Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 29 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by best gel for curly hair!! I looked for years for a gel that produces the effect that super stiff get does. it is very thick which is weird at first ... i finally realized how little you have to use. i used to spend at least 10 dollars a week on products. super still gel costs about 3.50-4 dollars and last me a month. quarter size and rub it all over your hands then apply. it is the best thing i have ever discovered!! 06/21/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by love it. okay, so this gel IS sticky... but only on your hands, which you can obviously just wash off. once you apply this to your hair, it works wonders! i use a dime to a quarter sized amount of this, rub it into my hands and scrunch it into my damp hair. this product, along with Aussie Instant Freeze hairspray create beautiful voluminous perfect waves in my naturally (slightly) wavy, yet boring hair. my only complaint is the alcohol in it, which dries out my hair. but i guess that's why it holds and works so well, so i shouldn't really complain. 11/06/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Long time user This gel is the best on the market. I have been using it for at least 4 years and I dig it better than any of the other products on the market. I'm a guy and I wear a flat top that is killer but looks like crud if I dont style it the right way. My main complaint is the gel is hard to find in stores. I go to walmart and it isnt there, I go to target and it is not there, I go to a liquor store and there it is. I bet they are fazing it out for chemical purposes. I am just going to order 20 of these so i will have at least three years worth of gel at my disposal. 12/31/2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good hold, not stiff Been using the Super Stiff for years. Holds my very fine hair all day, yet, despite its name, it is not hard-stiff, but more like flexible stiff. 06/25/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by N/A I have used this product for a long time. I could not find it in some stores and I tried other Garnier products similiar to this one but they did not work as well. So that is when I got on the Internet and found Super Stiff. I will continue to order this product because it works the best for me. 01/09/2015
Rated 2 out of 5 by Doesn't work - NOT "Super Stiff" I got this one to spike up my son's hair...and it doesn't spike them at all. It doesn't hold the hair up like a "super stiff" product should do. It does smell good but it's so sticky and slimy that it's a pain to use every morning. After few hours from application the hair are flat and the product is gone. This product won't make your hair "stiff". 10/20/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible! The only thing this product has going for it is the terrific smell. It's just lovely. But besides that I don't quite like this gel. First, you're supposed to squeeze it from the bottle...which is a hassle because it turns into a long stringy, sticky mess that refuses to let go of the bottle. Then you're supposed to stretch it a bit, and run it through your hair...which is almst impossible to do without getting it everywhere else. Shifting it from one hand to the other is also near impossible. And everytime I use this, I see the gel turn into this web like substance that just floats around the bathroom. I will agree, it IS like putting crazy glue in your hair. 02/17/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Fructis Hair Gel If you choose to use this product in your hair, you may as well buy Crazy Glue. It's much cheaper and has the same effect. This is by far the "WORST" styling product I have ever put in my hair. I have short hair and it took forever to wash this out. Do not buy it, there are so many better brands. I would gladly recommend or give you some ideas if anyone is interested. 09/28/2013
Rated 1 out of 5 by Horrible. Got it in the mail. It was stringy sticky. Was hard to get off my hands. Wasnt going to put it near my hair. Took it back to Wal-Mart. Got Pantene instead. Wouldnt buy it. 06/15/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Oily I like the way this works, but using it more than one time between washings make your hair look a little oily. 09/28/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works great for styling. My hairdresser said she couldn't find it anymore so I looked on line and found out you carry it. It's a great product. It gives volume and you can spike your hair up with it. I use it on my grandson to spike his hair. 06/04/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Finally After searching every store in town, Thank God for Walmart.com......... I could not find it anywhere, but Wal-Mart.com came through. I sure hope that this isn't a discontinued item. I LOVE THIS PRODUCT 02/12/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by TO GARNIER: NEVER STOP MAKING THIS I have very thick curly hair. Let me say I CAN'T LIVE WITHOUT THIS. It is the only thing I use to style my hair PERIOD. This gel is not for everyone, but for those who need it, it is absolutely incredible. I have been using super stiff for years and plan on using it for years to come. 02/09/2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great product for curly, thick hair! I love putting this on after a shower, running it through with my fingers, and letting my thick, curly hair dry. It is so much less poofy and frizzy with this product. 03/05/2014
Rated 1 out of 5 by Terrible Product I have been a longtime user of the Fiber Gum putty. It is the absolute best product I have ever used. I wasn't able to find it for a short while then noticed a new product called Fiber Spikes. it was not as good as the Fiber Gum putty but was ok. Now that's unavailable and I tried this product and it's terrible! Being a gel, it's too wet to achieve the messy look I wear. I hate that the other products appear to be discontinued. I have always gotten many compliments on my style and always refered people to Garnier Fructis. PLEASE BRING BACK THE PUTTY/PASTE formula!!! 03/03/2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by My Husband Can't Live Without This Gel!! This is the thickest, stickiest, firm holding gel I have ever experienced. My husband has course curly hair and he is able to create a straight controlled style with the help of this one-of-a-kind gel. I don't know what he/we will do if this product ever goes away. I stock up when I can. Walmart has the best price. 01/30/2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Super Sticky I tried this because I need something to hold my short hair. This definitely held my hair in place, but it is super sticky! It felt like glue going onto my hair, and I could not spread it through my hair. After it dried, it felt like there were strands of my hair that were glued together. When I went to wash my hair, it became sticky all over again. I do not recommend this gel because of the stickiness. Surely, there is a product out there that has great hold without the stiff or sticky feel, I just haven't found it yet. 10/14/2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Curly Girl's Dream... Okay so I'm biracial. I have tight curls that used to turn into a big afro, but ever since I went curly girl (no sulfates or cones for me!!), my hair's been FLOURISHING. I just needed a little extra help with some hold so my curls wouldn't turn puffy, so I tried this gel and I LOVE it. It's very sticky when it comes out of the bottle, but for some reason as soon as it touches my hair it turns into this magic, pliable substance that mixes with my HG product: Garnier color shield condish and makes my hair WONDERFUL. My curls stay tight, but they hang, they're shiny, there's little to no puff... And they are SOFTTTT. My hair gets frizzy sometimes cause I literally can't stop touching and smelling it. Then I just add a little more condish and it's back to beautiful. Love Garnier Super Stiff gel and Color Shield conditioner!!! :D 11/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! I have tried other gels and this one is by far the best. My hair is wavy and when I apply this gel to my hair before scrunch drying with a difuser it creates soft curls. People can't believe I don't have natural curly hair because with this product and the Curl Construct Mousse, I do get the soft natural curly look. I have been using these two products for years. Tried others and nothing compares. 10/11/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Ever! This is the BEST gel ever. I've tried MANY different gels including some from Garnier, none can compare. Absolutely love this product. Garnier you can't do any better PLEASE don't change this product. 09/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works wonderfully! I use this when I tease my hair, and if I'm going for a messy/blunt and choppy look (layered hair is versatile, eh?). What I do is I take it, put a nickel size amount in my palm, spread it between my hands, and apply it to my hair in quick, upwards motions. I then "rough" my hair up by shaking my hands through my hair. After that, I use a comb to tease my hair, and then smooth down the topmost layer. This gel holds amazingly well, and I would use it for curling my hair and probably after I flat iron it, if I'm going to be doing something particularly active (or going out on a windy day) to hold it in place. 07/26/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by gel in tube not as good as gel in jar bring it back!!! this product is sticky.i wish theywould bring back the jar of gel it was the best nothing compares to thatproduct usedit a long time go to get it and no more .no explanation please bring back jar gel not that jar pomade ugh.....come garnier why did u discontinue that product it was so good?????????? 02/19/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Intense Structure and Hold This product really works. You can't beat the hold. 02/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Stiff is Fantastic I have extremely thick hair, I need mousse and gel to get my hair to hold a curl with my hot rollers. If I didn't have this I would be sunk. 02/14/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by only the best I have very fine hair, and the gel gives me the body that I need for styling my hair. 02/14/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Garnier Fructis Style Gel Loved it! Kept my hair exactly the way I wanted it to. 5 STARS 01/28/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by Stiff to touch The super stiff product is a great product to use on my hair, it leaves my hair sleek down all day. But will putting it on it very sticky, so i to wash my hands right after or it will be everywhere. 01/14/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great to slick your hair back in a pony tail or other This is super strong. Very gooey, but works to keep hair down and in place. I would only use this for a pony tail 01/05/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Would be great if formulated like the Brillantine Shine Gel I tried this product after using the Brillantine Shine Gel on my grey, short spikey hair. It was certainly not the same. The super stiff, is goopy, sticky and does not produce the shine I like. It does hold as promised but I wouldn't buy it again. Bring back the Brillantine Shine Gel! 01/04/2012
  • 2015-10-05T04:18:25.134-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_29, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_10316437, prod, sort_helpfulness
1-29 of 29 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.