Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 99 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Powerful nuker I went from a GE 1100 watt microwave to this Panasonic 1250 watt, but I was not ready for how powerful this unit is. Being a bachelor, I eat a fair number of frozen dinners. When using my old micro, I would frequently have to add to the suggested times to get the meals adequately hot. With this Panasonic, I find that I have to consistently cut back the cooking time by a minute or two. The same for a cup of tea, etc. I learned the hard way by half cremating meals and boiling over tea and coffee. Now that I have gained some experience with proper times, I like the heck out of this microwave because I don't have to wait nearly as long as for my old microwave to finish the job. Some people have mentioned that they can't hear the cooking-done beep, beep, beep very well, and they have suggested that it be made louder. I couldn't disagree more. I can hear it just fine, and I find that the louder microwave units are obnoxious. By toning down the volume and adding a couple more beeps to get your attention, I think Panasonic has got it just right. The Turbo Defrost cycle works as advertised. I don't understand how it achieves such perfect results - fully defrosted but not any part of the food starting to cook. The Sensor Cook and Sensor Reheat modes work nearly as well. Hot spots and cold spots only occur when the food being heated/cooked is very unevenly distributed. This microwave does what it was meant to do, and it does it very, very well. I do have a few nit picks, however. The subtle horizontal white strips printed on the front of the window are attractive and match the white color of the unit, but they make it a bit difficult to monitor whether something is boiling over when being heated. But, if you squint a little you can see. Secondly as mentioned by others, the door does sound a little bit loud and cheap when you shut it, but it isn't really bad enough to be an irritant. The manual is also cheap looking and short on content. It adequately explains the steps needed to operate the microwave in its different modes, but it is way short on suggested times and power setting for various foods commonly nuked in these units. 12/19/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by You'll Like This Microwave This oven replaced my 29-yr old Panasonic microwave. Made me want to stick with Panasonic. The controls on this oven are not much different from my original, so easy transition to use. Had to read the book for the defrost feature. Liked the inverter technology that gives "true" low, medium. Only Panasonic & possibly Sharp use this technology. My old Panasonic was only 700 watts & this one is 1250, but I have not noticed much difference in end result. Heating a cup of water/coffee to my preferred temp still takes about the same time. The window/door has a black line grid, so it is not as easy to see cooking progress as my old one. The cord is shorter than my old oven, which might be an issue if you put this on a counter where the outlet is farther away than mine. (40" from oven to outlet, total). Also liked the size of 2.2 cuft which is larger than most. Slightly larger inside than my old one, but not as heavy. Exterior dimensions are almost identical, so this one fit the same cart as the old one. I wanted black, but that was unavailable. White was in stock. Walmart had the best price on this model that I could find, but has increased $10 since I bought mine 6 wks ago. This model seemed to be a best buy for the price. I was willing to pay a bit more for this oven because of the larger usable size, higher power, extra features, AND the Panasonic brand name. Defrost works well on both large & small items. I chose site to store delivery. Chart said it would take 5 to 7 days, but it arrived in just 2 days. Pleasant surprise! 09/19/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome!!!! This microwave replaced a sharp I had for 16 years. Wow how things have changed! The defrost cycle on this thing is great, I had three chicken thighs frozen together, and it defrosted all three without pulling them apart (like my old micro), and didn't even cook the skin that was hanging off the edge of the meat, it was perfect! I don't know what people are talking about, I can see through the door just fine. I must say though the door is a pain to close, you gotta give it a good slam. All fetures are great, the sensor reheat, and cook are amazing! It cooks perfectly!! I even thawed a 23 lb. turkey in it, it's big!! A great buy in my opinion, give it a try, I think you'll like it!!!! I'm satisfied!!! As for longevity, we'll see?! 12/11/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Satisfied Customer Bought as replacement for our other larger unit. Been using several weeks now with no problems. The popcorn feature has 3 settings for different size bags and does not burn if you use correct settings. Defrost is super fast comapred to older model microwaves. Powerful unit meets more than our expectations. All other settings work as they should. "Fast" ship to store. Recommended unit especially for size and price. 09/17/2009
Rated 2 out of 5 by Lasted only 8 months broke after 8 months, now I will have to try to get warranty repair on it. It worked fine until it broke, but it should have lasted a lot longer. 06/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fast, Quiet, Simple, Huge Capacity This microwave is capable of easily accommodating tall, deep dishes because of its huge cavity and turntable. Hence, it does require more counter space than the average oven, but it's worth it. It also has the inverter which gives you true intermediate cooking power levels, rather than the typical cycling on/off of most others. It also has sensing capability for cooking or thawing based on weight of food, if you're into that. Other than these useful features, it doesn't have a bunch of silly presets, except for popcorn. I've seldom found these presets to be accurate and rarely used them on other microwaves I've had. The minute plus button is handy, and one I've used on other microwaves and missed on those machines that didn't have it. At 1250 watts, this oven is fast and even, so I've had to scale back cooking times by more 30 to 40 percent over the 900 watt machine it replaces. Some have complained about the loud sound that the door makes when it is closed, but this seems nit-picky to me - it's just a good, solid sound. Others have complained that it's difficult to see through the window, and it may be a little moreso than other machines, but I've found that visibility varies with the angle from which you are looking through it. Pros: Huge capacity, fast, inverter feature, no silly, useless presets that clutter up the controls. Cons: None really, other than it takes a little more counter space than average, but necessarily so in order for it to accommodate large cookware and meals. I got it for my elderly folks because of its simplicity; will get the same for my home when my current one craters. 10/27/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Sensor heating on an inexpensive model, Excellent I have had this microwave for a couple weeks, so not sure about durability rating, but it is a sturdy looking-long lasting by looks microwave. I LOVE the Inverter technology/Sensor heating. You just literally put something in and press "Sensor Reheat" or Sensor Heat and it knows how long. It has heated everything very well. For this price that is amazing technology. I recommend this to anyone who needs a good microwave, but doesn't want to spend 300.00. 05/14/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Poor LED display Only days old and the LED display has stopped working!! I have to guess at time and entries made. 11/28/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Microwave oven. We use the microwave oven daily for numerous items, we had a panasonic microwave simialr to this one for 15 years, served us well, we wore it out. 11/03/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 by Error!!! I had this product shipped from walmart.com. It was shipped in nothing other than the original packing with a label slapped on it. The corners were all ripped up. I had it one day. The next day I tried to heat up some coffee and it stopped all of a sudden and read H98. H98? I read the manual and it said if it reads this then you need to call tech support. I did... They said that I would need to take it to a technician which of course was no where near where I live. I just decided to take it back to Wal-mart and get a different one. You know, one that actually works. So I ended up going to Home Depot and getting one a tiny bit smaller but for half the price. Worked out in my favor in the end. 11/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great microwave for everyday use. I use my microwave for most of my everyday cooking so I was lost when I had to replace my old microwave. I love this Panosonic. I chose the 2.2 cu ft because I use 9x 13 pans in it alot. I love the even cooking and defrost. It does everything more quickly and you don't have hot and cold spots. My personal opinion so far is that this is the best microwave I have had so far. A very good choice. 06/22/2012
Rated 2 out of 5 by Not So Hot Have had this microwave for about three months. Our old Panasonic died after about 20 years, gave us excellent service. Bought a smaller Panasonic microwave soon after the funeral. It was okay but the microwave would shut down our wifi network, bring internet browsing to a crawl, to a near stop. AGGRAVATING, especially for u or some other household member if someone else decides to fire up the microwave and cook their ten minute meal. The old Panasonic did not interfere with the wifi. Panasonic tech people said to change router channels, tried that suggestion, eleven channels, thereabouts. The microwave still interfered. So we returned the unit and bought this larger microwave, more the same size as our original. Still have wifi interference. We like the way it cooks, much faster than the 20+ year old microwave. And the oven cooks continuously rather than using off-on cycles. The unit is MUCH louder when running than the old oven. The oven closing (lock) mechanism is quite aggravating. Forget about gently closing the door! The door requires a slam before it closes, latches. The unit is SEVERAL pounds lighter than the old microwave, nothing much more than a "tin" box. And when that door slams shut, the closure sound is enormous in volume. The price is right. It is a relatively inexpensive microwave, cheaply constructed. I would neither buy another Panasonic nor recommend this brand. 03/30/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Form without Function This microwave was a gift when I was pregnant. My son just turned two and the microwave is dead. My husband's initial complaint was about the microwaves features. The fancy cook features seemed to get in the way. The smart defrost cooked the food instead of just defrosting and my husband was continually frustrated with its inability to make popcorn. After looking up the error code online, because it wasn't in the manual, it would seem that our inverter and/or the magnetron are blown. After reviewing the pricing on parts it would cost ~$130 to replace them. All that money for a microwave that barely did its job in the first place. Had I lived closer to the original purchaser of the microwave it would have gone back along time ago, now I'm regretting not making the effort to return it when I could. 01/09/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by I PURCHASED THIS ITEM ON SEPTEMBER...AS OF THE END OF DECEMBER IT STOPPED WORKING. IT GAVE ME AN ERROR CODE ON THE SCREEN SO I CALLED TO GET TECHNICAL HELP AND THEY EXPECT ME TO TAKE THE OVEN TO THE NEAREST QUALIFIED SERVICE TECHS THAT IS ALMOST 2 HOURS AWAY WHICH WILL COST ME MORE IN GAS PROB THEN THIS OVEN IS WORTH. THIS IS BRAND NEW AND IF I ALREADY HAVE TO HAVE IT REPAIRED, WHAT ELSE IS TO COME. DON'T BUY THIS ITEM...NOT WORTH YOUR MONEY. THE 800 # I DIALED TOLD ME THAT THE ONLY THING THEY WOULD COVER IS THE COST OF REPAIR, ON A BRAND NEW ITEM. THEY WERE NOT WILLING TO REPLACE IT!!!! BEWARE!!!! 01/04/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent microwave at a great price! I have always actually cooked in my microwave ovens, meat, vegetables, potatoes, etc. I have even cooked a turkey in a microwave! This one is nice and big, don't "need" to read the manual to know how to use it and it actually does not cook the edges when you defrost in it. It is a little more powerful @ 1250 watts so you will need to adjust your cooking times from what you are used to. Or, adjust the power level down to what you are used to! 12/21/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very large interior for outside size Very easy to use has a lot more features than expected. The interior size is very large for the unit outside size. Have only had a short time but like unit a lot. 09/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by You will want this Microwave This is my second panasonic microwave. My first one lasted me 12 years. Still working and will use it as a extra for entertaining.. The features are endless. In my opinion this is the best buy for the buck. I've had it for five days and the technoligy wonders bogle the mind with the Genius Sensor it knows when your food is done. It takes up alot of counter space it's very big 2.2 cubic ft.. You can heat an entire meal in this oven.. I know you will enjoy this model... 12/01/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by WOW! Amazing Shipping! We order this microwave on Thursday 11/11/2010 at 3:56 PM, We received via FedEx at 11:56 AM on Friday 11/12/2010! Wow, thats only 20 hours!!!! Way to go Walmart.com! As far as the oven we have only had it for less than 24 hours. I researched before ordering and read great and poor reviews. We will be getting the extended warranty for just that reason, something I don't normally do. So far we are impressed with overall quality. The door hinges do seem a bit fragile and the noise it makes when closing it is a bit loud. The noise is reduced if you push the open button while closing the door. We hope to get many years of service out of it. If that changes, I'll update this post. One thing I can tell you is that the shipping was amazing! 11/13/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Easy to use. I especially value the easily changed power mode on this model from quick defrosting, to softening butter for cookie making, to warming up food to the correct temperature. It is just simple to operate. And of course very efficient. The microwave is great for summertime cooking because it does not warm up the kitchen. 06/08/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by love this microwave! I absolutely love the size and power of this m/w. It does everything as advertised and is easy to operate. Interior size and turntable size are fantastic. Don't buy this if you don't want a large m/w, the dimensions on website are correct. I agree the door sounds louder than desired, but I think that about ALL microwaves. Can't rate durability, only had it a month. But I've had a Panasonic in the past that lived a very, very long time. I paid a little extra to have it shipped in 2-3 days to my home, and it did arrive on the first day promised. I think it would have been just as fast to the store but I didn't want the hassle of transporting it home. It's advertised as 41 pounds and maybe it did weigh that, it's just the dimensions that made it a little awkward to handle. But I'm not complaining because it's the large size I wanted! 11/17/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a cave When my daughter was 3 or 4 months the microwave that my husband had when we married died after about 20 years of use. It was very large, a cave. I went out and purchased another one not realizing how large it really was and my husband was never satisfied with it. Now two years later these small one died. We went on the hunt for a new cave and we found it. The new defrost feature is fabulous. The sensor reheat is great too. We are very pleased with its preformance so far. I do agree with the one gentleman about the door closing rather hard but we can live with that, not a problem. 03/13/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Above the rest When this microwave came out about 8+ years ago I purchased it and it performd well. I bought it for the second time because of the features other microwaves didn't have. The sensor cooks evenly and defrost evenly with no over cooked spots. When you reheat it taste like you first cooked it. 11/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Love it! Nice 'wave. A bit bigger than I expected but it's awesome in every way. 12/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by So far, so good Looks great and works very well at this point. Seems to be a great deal. 10/27/2011
Rated 3 out of 5 by very large unit is very large, takes a lot of counter room 12/08/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by meets our needs and right color we had a small microwave with only aboout 750 wt. it was black and brown, our kitchenis white so it fites in well, and 1250 wt. is plenty for cooking anthing. I am 75 and need all the help i can get. stretch 11/14/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great microwave! Microwave is attractive and functional. Heats food in a skinny minute! Looks pretty on the counter. 10/29/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by We had the same model and it quit working after 6 years. Based on other makes of microwaves we had, they lasted a lot longer. However, I liked our other Panasonic so much and that is why I decided to buy the same model and Walmarts price was the best price I found. 10/28/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Oven works better than expected. Turbo defrost does a good job. Sensor reheat prevents over heating I am very satisfied 10/08/2012
Rated 1 out of 5 by Received damaged though box was fine I received this microwave today after having it shipped to my home from the site. The box that it was hipped in was not damaged at all, but there was damage to the back of the microwave. There were 2 dents in the back of the microwave and the paint was damaged and flaking off. I am SO disappointed that a product by Panasonic would arrive this way. Before this microwave I had a similar Panasonic that lasted for 13 years and was expecting the same of this one. I didn't even plug it in, so I cannot attest to how it runs. SO mad and disappointed. I will take my money and go someplace where I can actually see the product before I spend money on it. Ridiculous! 10/02/2012
1-30 of 81 total reviews
2 3 Next
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw336
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp