Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 26 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Replacement I was concerned about compatibility with the plug in connection to my hardwired system. Not only was this the same connector as I had for a BRK 4120SB, but the adapter kit has wire sets to convert for other manufacturers' connectors. I also learned in the process that BRK and First Alert are the same company. Complete replacement took 5 minutes -all the old parts gone and new parts installed and tested. 01/23/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by INEXPENSIVE SAFETY I had a hardwired smoke detector that was 30 years old and not functioning. It was not battery back up. I was looking for a replacement and found this one while wondering the aisles at Walmart. I didn't think they had one. But there it was on a shelf, and battery back up. It was easy to rewire the adapters. Everything I needed came in the package. I used the mount that came with. In about 10 minutes I was done. Tested and working both with the electric on and off. Wire it up right, and you can't go wrong. 01/27/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Just what we needed We had been looking for replacement smoke detectors to change out all the old ones in the house we just bought. They were the old BRK ones that have the old style 3-prong connection. I had purchased new ones, but they didn't come with the adapters and I would have had to rewire all of the smoke detectors to get any of the new ones to work. I found these online as the only ones advertised as coming with adapters. However the actual smoke detectors as is are the connectors we needed. If we ever needed to replace these new ones with something else, we now have adapters and the pigtails that would easily convert new models to what we have. They've been up for about a week now and I haven't had any false alarms yet. So far I'm happy with them. 11/17/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Good Product Very easy to install. I did not have a plug so I simply wired the one provided, followed the instructions and had it done within 10 minutes. Anyone can do it if they simply use a little common sense and follow the instructions. 10/23/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Alert Product was a breeze to install. Tested and functioning. Replaced all our kidd*** smoke alarms. They have been a head ache since we moved in back in 2002 false signals more than normal. Contacted First Alert customer service for additional info before purchase and they answered all my questions and were very nice. I would buy this product again. The only negative I have is Walmart's shipping is too high with their volume they could go with a flat rate. I do not live near a Walmart or I would do a sited to store. This particular model is only sold by Walmart. 05/30/2009
Rated 4 out of 5 by ok didn't screw into old one, so had to tack up with a nail. Sit's a bit funny because of old case. oh well it works. 10/08/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent I looked at a few others here at WatMart and decided that I would purchase this model because my other rire alarms were starting to quit and being over 10 years old, was not sure of the connection. I AM NOT AN ELECTRICIAN, so I did not want to mess with the wires. The little set of adapter wires and connectors that came with the new smoke alarm worked perfectly. I only had to remove the old fire alarm. The new mount fit right like the old one. Popped the adapter on and then a little twist and all was up. An easy press of the test button confirmed all was working. Small green light also let me know at a glance anytime later that all is still well. I love to make my grandson jump when he is on the Xbox 360 and can not see me when I press the test button. He jumps everytime. 04/29/2012
Rated 3 out of 5 by too sensitive We purchased these to replace old ones and everytime I cook something in oven they are so sensitive they go off. Its easy to disconnect them but a pain when everytime i cook they do this. I clean my oven and they still go off. I use my fan and still goes off. Maybe they can make ones that aren't so sensitive. I will be searching for different ones soon. 11/05/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by The smoke and fire detectors are great. I love the fact that it doesn't just run on batteries, in case you forget to change them. They were easy to install. Who could pass up a ten year warranty on them? 08/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to connect and replace 120v alarms This alarm is very sensitive and detected more than once simple smoke from a frying pan a distant away and separated by a wall, but did not dectect low levels of tobacco smoke. I love the mute function for these instances - no more circut turn off or fanning to stop the beeping. 05/10/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy to install and no false alarms This hard-wired smoke detector installed easily as a replacement for a dated BRK unit. I did not need to use either of the included wiring adapters. The instructions were clear, and installation took only a few minutes. No false alarms so far after a few weeks. 04/16/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by easy to install smoke detector The installation was easy ,Following the instructions.However when the installation was done it started to beep.indicating a weak batterie.I replaced the batterie and it continue to beep.I disasembled the unit and notice that the contacts were not touching the batterie.Bend the taps forward and the unit works fine.I plan to buy one more for the basement. 03/31/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice Looking. Did a lot of research on this important household item. For the price, this is an excellent alarm. We are very pleased with this product. 03/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Recomended by Consumer Reports This was purchased to replace the old smoke alarm which was a BRK made by First Alert and recommended by the customer service from BRK. The previous smoke alarm was 9 yrs. old and started to give false alarms ceiling mounted. Customer service said that it was only guaranteed for only 5 yrs. well over due. It was easy to install and the hard wire was the same as the old model; nothing to change. I just removed the old bracket (two screws) and installed the new one. Plugged it in and was ready to go. I have to mention that the battery back up is easy to replace but when installing it REVERSE the battery when you see it in the package. The instructions doesn't show or explain how the battery is installed. If the alarm chirps the BATTERY IS IN WRONG! It's smaller than other models and the same size as my old one. It comes with a kit for other smoke alarms kiddie, firex and has the wiring for those models. You can't go WRONG! 03/04/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by adaptors don't fit The adaptors have the right prongs and holes, but the plastic fixture doesn't fit. 12/30/2010
Rated 1 out of 5 by Annoying Alarm Bought this alarm because it was cheap. Big mistake. Alarm won't stop chirping every 10 seconds even after re-installing, taking the battery out and putting it back, or resetting. I don't know what else to do! This product is going back soon if I can't get it to stop. 12/12/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great smoke detector at a great price online After much online comparison shopping and reading the other Walmart customer reviews we just installed 6 of these smoke alarms to replace ones that were 10 years old and starting to give "false alarms". It took less than 30 minutes to do the job and they work fine as replacements. Although we didn't have to use the extra adapters that come with this alarm because the existing ones matched the new alarms, it would make the job easier than having to hardwire them. I did discover that the exact same alarms at the local Walmart were 5 dollars more each than ordering them online and having them sent free to the local Walmart store. 11/05/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Alert Smoke Alarm I purchased this smoke alarm as an upgrade to my BRK alarms. The wiring was simple and installed in just minutes. The First Alert alarms are a quality and reliable product. 10/12/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by The smoke detectors were easy enough to install but beware!!! If you test each unit as you install them, you will trigger the "which smoke detector sensed the smoke" chirping. You will have to remove the alarm, remove the battery and press the test button to bleed the residual battery power. Then you will have to reinstall the battery and press the test button for one loud beep to reset. After waiting for 24 hours to make sure it doesn't beep anymore, then you can put it back up on the ceiling. After that they have behaved just fine- so far... 08/30/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by First Alert Hard wired easy to do. This product was very easy to install once I understood that it was not just a snap out, snap in. The wiring was easy to understand, and I installed three that are linked together. 10/21/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Easy installation Replace 6 old alarms and it took me 30 mins. Great and it was easy bolted into the current recepticle and with the adaptor plug write in 07/06/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by great product We bought this to replace the main smoke alarm in our new home that had been beeping constantly! The new smoke alarm works great and stopped the beeping from the old one instantly. We feel safer having installed it. 01/07/2009
1-23 of 23 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw499
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp