See All Reviews
Rated 4 out of 5 by 21 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by very pleased These are cool filters, the water outlet design makes for truly quiet operation. Most filters make a splashing sound when the water comes out. With this filter the water slips into the tank without disturbing the suface tension. This is a big plus for planted tanks! The pump is completely submeged too so no noise there either. Operates in as little as 2" of water, like a turtle tank would have. The filter pad is genius, it's built so you can open it and replace carbon. Rinse it off and it's like new, you hardly ever have to buy new filter pads. Very affordable in the long run and a decent price to begin with. Oh and the pump itself can be removed and used independently as a fountian pump. I like these :) 06/19/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great for turtle tanks. I currently use this filter on a 30 gallon tank with two turtles in it. It's nice because it does not need to hang off the side of the tank, you can use the suction cups to place it in almost any water level as long as the vents are under water. The water was getting cloudy at the time i put it in and within a few days it was back to being crystal clear. The replacement filters are easy to change, i also found out that they are the same filters as petsmart brand topfin filters. This makes shopping easier and if you cannot get to a walmart the topfin is cheaper than tetra filters at a specialty store. 03/04/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Good Product - Not for Small Fish This product is excellent at keeping the water in the aquarium clean but even at it's lowest setting is way too powerful for smaller fish as they will get sucked under the filter and get caught. 12/31/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Definitely Works! I was having a major algae problem in my tank, I didn't want to use the drops cause they can kill the shrimp & a few other bottom feeders! I bought this thing, it works like a charm! No need for any pump! And, the best part, it is super quiet & doesn't suck up your smaller breeds of fish! Even works well, if your female Guppy is having babies! Only thing the little babies need to worry about now, is the parent fish! 04/18/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing!!! I was so impressed with this product!!!! it works EXTREMELY well, and is totally silent!!! This product is not only affordable, but easy to maintain and does not require much space... I recommend this product to anyone. 11/10/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good price, effective, quiet, and big This is one of the cheapest filters walmart sells so A+ on price. It is very powerful, filters a lot of water and keeps our 29 gallon tank very clean so A+ on filtering. The water cascade makes NO sound although there is a very faint electric hum from the motor so A on silence. I only see two possible issues, neither of which has been a bother to me. First, the filter is MUCH bigger than it appears in the photo. So if you want something that will be out of sight I cant recommend it. Secondly, the stream coming back into the tank is very powerful. It might be too much for very small fish in a small (5 gallon), like putting them on a treadmill 24/7. 05/16/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by LARGE but Effective This is a very good internal filter! It definitely is effective at keeping a 20H tank clear and all of my tank mates healthy. The only drawback is its size! I would not recommend this filter for a low tank style. If you look at a 150 gph backpack style filter and imagine the whole thing vertical in your tank, you get an idea of its size. Changing filters has been a breeze, but the suction cups come off of the filter easily, which necessitates removing the entire filter. So far, though, it is a keeper. 10/29/2010
Rated 3 out of 5 by not that great Useful for turtles but not great for amateur koi tanks. My filter system gave out and I bought this product. It is very quiet (which is great) but I am a paranoid person and having the cord in the tank made me not happy with it off the back. It gives no aeration to the tank so my koi are at the top for air. It has a nice design despite being so clunky. I could buy an air pump but those things are noisy so having a filteration system that could provide some aeration is more useful than a silent submergable one. 05/17/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by OK For me this product works wonderfully. I have a 10 gallon tank and 2 fancy goldfish. It is very quiet and i love the option of the second suction cup. i am kind of shocked by how large the product is. My roommate has the same filter which came in a tetra kit. Her tank is only 3 gallons. She also has a fancy goldfish, however her's is smaller. the filter created such a powerful current that it was sucking up her fish. i would not recommend this filter for anything less than 10 gallons. 02/24/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Worked good for about a week. The filter was constructed very cheaply but seemed to work well for about a week. Then it started shooting water out the back, over the top of the tank, and onto the wall. My son caught it before there was major damage to the wall and floor, but I had to clean over a gallon of fish water out of the carpet in my boy’s room and missed the first quarter of the 49rs game. 08/13/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by peacefully quite I own the 10i whisper filter and it doesn't make a sound in my 10 gallon aquarium. Some people say in tank filters don't compare to external filters but I have tride external filters and there loud, ineffective, and the cartreges are hard to find. The 10i whisper filter is effective and soundless. 08/02/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Filter Just got this filter today to replace the filter that came with my fish tank, and all i have to say is awsome, this filter is much better then the one that came with the tank, i just installed it and with in 45mins the water was much clearer and no discoloration, and the ammonia,nitrite levels dropped to a safer level, i have a 10gal tank it's a little big but i don't care its doing the job and I'm extremely happy are so are my three fish Jerry,Ziggy and Cowboy. 07/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Powerful Yet Silent Filter! The Tetra Whisper 10-30i came with my 20 gallon kit that I purchased. It's the first internal filtration system I've used so at first it took some getting used to. The power filter is a good size so as others have reviewed, it may not actually be best for 10 gallon tanks (though it will work). It looks okay in a 20 gallon but would look great in a 30 gallon. Also as one other pointed out, the cord does indeed go into the water. Well part of it anyways. That did have me a bit nervous at first but you have to think this was part of the design so the cord must be made for water submersion. I personally wouldn't have designed it that way but regardless it works. With that said though I would still recommend unplugging the power filter first before actually removing it. This filtration system is extremely quiet. I have the tank set up in the living room and I can watch a movie with ease as the water doesn't cascade into the tank but rather flows gently into the water by running over a horizontal lip. Also since the motor is submerged in the water the hum is even hardly audible. My only kick about this filter is it does seem to be a tad too powerful for smaller fish. The current will push them back and I haven't seen any way to adjust the flow on the filter itself. As another has mentioned though you can obstruct the flow to slow it down while still allowing the filter to work. I had to rig a piece of plastic up on an older power filter that was too powerful in my previous 10 gallon tank and looks like I may have to do the same with this one. The water stays crystal clear and you have two options for filters, assembled and non assembled. Each filter should last about a month too which increases the value too. So over all I really like this filtration system and would gladly recommend it. 05/16/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Really wonderful filter! I have had many different filters throughout the more then 10 years I have of fish care. This filter pumps out 150 gallons an hour which is great for any 10 gallon tank and average for a 30 gallon tank. It keeps the water clear and the cartrages are very easy to clean and cheap. The motor is submerged in water which makes for more silence then other power filters. Some people may complain about how much room it takes up being that it is an eternal filter not an external filter. I have no problem with this. Another nice feature is that the water put out does not disturb the surface much at all and does not make any water fountain noise what so ever! The only down side is it does vibrate a little in the tank so that makes a humming noise. This doesn't bother me being that other filters humb, rattle and make water fountain noises at the same time. I really wouldn't let this prevent your from buying this filter! If you are looking for a great filter at a reasonable price this is the filter for you! I will not be using any other type of filter other then this one for any of my tanks! 04/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best internal filters I love these filters. They alway work great and for a long time. These are the best internal filters I have ever used. 03/30/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Super Quiet I'm just starting an aquarium so I have nothing fancy just a couple of goldfish in one of those all in one aquariums but I needed a new filter and this one is great. It's the smallest one and says up to 10 gallons. I've only had it 2 days but so far so good. 03/25/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not quiet at all!! So I bought this from my local pet store. I do a complete water change, even took my rocks out and clean them. Filled the tank back up and installed my new 40 gal model. It work amazing for the first week, then all the sudden it becomes very noisy, I go to investigate and now the water is not only being pushed through the spillway area but on both sides of the filter itself. I take it out, rinse the filters, check for clogs (which there were none) and plug it back in. Works perfectly, for 10 minutes then back to the same as before, water being pushed out of the top and down the sides. I called customer service and they told my it needed cleaned. So I clean the dang thing all over again with the same results. I send them an email, which I have never had a reply to. I do a little research online and find that I am not the only one with this complaint, most people say it just needs cleaned or filters replaced. I would find this acceptable but my water was fresh to start with and it only was in for a week before it started acting up. If the filters only have a life of one week, well they should print that on the box. This thing is so noisy that I have to unplug it just to watch TV. The only good thing I can say is that for that first week my water was crystal clear. 03/12/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by This filter is awsome, quiet, has good flow, only one draw back, the water suction area could be lower, I am now using them, 2 in a 55 and 1 in a 35 hex tank, the suction area is to high, its in the top half of the tank, my prefference is to be lower, maybe a conversion kit. also no easy access to impeller for cleaning of debris, scum buildup etc. but those minor problems I strill rate this 4 stars. now to find a quiet affordable air pump with enough ooomph to power 4 undergravel tubes and 2 air stones in a 55 gal. ....... 02/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Tetra 40i used for turtle/works great I have a 40i filter for a 20 g tank with a turtle and Two gold fish. It does a fantastic job easy to clean and easy to change the filter the quietest filter I have ever used. The gold fish are now about 4 inches long and the turtle is about 5 inches long and both are very messy. I change the filter about every two weeks 09/21/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Whisper EX45 NOT SO QUIET!!! I bought a Whisper EX45 about two weeks ago, and it already sounds like its falling appart! Its so noisy i have to unplug it when I watch TV. I have cleaned it and found no debris coming out, so im not sure what the problem is. It still moves whater, it just sounds like a little blender in my livingroom. I did not keep my receipt, so i guess im out of luck, but when i buy a new filter next week, it wont be a Tetra unless they give me a new one to replace this junker!!!!!! 07/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by AWSOME I bought this product for a month now and it works really great for my 10 gallon tank. I use it for my guppies and it works great. The water is crystal clean and my guppies aren't suck into it. So yea for its value and stuff I would recommend it. 05/10/2009
1-21 of 21 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw462
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp