mmmmm. I have never bought a pc. of furniture from Walmart but won't be so scared to in the future. :) 03/01/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by cracked headboard It did arrive 10 days earlier.It is a beautiful WHITE bed, but one of the headboards arrived cracked. I am returning it right away to the local store since there is no phone to call , just email... ....that was 15mins ago....Walmart customer service called right away after the email...which makes me feel good about this... they requested a new part from the manufacturer and gave me a direct number to them... Called the number and the customer service rep. asked me to open all the boxes see what is missing or deffective and they will ship everything in 7-14 days. Hopefully everything is going to be OK. Bed is beautiful ,but because of this and two unopened boxes to go this purchase is getting 4 stars from me... 01/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by NOT WHITE ~ IS is called HUSK WHITE~ This bed is not pure white. It is HUSK WHITE. And that is different then WHITE. Its a little off white. Arrived at store with in 4 days after ordering. Easy to put together. But still goes good with white. 02/07/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Both headboards are CRACKED!!! We just got my girls these bunkbeds. I went to tuck my 6 yr old in, when I noticed something on her headboard. Upon closer inspection, I noticed it was a huge crack that went all the way through to the other side. I inspected the bottom bunk, and sure enough, a bunch of small cracks. A total of 7!! I am so upset, I do not recomend these beds at all. They look beautiful in my girls room, but they're falling apart in less than a week. My daughters are going to be absolutely heartbroken, when I tell them I have to send these back. Read other reviews, you will see some are similar to mine. Again, I do not recomend this product, but if you decide to purchase anyway, make sure you do an inspection, especially on the headboards!!! 03/26/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by Good looking-Lower Bed head room too low Bought the bed and got it shipped to store. Came in reasonable time. The bed really looks good once assembled. It feels sturdy despite being light, and has very thin posts as all the bed support cross members are screwed to the side rails. The Bed supports are not real wood which I am fine with. The price is really good too. The main bad part is the head room on lower bed. This too low. The gap between lower frame to upper frame is about 27 inches, but when we put Mattress on lower bed, the gap gets to less than 23 inches. Think of how short it is, even my 7 year old can not sit up or raise, rather has to slide out. Our previous bed has enough head room for me to sit up and our 2 year old to stand up. Now, I thought of doing some modification by adding some spacers between lower and upper posts, but that does not work as the ladder is screwed to the lower bed side rail. Now, I disposed my old bed, and can not modify this, I am with out options. They could have provided 4 more inches of clearance between two bed, then it would have been ideal. 07/22/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome!!! LOVE IT!!!! I love it. The beds are very well made and sturdy. No cracks or scratches of any kind. It only took my husband an hour to put together. The trundle that we had with our daughters day bed fits perfectly under the beds. I was worried that they would be flimsy, but it is very very soild. Great bunks for low bucks. I looked and did a lot of research, so glad I went with this bunk bed! 04/05/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Several boards have broken The side board on the bottom bed has broken and one of the boards on the bottom of the top bunk has broken. This happened within 2 months of purchase. Very CHEAP materials. 04/25/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very good buy for the money! They're alot shorter than regular bunk beds(height wise), but I knew that from others reviews. I like that because I can still get to my 4 yr old on the top bunk. Because of the height of the beds, there isn't a whole lot of room between the top and bottom beds, but I have a 2 yr old on the bottom, so its fine. They are very sturdy, thankfully!! Like I've said, good buy for the money spent and I am very happy with my purchase. 03/04/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Looks Good, Does't Last Long. Once assembled the bed looks great. Nice height. Please note however, the bed is not white but cream colored. Also It is not made of wood but chip board. We were pleased for the first few months, but over time started to notice hair line cracks all over. My kids are both under 40 pounds and we only allow them to sleep on the bed, not play or jump. The other day my husband tried to move the bed slightly and the one leg snapped. He had to reinforce it with a 2 by 4. After less than a year the bed is now trash. We are saving up for a better quality one with real wood. 01/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by My daughter loves it! This was easy to assemble. I did it myself while my husband was at work. My daughter loves the bed and I love that I can convert it into two twin beds easily! Very nice! 01/07/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not what I expected My husband and I purchased this bed for our little girls. It was a good price, made of wood and it was cute, but that's where the good qualities for this bed ends. After spending hours putting it together my husband and I discovered that no one over 3 feet could sit up in the bottom bunk. Our 2 year old was constantly hitting her head every time she sat up in the bed. So in order to make it work we took out the bottom bunk slats and in its place used a twin bed frame with a bunkie board to support her matress. 03/30/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by great, especially for the price! Overall, this bunk bed is suprisingly sturdy and will be great for my daughter. It's not as tall as some bunk beds, but we don't mind that. (didn't want it to go to the ceiling or anything anyways!) Directions are straightforward, and it was really easy to put together. I would recommend using a power drill with an "allen wrench" attachment. I couldn't imagine having to twist all the screws & bolts with the allen key. My one MAJOR complaint, which could deter some from buying this bed.... when I opened & unpacked the last box which contained the head & footboards, I realized that one of the headboards was cracked on a piece. I didn't think that it would be able to be fixed well enough for safety reasons. There is no # to call the manufacturer directly for replacement parts. You have to call walmart, and all that they can do is replace the whole bed. I wasn't about to attempt to pack everything back into the boxes and return it to the store and wait on the replacement. Luckily my husband could fix the piece well enough that it will work for us. So that's really the only down side of this purchase. There doesn't seem to be any service after the fact. If something breaks, I guess we'll just have to fix it ourself. 12/13/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by elise bunk bed, soft white this i a great bed. not only for the price but i am definitely satisfied with my purchase. a lot of the reviews state that it is not white, which it isnt but the title says soft white, the box says husk white. color wasnt a big deal for me. my kids love it though, i have a 5 and a three year old, so its prefect for them. its short enough to where my daughter can stand on the top bunk and we have low ceilings too. there isnt much room on the bottom for them to stand but theres plenty of room. its a very sturdy bed, came in three boxes, and came in 4 days of ordering. i ordered a 6inch matress for the top bunk, still waiting for it to come though, i got free shipping to my house for the bed and site to store shipping for the matress itself. seems to be holding up very well so far, despite some of the other reviews for it being a cheaply made bed. i think its great. would definitely reccommend this and i hope it does last long enough so i can eventually separate them send them off with my kids years down the road. 01/16/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Ok- not very strong Bought this bed a year and a half ago. Has done ok, but just gotten broken last night by my kids plopping down too hard on it. Obviously, they should have been gentler, but children rarely are! It is not very strong, in my opinion. Even brand new it shook when my child climbed up to the top bunk. Now we have a broken bed, and manufactor's info is non-existant in the paper work that was with the bed. Waste of money. 12/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This Bunkbed is Excellent.......... My Daughters love it....... Not much head room on bottom but my girls just use it to sleep so is ok........ I reccomend this set for kids it's Great!!!!! 01/25/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great Product This bunk bed is very cute and was very easy to put together. I didn't need any help. It's also very sturdy and worth every penny. My 5 and 2 year old daughters love it. It really brings life to their room. 09/28/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great value I wish i had purchased two twin mattresses for the children's comfort - but the "roll out" mattresses are working for now. Took a little time to construct - but has lasted well to this point (15 months). 01/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome bunk bed What a great bed for an awesome price. Very durable and looks great. Bought this for my girls, they love it. The only thing I wasn't crazy about are the wooden strips that you see above you when you're laying on the bottom bunk, but that was a quick fix. I took a sheet from one of their new bedding sets and stapled it to cover the wood. Quick and easy. As another viewer mentioned, it's great because it is still low enough that I can tuck my daughter in on the top bunk. Plus the beds come a part if you get tired of the bunk bed. 01/19/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Solid construction, love them! I was so nervous about buying these because of the previous reviews about some pieces being cracked but we went ahead and purchased them for our daughters ages 5 and 3 for Christmas along with the Spa Sensations 6" memory foam mattress. I am happy to say that all of the pieces were in perfect condition with no cracks. My husband said they were packaged very nicely so maybe they've changed the packaging since they were having some cracking issues during shipping. I am very surprised at how sturdy these are for the price. I couldn't find anything anywhere near this price range and I feel like the quality is excellent. The only thing I would like to add to it is some sort of covers for the brass bolts on the outside. I know manufacturers can't include them because they are a choking hazard if they come off, but I think I will go to the hardware store and see if I can find something to cover them up. Overall, I am very happy I purchased these from Walmart and not for 2 or 3 times as much elsewhere. Some other reviews didn't like the space between the bottom and top bunk but I think it's plenty of room for my 3 year old. I snuggled in there with her to read books and it's just fine! I also like being able to reach the top bunk (I'm 5'5") to kiss my older daughter goodnight and tuck her in without having to climb the ladder. I think we will also end up putting a piece of plywood or partical board underneath the memory foam mattress on the top bunk. The slats are close enough together to not need a bunkie board, but with the memory foam I think it will start to conform to the slats and I would rather it not do that so a thin board will do the trick. It didn't take my husband any time at all to put together, maybe 1.5 hours from box to finish, with no help. 12/26/2011
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not very durable I bought this bed for my girls 2 months ago and it has already broken. I would suggest spending a little more money and get a bed that is more durable its definately worth it. You get what you pay for and I definately got that. 04/30/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great price, my girls love it!! This was a great buy for my 2 girls, ages 4 and 6. They share a room and we needed some more space. They love to sit on the top bunk and play, and they have been sleeping very well in the bunk beds. They look very nice, too. 01/09/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by great bed I was looking for a good bunk bed for my 5 yr old twin girls, without spending the high designer furniture prices...well, I found exactly what I was looking for in this bed. It's in a soft white color (Husk white) and made of REAL wood for the price...I am a single mom and put it together by myself in 2 hrs ~ I probably could've done it quicker but I kept getting interupted. The only reason I gave it 4 stars was it was missing 3 screws from the box, but Walmart immediately made it right when I notified them of the problem. As for some people complaining it's not "big" enough...it's the exact size of my twins "old" bunk that was from a furn. store, but at 1/3 of the price I paid before. The only thing I don't like is all of the visible bolt heads...but for such a low price, I can't complain! 05/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Bought for Grandkids Excellent easy to assemble and very sturdy for a 4 and 6 year old. Looks great also. Would purchase again if required and strongly recommend to other people. 12/09/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Incredible Bed at Incredible Price I am a husband and father of 3 children. I am going to make this as simple as possible. These beds are aesthetically (appearance) perfect. They look like exceptional bunk beds. The price in extremeley low. I ordered 2 bunk beds. I was a bit worried considering we did not see them in person. I set 2 full bunk beds up in about 3 hours. It was very fast. The bed goes together with simplicity. The most surprising part about these beds is that they were extremeley sturdy. I was weary about how sturdy they would be for such a price. However, I have little to no complaints. I am sure they will last for some time to come. Only one minor complaint. The ladder stairs are a bit narrow, but does not by any means hurt my 8 year old or my 6 year olds feet. They adore these beds. Bottom line is that they are great beds at a great price. Thank you for this product! 02/19/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by We love our bunkbed Easy to put together .. my girls are finally sleeping in their OWN BEDS!! 11/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Worries no more. I ordered the beds and mattresses Tuesday evening. I received the mattresses on Thursday and the beds on Friday, with free shipping! ) I was thrilled! I was really concerned about the color "soft white"... when it arrived it was not a corn husk color like most said. It does not even appear to be an off white. It is close enough to match the chair rail in my daughters room which is all white. I was pleased with the color and the beds. Great value for the money! * There were a few places where there were some "dig" marks in the wood, not a big enough blemish for me to send them back. I did not buy the mattresses with the bed, I bought two of the twin quilted mattresses in Tan. I was extremely sceptical because of the horrible reviews. I am a small woman of 105 pounds and I believe I could have slept on them. They are like futon mattresses, like I had read.. They have awful reviews, but you get what you pay for and for $50 with free shipping, I can't complain!!! They won't last years, but until I can afford good ones, they are perfect. * I did buy a peice of ply board for $7 and cut it in half and placed it underneath the mattress for added support.. Works perfect and the mattresses will last longer! 07/23/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great For The Price I was a little skeptical about buying bunk beds online but was pleasently suprised when we got them assembled. They are actually well made and easy to put together. I got these for my 4 year old and she loves them. The only issue I had was that there were several knicks on various parts of the wood. Nothing to noticable though so overall I am very very pleased with this purchase and would recommend. 02/15/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by HIGHLY RECOMMEND WORDS CAN'T CONVEY WHAT MY HEART WANTS TO SAY ABOUT THIS ITEM. GREAT PRICE, AWESOME CRAFTSMANSHIP AND EASY ASSEMBLY!!! 11/19/2010
1-30 of 92 total reviews
2 3 4 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
ew352
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp