Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 28 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by A GREAT Product, but Read This First At the time of this writing, Wal-Mart has 2 versions of this product. This one, the “Progressive Lettuce Keeper”, and the other one is the “Progressive Produce Keeper Set”. I wanted 2 of these keepers, so I ordered one of each type. They are EXACTLY the same unit. However, the “Produce Keeper Set” comes with 2 handy utensils and only cost 2-cents more, which makes it the better deal. Also keep in mind, if you want to keep more than one item, a single unit must share the same “settings” as the other item (even if using the divider). For example, storing lettuce means you ADD water to the bottom base, and leave the vent OPEN. To store cucumbers, you do NOT add water, and leave the vent CLOSED. If you click on the item's picture and “zoom-in”, it shows some basic settings (the manual is more extensive though). The black "dot" means to add water in base. Plus, even though the manual shows tomatoes, you should NEVER refrigerate a ripe tomato (below 50 F) due to it’s high sensitivity to “Chilling-Injury”. This damage can result in tissue breakdown, accelerated decay, premature softening, changes in flavor, color & aroma. Lastly, the unit & lids are made of rubber & plastic, but seem a bit on the thin side. So I would take the advice given by another blog and NOT put this in a hot dishwasher. 07/01/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Lettuce for one This product was recommended to me by a friend, but I was a bit hesitant so I waited 4 months before I finally decided to buy it. As a single woman, I'd buy a head of lettuce and it would go bad before I'd use it all. Now as a married woman, my husband doesn't like lettuce so I'm once again, on my own with the head of lettuce. I finally purchased this from the WalMart site and picked it up in the store. I popped the core of the lettuce out, cleaned it and let it partially dry before storing it in the lettuce keeper. It lasts for nearly up to 3 weeks. One thing I just recently learned....do not cut lettuce with a knife as it starts the "rotting" process quicker. 01/04/2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by extends the life of salad and other veggies. i recommend. but it is big so make sure you have room 01/28/2011
Rated 4 out of 5 by Keeps lettuce fresh. I have only had this a little over a week, but so far, it has kept the lettuce very fresh and crisp. 05/23/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Makes Life Easier!!! After grocery shopping, I wash & cut the greens to have ready to eat on sandwiches and to make salads. This Lettuce Keeper makes it easy, keeps the lettuce from drying out on top & keeping the bottom crisp as well... for a much longer period of time. We are eating healthier & this just makes it that much easier. It is very convenient. 04/01/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by This really keeps lettuce crisp and yummy. Our Iceburg and Romaine lettuce are now both crisp and fresh. The Romaine used to be limp but fresh. We were amazed how crisp the lettuce was. This keeps lettuce way better than the Tupperware green lettuce keeper we used to have. 04/09/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Veggies Stay Fresh Longer When our household switched to a vegetarian diet we were in need of a solution to keep our fruits and vegetables fresh. We received two of these lettuce/produce keepers as a gift and we could not be happier with them. Produce stays fresh much longer which means savings and value. You have to be sure to put vegetables or fruits that require the same settings in a bin. For instance, sweet peppers must be set to open without liquid in the bottom while carrots and celery must be set to closed with 1/4 cup of water in the bottom. You can pair carrots and celery together but cannot add the sweet peppers to them. These units fit beautifully in our refrigerator and make it easy to grab an afternoon snack of cut vegetables. I would highly recommend these to anyone wanting a solution to keep produce fresh longer. I plan to purchase two more because of the sheer quantity of fruits and vegetables that our household uses each week. 02/20/2012
Rated 4 out of 5 by Really handy and helpful! It hurts to toss vegetables and fruits in the garbage because they go bad in just a matter of a few days. Since I live alone and my cooking happens over the weekends usually, I do not get to use a bunch of parsley, bunch of celery, etc within 4 days. Besides wasting money, it just sad and wrong to waste food. This product has come in so handy, I can't get enough of it. So far herbs (except Basil which did not last), grape tomatoes, celery, leek have lasted for 3 weeks or more. Wow! For some reason basil, mushroom and strawberries did not last :( . My only complain is that it is big, which works fine when you have a lot to save, but it should have more compartments to be able to store more products without combining them. It takes a lot of space in your refrigerator. They need to come up with a set or several sizes. I got the Rubbermaid set of produce saver containers from Amazon and it was about $19 bucks. People had good reviews on them. Hope this helps! 07/27/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Looks beautiful and keeps veggies fresh I am very happy with this purchase. I recently bought a new fridge and was on a quest to make the insides of it appear as beautiful as a picture. I also wanted to maximize shelf space. I bought two Progressive lettuce keepers, and I have to say I am very happy. They look so vibrant and fresh. I put mixed greens into one, and mixed bell peppers into the other, and stacked them on top of each other (they fit well on the tall shelf). Bright green lids make this display even more pleasing to the eye. Clear plastic also adds to the display (although it gets foggy in the beginning). Secondly, I experimented with keeping my mixed greens in the original package vs. the lettuce keepers. In the original package, the leaves dried and wilted, but in the lettuce keeper they were still fresh. I kept the greens there for almost a week. I'm very happy that this product helped me not throw away food. Thirdly, the convenience and design. The middle separator wall, when not in use, clips to the top lid - very convenient. And these things are dishwasher safe, on the bottom shelf. Honestly, these lettuce keepers fulfill all my expectations. 07/16/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by love this...too bad i can't get another one !!! this is a great lettuce keeper.....only bought one to make sure it was what i wanted....it was !!!....then i tried to buy another one....it was on the "free ship to home" offer that i use all the time for everything from diabetes testing supplies to bookshelves....when i tried to buy the second one that i decided i wanted, it was no longer on "free ship to home"....i decided to reconsider, but yesterday i was not able to purchase it at all as it is now out of stock....so it would would seem that this review is useless....but you would love the product if you could get it... 09/15/2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smartest thing I have done lately Have kept lettuce up to two weeks just as fresh as when bought. Works great! 09/30/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic I just love my Lettuce keeper, everything stays much longer in it, I have the large one and the small one and they are both just great. My tomatoes stay 3 times longer in it. 09/29/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Progressive Lettuce Keeper I hesitated to purchase this item because of the price but have not been disappointed. I have always invisioned one item to store both lettuce and fruits and one day while browsing the isle this item got my attention. I must say that it also caught the eye of all of my co-workers when I took it to work for a spread. Lettuce has lasted up to 3 weeks for me, still looking leafy and green. the style is attactive. I went back and bought another one and also had one shipped to my mother. She also loves it. 05/22/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Progressive Lettuce Keeper Excellent product, I will purchase another one soon. 04/04/2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Exceeds Expectations This product works better than any other product I have tried. The lettuce was still crisp after a week and a half in the refrigerator and not brown. 03/24/2011
Rated 1 out of 5 An oversized container Heads of lettuce are round. Then why is this lettuce keeper oval shaped? It takes up almost as much shelf space as two one gallon containers of milk. It makes quick work of filling the dishwasher because of its size. It says to store the divider on the lid. Throw it away. If you are able to find two items that can be stored with the same settings, do you really care if they touch each other? If you do put the divider on the lid, it will not stay and it takes up too much room so that you can’t close the lid if you have a good size head of lettuce. Lettuce, tomatoes, and cucumbers go together, but you can’t store them together in this keeper. The container itself is made of very fragile plastic. It doesn’t look like it would take much to break it. Yes, it did keep my lettuce fresh, but so did the Tupper Ware container that I had for 15 years. That container is round, with a dome shaped lid. The same shape as a head of lettuce. I do wish I had spent the extra money and purchased another Tupper Ware lettuce keeper. I don’t think it will be long before I have to replace this one. 09/08/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Progressive Letuce Keeper Absolutly love it I am now about to keep a head of lettuce for more than just a few days so I can have fresh salad with every dinner. 08/20/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by very nice crisper Keeps the lettuce extremely crisp and lasts longer than before...Great for other veggie's as well 06/10/2010
Rated 5 out of 5 by Fantastic It is wonderful! My grapes lasted longer than a week and were not mushy. I put washed strawberries and Blackberries in one and the have not become moldy or mushy(so far 5 days). I cut up broccoli and put it into one. It is still fresh and does not stink. I will never go without. I now have 3. My son will pull it out and have a healthy pre-cut snack. 04/07/2010
Rated 2 out of 5 by not as good as I expected this product must be used either for dry OR wet food - I thought with 2 compartments I could mix dry AND wet. It was recommended to put lettuce in with the control button open and add a few drops of water - in 2 days my lettuce was all soggy and brown!! I had put broccoli in the other side and it was limp. I have a Tupperware lettuce keeper which works quite well and wanted this as a supplement for other types of produce. Very disappointed with this product. May try fruit in it next to see how that goes. 08/15/2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by great for produce! We don't use this for lettuce at our house but for produce instead. It keeps our grapes really fresh and crisp and it's easier for our small son to get into than a ziplock bag. I like it so well, I purchased a second one so we could have one for fruits and one for veggies. 03/28/2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not tod bad It is okay to have it as storage to keep fruit a little bit longer, but not too long 01/09/2009
Rated 1 out of 5 by Not what I hoped for. The product looks good, but as far as keeping lettuce fresh, no way. I think it would have done better in the bag I bought it in. 12/19/2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by the best lettuce keeper ever This is absolutely the best storage container for lettuce I have ever used. I keep at least 2 types of lettuces in together and they all stay fresh and crisp well beyond 3 weeks. I just bought another one for celery which is a challange to keep fresh and crisp for longer than a week in my frig! The size and shape are perfect for the shelves of the frig and the lid is easy to remove but has a tight fit. The adjustable humidity button also helps to regulate the crispness. 11/13/2008
1-25 of 25 total reviews
Don't Miss a Single Rollback or Special Offer!
Get Email Savings and Updates:
RSS Feed
Subscribe to our RSS feeds to see the latest news and updates right in your RSS reader or RSS-enabled browser.
The Walmart.com site includes Flash technology. To avoid interruption of software designed to aid visually-impaired people, please turn off your Flash player.
nw352
idg=-1
/catalog/allReviews.do
/catalog/allReviews.jsp